We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cartoon Hotel

Save Saved
You added Cartoon Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cartoon Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tarlabasi Bulvari No.36-38 | Taksim, Istanbul 80080, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #649 of 899 hotels in Istanbul
Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

The location was great - right on Taksim Square. The service or quality of hotel rooms was not up to four star it claims to be. The air-con was the noisiest i have ever had in a hotel room, that combined with the street noise made it hard to sleep. Also, if the Hotel wishes to have cartoons as its theme then it should go the whole way, not just the Cartoon Channel playing on the restaurant TV, a few random plastic cartoon character figurines around the place and tiny cartoon character stickers on the picture frames.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel for a quiet night
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    40
    49
    32
    17
See reviews for
34
41
12
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Southern Finland, Finland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

No sleep.. Too weak noize proof. Amazed how few people speak English.. Ok breakfast... Safty boxes were portable, take it with you when you leave the hotel. Did not feel safe, had to carry all valuables always with you. Construction work of a new street just next to the hotel. It began very night at 11pm.

Room Tip: Make sure you get one room from the back. Not to the street, construction works begin at 11 pm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo,Egypt
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

the location of the hotel is great you only need to cross the road to reach taksim square,the underground and bus station.the draw backs were with the front disk officers again who knew that the flight will arrive @8 am and refused to make an early check in for more than twenty guest on the same flight.we had all the baggage an all these people in the tiny reception for three hours.and we were surprised with the room that is located some where with tobacco smoking smell that burned our eyes we stayed in this room for one night with a promise to change it and they did it.the other room was better,below average cleanliness,but our friends stayed in a better room in the new extension(lucky them).

Room Tip: new extension rooms,or choose the main street view high floor away of the traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I Stayed there for about a week. Let's start with the pros: 1-great location, by that I mean that everything that's anything in Istanbul is almost is at walking distance. 2- Reasonably clean room.
3- Breakfast variaties are very good.
The cons: Terrible AC in the first 2 days. Twin beds were actually a double bed with two matteresses, uncomfortable if you're travelling with your body!. Most importantly I believe is that for a " 4 star Hotel", this is poor. I believe you can get a much better accomdation in one of the higher ranked hotels here on TripAdvisor with the same price bracket as this one. I had little time to arrange with my travel agency and that's why I had to go with this one!

*** There are some construction works currently ( Spring 2013) in the Tarlabasi Bulvari right infront of the hotel, so you might need to consider that temporarily.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I stayed there with my friends for 5 days, The Hotel in a Perfect location Directly infront of Taksim square with all the facilities, only 3 min walk to Istiklal Street which is the night life in Taksim.
Although not all the rooms are like the Pictures but most of them very good, clean and with enough space either in DBL or TPL rooms.
I strongly recommend friends and families to book in this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I recently stayed in Cartoon hotel Istanbul for 5 days, and would not recommend it to anyone for many reasons such as (1) very small rooms, (2) breakfast was terrible (3) front desk always extremely busy so you have to wait so long just to get to talk to them (hotel is very understaffed), and location is not quite as was suggested to us by the travel agent. Overall poor and definitely not going there again.

Room Tip: There are simply no good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo-Egypt
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed there with my family for 7 days ,the hotel location is perfect with a walking distance to isteklal st Taksim square and Under groung station.
Room quality is fair and you can hear all outside noise if you are in early floors...breakfast is good for 4 star hotel.
It was good value for money but will try another in my next visit.

Room Tip: Try the higher floors to avoid noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cartoon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cartoon Hotel

Address: Tarlabasi Bulvari No.36-38 | Taksim, Istanbul 80080, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#325 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cartoon Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Cartoon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cartoon Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cartoon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.