We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, Average Experience” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cartoon Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Cartoon Hotel to your Saves list
Cartoon Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tarlabasi Bulvari No.36-38 | Taksim, Istanbul 80080, Turkey (New City / Taksim)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #662 of 945 Hotels in Istanbul
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good Location, Average Experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

The room was large with good facilities. However the wifi and the jug didn't work and the window wouldn't close. There were not many western guests. The room faced a busy road which made sleep difficult at times. There was a problem with the reception staff. As a result I missed an important business appointment because I was registered as being from an incorrect country. Overall I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    48
    55
    34
    20
See reviews for
38
49
15
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

-AC was hot! Outside tempreture @night was better than the room, even a fan was not provided upon request!
-Bed sheets are not very clean! We booked a triple room, the sofa was converted to bed however u could feel the metal when u sleep on it! They did not place a proper matress
-Bathrooms smell weird even when not used!
-no iron provided upon request!
-limited/repeated food items for breakfast

Overall, I'd rate the hotel as 2 stars, I will never stay here again nor recommend it 2others!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairo
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

I stayed 4 nights at cartoon hotel, the hotel is clean with good breakfast and cheap price.
Rooms are clean and the hotel is near istiklal street and taksim square
However there are bars and clubs everywhere so u cant sleep on saturday nights because of the very annoying music

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I stayed at the Cartoon Hotel for three nights at a superior double room (separate building, at a very small street just behind the main hotel) which was very very spacious and clean with all amenities - though the style was a bit too classic and heavy for my taste. Good variety at brekfast. The location is the main asset of this hotel, just 2 mins away from the busy Taksim square.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Cartoon hotel has an ideal location - right next to Taksim square and Istiklal. So very very convenient.

Otherwise, it has small rooms, but all amenities present. Some rooms are noisy, especially if you are close to or facing the road.

Good value for money compared to other hotels in the same location.

Room Tip: Away from the road...higher up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

Ive been to Istanbul twice in my lifetime and the two years I chose to stay at Cartoon. It is of ideal location, being a 2 minute walk from taxim square. The staff speaks english and comprehends minimal arabic. If I decide to visit turkey again, this hotel will definitely be my temporary home a thrid time!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran, Iran
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

With a great location in Taksim square and friendly reception, Cartoon is the best economy hotel I have ever been in.
The hotel is near bus and metro stations, and it is only 2 minute walk to Istiklal Caddesi, the most famous road in Istanbul, with lots of attractions and shops.

In comparison to Antalia hotels, like many other hotels in Istanbul, Cartoon provide less services and is not luxurious. The rooms and lobby are small, but the atmosphere is excellent. The reception is polite and help me in finding any places I wanted to visit; moreover, they helped me to find the cheapest way to go!

The most advantages of this restaurant is its breakfast table! you can find almost every delicious food on the table. Don't miss olive and fig!
I heard that the hotel has a good Argentinian Restaurant, but I didn't try it.

Room Tip: 1- The hotel has free WIFI with good speed. 2- The hotel is at Taksim square, so chose your room at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cartoon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cartoon Hotel

Address: Tarlabasi Bulvari No.36-38 | Taksim, Istanbul 80080, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#323 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cartoon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Cartoon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cartoon Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cartoon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.