We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nippon Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Nippon Hotel to your Saves list
Nippon Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Topcu Cad. No 6 | Taksim, Istanbul 34437, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #368 of 979 Hotels in Istanbul
Osaka, Japan
1 review
“Great hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Hotel people were so sincere and kind to host me. Breakfast was so good to have even in a whole week. Room was so clean that I could relax like at home. And, furthermore, I was so moved that my shirts were pressed without any notification.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    175
    65
    20
    5
See reviews for
38
88
30
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Wonderful location by Taksim square, never to mention how its few yards from the Airport shuttle. The room was modern and clean though its small. Staff are nice, they helped us to know how to go to our destinations.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

The hotel provided no response to my challenge regarding our 20 room hotel bill. There was an issue over one night (out of ~100 nights for our group). The hotel management is obviously out to wring every last cent out of guests pockets. I will not recommend this hotel to anyone. The hotel attitude angered 20 guests over the one night issue and they have no idea how the word-of-mouth- poison pill will damage their reputation.

The hotel is quite far from the airport; very expensive taxi fare ! Istanbul's heavy traffic makes this hotel very time consuming to use, unless you plan to visit only the Taksin Square area.

I was not happy with the circumstances of my stay and thus rate it only two out of five.

Room Tip: watch your wallet. They charge for every slightest thing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I stayed here on the recommendation of a colleague for a recent conference. This was held at the ICC which is only a brief walk from this hotel. It is also a very short walk to Taksim Square, and then on to Istiklal Street. Reception staff were friendly, and the staff member for giving assistance to the side of the reception desk was very helpful for organising dinner reservations, transport and tours (although the suggestion for a hammam was a bit off the mark).

The room I had was facing another hotel on the street. Even though I had read about lots of noise, during the week it was fine. The only noise I heard in the morning was car horns and a bit of yelling, but not bad. I had two singles beds. Pillows were a bit flat and small, but the mattress and quilt were good. Bathroom was clean and shower was good. The mini bar looked adequate, but I didn't use it. Room service was good, and not too early.

Breakfast on the restaurant level was included with my tariff. Continental and hot available, although the "sausages" looked quite strange - sliced up and served in pink liquid. Not very appetizing. Cheeses, breads and fruits were much better. The floors proved to be very slippery if any liquid was spilled, as I witnessed one lady fall and hit her head! Beware!

The business centre on the same level was helpful for internet (complimentary) access and printer use for boarding passes - you'll have to be careful with the Turkish keyboard.

There was one occasion when I smelled a sewerage odour in the lobby. My colleague had smelled it the week before on 2 days. Not sure if it was their lobby toilets, but it was not pleasant.

Room Tip: If a quiet room is necessary, ask for one away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I stayed in Nippon hotel a year ago last October , first they gave a room at the back side of the hotel in which there was a big wall no view , the next day I asked for changing the room they gave me street view which was far more better, it's close to main taksim square , near many resturants , good transportation location near metro and bus station over all it was good experience , although it didn't offer anything special or extraordinary . Just normal clean hotel

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Very pretty hotel, situated at Taksim Place. Staff was very friendly and attentive.
Room was absolutly spotless and came with free water/coffee and a fruit basket.

The breakfast was ok, but there were no choices regarding coffee (just came black, no turkish coffee either)
Overall I have no complaints, but had a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here when I was attending a conference at the conference centre. It was a easy 10 minute walk. Also easy access to public transport. Rooms where clean if a little small. Breakfast was good. The wifi was free and reasonable fast.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Nippon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nippon Hotel

Address: Topcu Cad. No 6 | Taksim, Istanbul 34437, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#151 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#219 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Nippon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by Japanese minimalist design, this hotel offers a unique setting for your visit to the exciting shopping and entertainment district of central Istanbul. The Nippon lies just off the famous Taksim Square and a 5-minute walk from the bustling streets and nightlife of Nisantasi. Frequent and convenient metro services connect the hotel to the historic centre, just 20 minutes away by foot. After a days business or sightseeing, unwind back at the hotel's well-equipped fitness centre. The trendy restaurant offers a variety of Turkish and international cuisine to enhance your experience. Other facilities include a free Wi-Fi service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Nippon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nippon Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nippon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.