We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, dirty carpet” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Alkoclar Keban Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Alkoclar Keban Hotel to your Saves list
Alkoclar Keban Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Siraselviler cd. No:17 | Taksim, Istanbul 80090, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #417 of 980 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Small, dirty carpet”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

This hotel is in the centre of Taksim square and close to many restaurants and shops.
However, the rooms are small and the carpet smelled. There are massive stains on our carpet but thankfully they offer hotel slippers.

in terms of hotel amenities and service, they are overall ok, most of the basic items were given : ie :shower cap, shampoo etc. Service at the front desk varies depending on who is working. Some were not very helpful as they do not speak much English, others were alright. There is a steam room and sauna that is free to use.

The tap on the sink however came off nearly everytime we tried to turn it on. Air cond is cold enough for the hot turkish weather during the summer.
The rooms should have been sound proofed as it is in Taksim square and you can hear all the noises from the taxis, constructions and people which makes it very difficult to sleep even though we were on the fifth floor.

Room Tip: Choose a room not facing the main street as it's quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    49
    28
    10
    3
See reviews for
26
38
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Stayed here for a conference and found the hotel staff in general good. Rooms are very small and the noise from surrounding places was bad. The breakfast was spectacular in terms of the views but I found the food very Turkish orientated so didn't have much at all. Lots to consider about the location- really good in terms of Taksim square and shopping. Long steep walk down to the pier and it is, again, really noisy and I sleep through wars. I probably would recommend a look around. I missed a gym and pool, but did enjoy the sauna and steam room.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I've been there last November. The hotel location is excellent just beside Taksim square. The rooms were very clean and well maintained but unfortunately small in size, that's the only thing that makes me a little bit uncomfortable, but the location and the competitive price make the over all stay fantastic.

Breakfast was great with beautiful Bosphorus view. The staff were friendly and helpful specially Mr. Ali from the lobby bar who helps me a lot.

I have planned to visit Istanbul again on September and this hotel will be definitely my choice again. Just keep up the good work!.

Room Tip: Ask for Taksim square view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

The location excellent less than one minte walking to Taksim Squir.
The employees very good speically Ozlem.
She is very helpful, Smiley, polite and sophisticated style.
Rooms is small
Beakfast average

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

the hotel is very nice and very very good . and staff is very cooperative especially ozlem and yosef.

the room is very clean and good .

the service is good.






i would like to tanke all for help and service
realy i hope vist this hotel again

Room Tip: all are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Ar Riyad, Saudi Arabia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

staff very nice, breakfast average, location very good, rooms little bit small which you can hear voices of falling shower, furniture needs to be changed because it used to much, I think price fair compared with the location of the hotel

Room Tip: i think higher floors will better than lower floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dinar Ş, Halkla İlişkiler Müdürü at Alkoclar Keban Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear Yasser A

Thank you for your nice comments. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We are really sorry to hear your inconvenience with some points. Please kindly be informed that our loyal customer's satisfaction and reviews are very important for us and we will be very glad to welcome you in our hotel again.

We look forward to serving you again when your travel plans bring you back to Istanbul.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

We spent 5 days in a room for 4 that was quite good and overlooking a nice view. The location of the hotel is amazing. The service and staff are quite good, yet the laundry and housekeeping services need to improved! Our laundry wasn't finish by the time we had to check out and the laundry service messengers took ages to arrive. We also asked for extra towels in the morning but nothing was available before 8:30!

The staff are extremely friendly especially the front desk people. We found Mert (receptionist) very pleasant and helpful. He speaks very good English and is always happy to answer any enquiry regarding the hotel or even where to go and how to get there.

Hope you enjoy the lovely Istanbul ;)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dinar Ş, Halkla İlişkiler Müdürü at Alkoclar Keban Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear Vovv

Thank you for your nice comments. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. Please kindly be informed that our loyal customer's satisfaction and reviews are very important for us and we will be very glad to welcome you in our hotel again. We are really sorry to hear your inconvenience with some points.
We look forward to serving you again when your travel plans bring you back to Istanbul.


Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Alkoclar Keban Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alkoclar Keban Hotel

Address: Siraselviler cd. No:17 | Taksim, Istanbul 80090, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#246 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Alkoclar Keban Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alkoçlar Keban Hotel, of which exterior and interior design have been fully renewed without receding Istanbul nostalgia in modern art deco style which is located at Taksim, the heart of Istanbul. The hotel is ready to host the business and holiday travelers visiting Istanbul with junior suites with the Bosporus view, standard rooms, a 220 person capacity meeting room, a 50 person capacity workshop room, a spacious and modern lounge, and an a la carte restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Alkoclar Keban Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keban Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alkoclar Keban Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.