We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice journey :)))” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Galata Antique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Galata Antique Hotel to your Saves list
Galata Antique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mesrutiyet Street No:119 | Tunel - Beyoglu, Istanbul 34430, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #402 of 943 Hotels in Istanbul
Marseille, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A very nice journey :)))”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

A charming hotel with a friendly staff and excellant quality of services.
The hotel is ideally located close to the funicular and Pera and Beyoglu districts, and also a 15-minute walk from Taksim Square or a 5 min walk from Galata Tower.
Not to forget the magnificent panorama of the breakfast rooftop room, which allows to contemplate many of the touristic sights to see in the city.

Room Tip: There is only one room with a balcony, if you're lucky you may be able to have it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    73
    27
    18
    9
See reviews for
11
84
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

When we arrived for our honeymoon, we were given 2 twin beds -- which was not what we reserved. They found us another room relatively quickly. The room was large, but had very, very dirty/dingy carpets. With the exception of one very nice staff member, most of the staff spoke limited English so communication was a challenge.

The free breakfast was pleasant, however drinks available for purchase -- that should be cold (i.e. beer) were warm.
Restaurant recommendations were VERY pricey.

During an evening of loud protests in the area tear gas was used -- the staff was VERY unhelpful. They did not come and check on guests to explain what was happening (i.e. keep your windows shut). Nor did they offer any food or water to guests who were stuck in the hotel. We left the next day, not out of concerns for our personal safety but out of frustration with the hotel.

The location can't be beat (unless protests break out) but that's really the main attraction in our opinion.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

The hotel is incredibly well located to explore the city for first timers (which we were).

Rooms are well laid out and efficient. Bathrooms are clean. Views are interesting. Tilt and turn windows which operate perfectly well and allowed for fresh air while sleeping.

But above all this, the value of the hotel comes with the great disposition of the staff was. Everyone in reception was incredibly helpful, respectful and friendly, and Burak made our breakfast a great experience, in a terrace with a great view of Galata tower, and the Golden Horn.

We will certainly come back!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Great location - easy access to Istiklal Street with lots of bars, restaurants & shops. Also easy access to transport system and all the wonders of this amazing city.
Room was small but we didn't spend much time there - there is so much to see and do outside the room.
Staff were helpful overall recommending great restaurants and the Suleymaniye Hamam, although only one issue - they did promise a larger room which ultimately wasn't delivered because they had received another reservation which apparently took priority over the previous commitment they'd made to us.
Overall though very good.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

The photos of the rooms are misleading as the rooms barely have enough space for a standard double bed. There are no wardrobes and if you sit on the toilet you will have no room for one of your legs. Breakfast was very poor also and you need to be in early before certain things run out. On the plus side it is a very good location, the views from the breakfast area are very nice and the staff are very helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We loved the Galats Antique hotel- we had a lovely room and very comfortable bed. The staff were very helpful . The food and service were great and very personal and we had an amazing view from the bedroom . I have stayed in the swissotel the Bosporus 3 times before whilst on business but the Galata Antique measured up well in terms of comfort and service and beat them on the personal level, and also the location making it ideal for a leisure break. The wi fi was patchy on the 4 th floor but fine downstairs. Sometimes breakfast was a bit busy and you had to wait for a table which wasn't ideal but not too much of an issue.

We didn't have any serious issues with noise- you knew you were in the city though. We enjoyed snacks at the small restaurant under the Guinness bar- great food and ambience and also recommend the lentil soup at the small snack bar at the end of the terrace behind the steps. We felt we were turned away from the restaurant opposite ( under the Galata Flats ) for having no reservation, but really because were weren't young or glamorous enough.

The hotel was in a superb location
We negotiated the funicular and the tram to see the sights- very easy, but also managed to get ripped off by a taxi driver on day 1 when we were tired- the trick is when you give then a 50 them pocket it and then swear it was a 5!!
We would definitely stay at the Galat Antique again- great value

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Enjoyed our stay in this historic building. It is really in the middle of a lot of hip bars and restaurants, and just a short walk from Istikal street. Yet we never heard noise from bars and people on the streets. It's tucked away just perfectly. We were upgraded to a suite that had 2 single beds (which they pushed together) because they didn't have a queen room the 1st night we were there. I was a bit annoyed by this, but ultimately, we got a much larger room than we would have otherwise. I've read/saw that many of the rooms are uncomfortably small. It is just steps away from the Sishane metro stop and the tunel funicular that takes you to Tram line 1, so it is easy to get into Sultanahmet (though you do have to change trains). The staff was very helpful and courteous, although I didn't like that the bar on the top floor was never manned. I suppose you could get drinks in the lobby, but there was a bar set up in the terrace that has picture windows overlooking the water, so I'd hate to sit in the lobby when you could be there. Breakfast was great - nice variety and changed a bit daily. I would recommend this place over anywhere in Sultanahmet if walking around fun restaurants and bars and young energy is of value to you. The beds were very comfortable, the bedding was very nice (I'm finicky about quality of bedding and I was very comfortable and satisfied). Also of note, we did not hear any of the Prayers from nearby Mosques. This wasn't an issue at all, but was a huge issue when we stayed in Sultanahmet. Earplugs do NOT make a difference. I slept perfectly without earplugs at Galata Antique and didn't have any problems.

Room Tip: Try to get a suite or else be prepared for a VERY small room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Galata Antique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galata Antique Hotel

Address: Mesrutiyet Street No:119 | Tunel - Beyoglu, Istanbul 34430, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #402 of 943 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Galata Antique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galata Antique Hotel is housed in a beautifully decorated 19th century Neo-Renaissance mansion built by the French–Ottoman architect Alexandre Vallaury. This very welcoming hotel, which is conveniently located in the Tünel Meydani district, a famous bohemian quarter, is an ideal base for visitors wishing to discover the real Istanbul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Galata Antique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galata Antique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.