We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for business” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moevenpick Hotel Istanbul

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Moevenpick Hotel Istanbul to your Saves list
Moevenpick Hotel Istanbul
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Emniyet Evleri Mah. Akarsu Cad. No 1, Istanbul 34330, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #151 of 943 Hotels in Istanbul
UK
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Great for business”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Stayed here while visiting ITU. Room was excellent: cool, dark, quiet. Staff helpful.
Had room service breakfast; Greek option for TL39 is excellent (they charge TL65 in the restaurant unless you specifically tell them).
Metro is very handy (turn immediately right out of the hotel, keep right along the road. a couple of minutes However getting to the tourist bits involves a couple of changes (one token each time) and it can be a squeeze so not good if you come for tourism.
Supermarket and MacDonalds handy if you're desperate.
You pay for WiFi in standard rooms, but it's a fair price.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cigdem T, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
First of all I would like to thank you very much for taking the time and commenting on our services; we really appreciate it and value our esteemed guests' opinion such as yours very much.

Your feedback encourage us towards our aim to deliver, heartfelt, genuine care, personalized and uncompromising service in all guest interactions. These comments such as yours are the best tool for us not only to maintain but further improve our quality and service.

I have most certainly shared your positive comments, the feedback regarding breakfast pricing
and the need to inform the guest correctly with our Food & Beverage Manager. This issue will be addressed in the departmental daily and weekly trainings. Thank you for pointing this out to us.

It was and will always be our pleasure to ensure your comfort and I look very much forward to welcoming you back at the Mövenpick Hotel each time you visit Istanbul.

Best regards,

Mövenpick Hotel Istanbul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    148
    30
    5
    3
See reviews for
44
68
23
200
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Antalya
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I have stayed at this property first in 2003 when they have just opened. It is always great coming back. Location is perfect if you ask me. It may seem off the beaten track but the subway station is literally in front of the hotel. If it is shopping what you looking for, you have numerous ones in different concepts within walking or a small cab ride distance. Since it is in the heart of the financial district of istanbul, the hotel is business oriented. Mövenpick did not have a real competition all these years which usually causes the properties to loose the initial success. Not in their case. Sheraton at maslak is unfortunately not a "real" sheraton so scratch them, The Edition is a great hotel but again in a different level. Le meridien, which is owned by the same company as Mövenpick but managed by starwood, is nice, but then again middle of no where. So if you have business in Levent-Maslak region, mövenpick is where you need to stay.
To be honest, I was amazed how well maintained the rooms were after 10 years.
spacious, comfortable and more importantly, extremely well sound proofed. Although I have to add that there will be a need for a renovation soon. Carpet and the furniture started to show their age, and the rooms need some coloring up, which is perfectly normal after all these years. But as I said, the rooms are so well maintained that they are in better shape then many of the recent and newer rivals.
But what makes the difference in this hotel is definitely the staff. They are fast, efficient and yet very hospitable.
Breakfast buffet is superb both in quantity and quality. great cheese selection,which you would expect from a swiss hotel, yummy bakeries, very nice smoked salmon if you are into it and more importantly the great stuff which I regret not taking their names and mentioning here. even though the hall was packed during our stay, especially the ladies working here wonderful. They take the extra mile and other then bringing your coffee and tea, they go around with juices to refill, offering fresh croissants cause they just came out of oven and moreover smiling every second.
There are new 5 star hotels opening almost every two months in istanbul and the labour keeps on moving for better salary or a better position. So it is hard for older hotels to keep their well trained staff. Hats of to mövenpick management to maintain such high quality employees from front office to f&b.
I do prefer to stay in different hotels each time but I know I will always be looking forward to coming back to Mövenpick.
However, considering that a brand new Wyndham is coming close by in few months with probably excellent offerings (after seeing the two new wyndhams in istanbul) Mövenpick will need a facelift in order to keep up the competition.

Room Tip: higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cigdem T, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
First of all I would like to thank you very much for taking the time and commenting on our services; we really appreciate it and value our esteemed guests' opinion such as yours very much.

Your feedback encourage us towards our aim to deliver, heartfelt, genuine care, personalized and uncompromising service in all guest interactions. These comments such as yours are the best tool for us not only to maintain but further improve our quality and service.

I have most certainly shared your positive comments and detailed market analysis as well as the suggestion for renovation with our General Manager.

It was and will always be our pleasure to ensure your comfort and I look very much forward to welcoming you back at the Mövenpick Hotel each time you visit Istanbul.

Best regards,

Cigdem Toskay
Quality Manager
Mövenpick Hotel Istanbul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

We were there for a week, and had a wonderful time. The service from the hotel was fantastic. The restaurant service was great and the food was excellent. Everyone in the hotel seemed to really care about our stay. One evening we were not feeling well, and they actually went out and purchased some medicine for us. Superb!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cigdem T, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
First of all I would like to thank you very much for taking the time and commenting on our services; we really appreciate it and value our esteemed guests' opinion such as yours very much.

Your feedback encourage us towards our aim to deliver, heartfelt, genuine care, personalized and uncompromising service in all guest interactions. These comments such as yours are the best tool for us not only to maintain but further improve our quality and service.

It was and will always be our pleasure to ensure your comfort and I look very much forward to welcoming you back at the Mövenpick Hotel each time you visit Istanbul.

Best regards,

Mövenpick Hotel Istanbul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This was a trip for us couples that i would say was one of the greatest because of the staff of the Hotel.
Our hostess made our stay a trip to remember for the rest of our lives.

the business lounge was excellent, food variety was amazing.

Breakfast was great, and Lobby excellent.

Location very close to the metro station which makes everything accesible.

Thank you Moevenpick istanbul for making our trip worth it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cigdem T, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
First of all I would like to thank you very much for taking the time and commenting on our services; we really appreciate it and value our esteemed guests' opinion such as yours very much.

Your feedback encourage us towards our aim to deliver, heartfelt, genuine care, personalized and uncompromising service in all guest interactions. These comments such as yours are the best tool for us not only to maintain but further improve our quality and service.

I will most certainly share your motivating comment with our team.

It was and will always be our pleasure to ensure your comfort and I look very much forward to welcoming you back at the Mövenpick Hotel each time you visit Istanbul.

Best regards,

Mövenpick Hotel Istanbul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

My overarching memory of this hotel is the high quality of service, friendliness, pro-activness, and of course infrastructure. A modern clean hotel my experience did not want for anything to make it a successful work trip: a good desk, internet, room service, attentive staff.

One problem is simply the location - far from any cultural action you need to get the subway, but as its right next to a station, this isn't the end of the world, and I enjoyed the local experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cigdem T, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
First of all I would like to thank you very much for taking the time and commenting on our services; we really appreciate it and value our esteemed guests' opinion such as yours very much.

Your feedback encourage us towards our aim to deliver, heartfelt, genuine care, personalized and uncompromising service in all guest interactions. These comments such as yours are the best tool for us not only to maintain but further improve our quality and service.

I will most certainly share your motivating comments with our team.

It was and will always be our pleasure to ensure your comfort and I look very much forward to welcoming you back at the Mövenpick Hotel each time you visit Istanbul.

Best regards,

Mövenpick Hotel Istanbul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stayed at Movenpick Hotel recently for a business trip from 1 to 7 Sep 2013.

Airport Transfer: It takes about 30-45mins to reach the hotel from the airport depending on the traffic condition.

Check-in: Process is fast as the front office would have prepared everything before your arrival.

Room: The room is of reasonable size and comfortable enough. Love the nice bed and pillows.

Wifi: Speed of Wifi is good but not free. There are various subscription plans for your selection, for example, it costs Eur 20 for 3 days access regardless of data size. With this, you could access Wifi from any where within the hotel.

Breakfast: Breakfast is okay. Wish it has more varieties.

Accessibility: Metro is just next to the hotel. It takes about 10-15mins to travel to Taksim Square. This is important as you would not want to be caught in a heavy jam. There are also many eateries within the vicinity of the hotel.

Overall, this is a great hotel for business travelers as well as holiday-makers in Istanbul.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cigdem T, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
First of all I would like to thank you very much for taking the time and commenting on our services; we really appreciate it and value our esteemed guests' opinion such as yours very much.

Your feedback encourage us towards our aim to deliver, heartfelt, genuine care, personalized and uncompromising service in all guest interactions. These comments such as yours are the best tool for us not only to maintain but further improve our quality and service.

It was and will always be our pleasure to ensure your comfort and I look very much forward to welcoming you back at the Mövenpick Hotel each time you visit Istanbul.

Best regards,

Mövenpick Hotel Istanbul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Our stay at the Moevenpick Istanbul was a high point of our trip to Turkey. The rooms and bathrooms are extremely large compared to many other hotels in Istanbul. The staff was warm and welcoming right from the moment our taxi drove up to the hotel. There was a lot of personalised attention from Frank, the general manager.
Although the hotel is in the business district and a bit of a distance from the old city and tourist sites, the metro station right next to the hotel made sure we had no problems accessing all areas of Istanbul.
The breakfast buffet was good and the view from the rooftop lounge was breath taking!

Room Tip: A room on a higher floor will have better views of the Istanbul skyline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cigdem T, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
First of all I would like to thank you very much for taking the time and commenting on our services; we really appreciate it and value our esteemed guests' opinion such as yours very much.

Your feedback encourage us towards our aim to deliver, heartfelt, genuine care, personalized and uncompromising service in all guest interactions. These comments such as yours are the best tool for us not only to maintain but further improve our quality and service.

It was and will always be our pleasure to ensure your comfort and I look very much forward to welcoming you back at the Mövenpick Hotel each time you visit Istanbul.

Best regards,

Mövenpick Hotel Istanbul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Moevenpick Hotel Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Hotel Istanbul

Address: Emniyet Evleri Mah. Akarsu Cad. No 1, Istanbul 34330, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#43 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#84 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#127 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#128 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Moevenpick Hotel Istanbul 5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Istanbul. Mövenpick Hotel Istanbul, located in the heart of Istanbul’s contemporary business and chic shopping district, has crowned its achievements by being voted “Turkey's Leading Business Hotel” by World Travel Awards in 2012. Mövenpick Hotel Istanbul offers style and the latest technology in 249 guestrooms created with the discerning traveller in mind, just seconds from some of the city’s hippest dining and entertainment. The metro station next to the hotel will take you to the colourful Taksim Square, cultural district in just 10 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Moevenpick Hotel Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istanbul Moevenpick Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moevenpick Hotel Istanbul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.