We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good.....with space for improvement........” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moevenpick Hotel Istanbul

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Moevenpick Hotel Istanbul to your Saves list
Moevenpick Hotel Istanbul
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Emniyet Evleri Mah. Akarsu Cad. No 1, Istanbul 34330, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #155 of 980 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence 2014
England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Pretty good.....with space for improvement........”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 9 nights in the second half of August.
The location is not great if you are after the old town's attractions, but we have visited most those last year.
The location suited us as it was near relatives who lived nearby.
Staff were pleasant and friendly and tried to be as helpful as they can.
The rooms were clean and tidy.
I share the points made by other visitors that they are a bit expensive "stingy" for a hotel that charges high prices for the rooms.........local calls (within Istanbul) cost 3 euros a minute.......200 ml water bottle from minibar cost more than 5 euros each ........Nespresso shots about 2 euros each....we had to ask reception to replenish the free Nescafes and water bottles.
All in all, nice stay that could have been made better with a bit more generosity of the establishment so customer could feel more welcome...... Recommended....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cigdem T, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
First of all I would like to thank you very much for taking the time and commenting on our services; we really appreciate it and value our esteemed guests opinion such as you very much.

Your feedback encourage us towards our aim to deliver, heartfelt, genuine care, personalized and uncompromising service in all guest interactions. These comments such as yours are the best tool for us not only to maintain but further improve our quality and service.

I will most certainly share your comment regarding the extra charges with our Revenue Director. Thank you again for pointing this out to us. Let me kindly inform you that currently we offer 1 day free internet connection at 512 KB bandwidth for our executive guests. Furthermore, again for our Executive Guests, Docomo internet price plans from 1 hour to 3 days are offered on our login pages with higher band-with options. We are also constantly reviewing our charges and do a market research in Istanbul between all 5* Hotels. I would also like to inform you that for your next visit please do consider looking into our special offers on Executive floor rooms, they do not only include internet but also have variety of other great inclusions such as free laundry items per day, free access to our 20th Floor Lounge and Bar, free drinks and food as well as breakfast.

I hope otherwise your stay was enjoyable; it was and will always be our pleasure to ensure your comfort and welcome you back at the Mövenpick Hotel each time you visit Istanbul.

Best regards,

Mövenpick Hotel Istanbul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    161
    33
    5
    4
See reviews for
48
75
23
227
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

Very nice hotel in business area of Levent. Subway is located nearby, so it was easy to reach the main attractions of Istanbul.
Service was very good at checkin. Someone forgot to enter our prepaid reservation into the system. But everything was managed by the hotel staff. So, no problem.
The room had a large bed and a good equipment.
Breakfast was a good mixture of continental breakfast and turkish specialities.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cigdem T, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
First of all I would like to thank you very much for taking the time and filling out our guest survey; we really appreciate it and value our esteemed guests opinion such as you very much.

Your feedback encourage us towards our aim to deliver, heartfelt, genuine care, personalized and uncompromising service in all guest interactions. These comments such as yours are the best tool for us not only to maintain but further improve our quality and service.

It was and will always be our pleasure to ensure your comfort and I look very much forward to welcoming you back at the Mövenpick Hotel each time you visit Istanbul.

Best regards,

Mövenpick Hotel Istanbul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

I enjoed my stay at this hotel.
Nice , simple and elegant.

The food prepared from the young Italian chef Giovanni Terracciano was very good.

The best breakfast , good assortments.
In respect of the local traditional cuisine and international as well.

Good friendly service.

Room Tip: Nice garden to have a drink, top terrace with view. Metro station very close. A/c you can't he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cigdem T, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
First of all I would like to thank you very much for taking the time and filling out our guest survey; we really appreciate it and value our esteemed guests opinion such as you very much.

Your feedback encourage us towards our aim to deliver, heartfelt, genuine care, personalized and uncompromising service in all guest interactions. These comments such as yours are the best tool for us not only to maintain but further improve our quality and service.

I will most certainly share your positive comments with our Italian Executive Chef, Giovanni Terraciano and our managerial team. Thank you again.

It was and will always be our pleasure to ensure your comfort and I look very much forward to welcoming you back at the Mövenpick Hotel each time you visit Istanbul.

Best regards,

Mövenpick Hotel Istanbul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izmir, Turkey
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Experience exceeds your expectations exactly...
clean sevice with a smile, reception like your back-up, amazing spa centre, rich breakfast, live music, delicious turkish cafee
you can have fun and keep smile
If you forget to take your details can be found here

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cigdem T, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
First of all I would like to thank you very much for taking the time and filling out our guest survey; we really appreciate it and value our esteemed guests opinion such as you very much.

Your feedback encourage us towards our aim to deliver, heartfelt, genuine care, personalized and uncompromising service in all guest interactions. These comments such as yours are the best tool for us not only to maintain but further improve our quality and service.

It was and will always be our pleasure to ensure your comfort and I look very much forward to welcoming you back at the Mövenpick Hotel each time you visit Istanbul.

Best regards,

Mövenpick Hotel Istanbul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Stayed 2 times at this hotel and i got an excellent service and a warm welcome. Rooms are amazing. The buffet breakfast is wow. I recommend this real 5 star hotel to all travellers that are looking for fun, business or whatever. Metro station is just under the hotel. Location is very convenient. Definitely will be back again and again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cigdem T, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
First of all I would like to thank you very much for taking the time and filling out our guest survey; we really appreciate it and value our esteemed guests opinion such as you very much.

Your feedback encourage us towards our aim to deliver, heartfelt, genuine care, personalized and uncompromising service in all guest interactions. These comments such as yours are the best tool for us not only to maintain but further improve our quality and service.

It was and will always be our pleasure to ensure your comfort and I look very much forward to welcoming you back at the Mövenpick Hotel each time you visit Istanbul.

Best regards,

Mövenpick Hotel Istanbul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

I was in Istanbul on business but had the chance to bring my family. The Moevenpick is a 10-15 minutes walk to our offices near Kanyon Mall so very convenient and has all the amenities one needs. There are rates with and without breakfast but the upgrade to an Executive room made sense for me since there was a 30% reduced offer these days due to the lower season during Ramadan (free wifi, laundry, lounge access where the snacks were like dinner for our 3 year old). The small touches here and there (chocolate, fresh fruit, cleanliness everywhere) and very nice service made it a very positive experience.

The in-room Suhoor breakfast at 3:30 am was covered as instead of breakfast for me since I was fasting without hesitation. The only problem was the huge volumes of food; my wife and I shared a 1 person meal although we could have ordered a second one (included in our room rate)

The Azzur restaurant open buffet is very pricey at TL 85 for just okay food. The service was very nice but the buffet food was not great. Maybe opting for the menu would have been smarter. There are a lot of restarants near by (Venge comes to mind for Turkish food) as well as in the adjoining Sapphire mall (2 minutes walk) and Kanyon mall (10-15 minutes walk).

The Levent metro is 1 minute away.

NOTE: choose a different location if you are here for visiting tourist sites; stay in the Sultanahmet area if that is your purpose. The transportation there is challenging by metro and traffic is very bad.

Room Tip: See if the Executive room upgrade perks are worth the cost for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cigdem T, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
First of all I would like to thank you very much for taking the time and filling out our guest survey; we really appreciate it and value our esteemed guests opinion such as you very much.

Your feedback encourage us towards our aim to deliver, heartfelt, genuine care, personalized and uncompromising service in all guest interactions. These comments such as yours are the best tool for us not only to maintain but further improve our quality and service.

I will most certainly share your comment regarding food portions and further menu options with our Food & Beverage Manager and Executive Chef, as well as the managerial team. Thank you again for pointing this out to us.

It was and will always be our pleasure to ensure your comfort and I look very much forward to welcoming you back at the Mövenpick Hotel each time you visit Istanbul.

Best regards,

Mövenpick Hotel Istanbul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tripoli, Lebanon
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Excellent hotel. Spacy rooms. Very pleasant city view from 11th floor. Gym center is good, but the only indoor swimming pool is small. Breakfast is excellent.
Perfect location for those who aim shopping in malls: Saphire (1 min walking), Kanyon & Metrocity (walking distance or 5 min by taxi), Ekmerkez & Istinye park (less than 10 min by taxi). Cevahir is a little bit far.
To go to Taksim & Istiklal street, better use metro. By taxi, traffic is a problem.
Way to Old City is a problem: by taxi: distance & traffic, by metro, you have to change 3 trains.

Room Tip: choose in high floors to have a nice view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cigdem T, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
First of all I would like to thank you very much for taking the time and filling out our guest survey; we really appreciate it and value our esteemed guests opinion such as you very much.

Your feedback encourage us towards our aim to deliver, heartfelt, genuine care, personalized and uncompromising service in all guest interactions. These comments such as yours are the best tool for us not only to maintain but further improve our quality and service.

It was and will always be our pleasure to ensure your comfort and I look very much forward to welcoming you back at the Mövenpick Hotel each time you visit Istanbul.

Best regards,

Mövenpick Hotel Istanbul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Moevenpick Hotel Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Hotel Istanbul

Address: Emniyet Evleri Mah. Akarsu Cad. No 1, Istanbul 34330, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#45 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#99 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#106 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#128 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Moevenpick Hotel Istanbul 5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Istanbul. Mövenpick Hotel Istanbul, located in the heart of Istanbul’s contemporary business and chic shopping district, has crowned its achievements by being voted “Turkey's Leading Business Hotel” by World Travel Awards in 2012. Mövenpick Hotel Istanbul offers style and the latest technology in 249 guestrooms created with the discerning traveller in mind, just seconds from some of the city’s hippest dining and entertainment. The metro station next to the hotel will take you to the colourful Taksim Square, cultural district in just 10 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Moevenpick Hotel Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istanbul Moevenpick Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moevenpick Hotel Istanbul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.