We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple is Great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ilkay

Save Saved
You added Hotel Ilkay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Ilkay
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hudavendigar Street No: 44-46 | Eminonu, Istanbul 34210 , Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #137 of 901 hotels in Istanbul
Livermore, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Simple is Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Located 2 minutes from the streetcar and in the heart of the Old City, Ilkay provides a simple, friendly, clean, and hospitable respite for your trip to Istanbul. Very affordable and accommodating. Typical large Turkish breakfast to get you going in the morning and a fun bar next door to end the day of sightseeing and adventure. Staff is friendly and will meet your needs. Highly recommend the Ilkay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boyaci, Owner at Hotel Ilkay, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Guest;

I want to thank you very much for your review. It is so nice to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us. Ilkay Hotel is a growing family that now you are part of it. Please do not hesitate if you need anything from Istanbul or us. We will be more than happy to help you.

Sincerely
Faruk Boyaci
The owner of Ilkay Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    334
    270
    78
    24
    8
See reviews for
119
205
65
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Ilkay is exactly how it is described. Reliable pick up service at busy airport, small but clean room, and a good breakfast. This hotel is perfect for exploring the main sights in the Sultanahmet. We enjoyed our stay here in busy Istanbul.

Room Tip: Street side is very noisy, but interesting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boyaci, Owner at Hotel Ilkay, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
My dear Guest,

I am Faruk Boyaci, the owner of Ilkay Hotel -Sirkeci Group.

Thank you very much for your kind review on Tripadvisor. I am so happy that you had a good time with us. We are hoping to return to Ilkay Hotel and enjoy another stay. We will be so glad to see you back in the family.

If I may be any assistance in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me. Here is my direct e-mail: faruk@istanbul.com.

Sincerely
Faruk Boyaci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

This was my second time staying at Ilkay and I was just as impressed on this occasion as the last. There is nothing that I can fault with Ilkay - everything is top notch.

I must give a special mention to two of the staff : SEDAT and CENGIS who were both very welcoming as always and always had smiles on their faces!

I am sure that when I return to Istanbul, I will definitely be staying here again... The morning breakfast is plentiful and the rooms are very cosy and always cleaned to perfect standard every time I was out..

There is also a bar built into the ground floor which has great food and better music! (See separate review for them!)

I will definitely return to stay here.. Thank you again to all the staff!

Adil

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Good location, in between two tram stops in Sultanahmet area, but far enough away from main tourist area to have reasonably priced restaurants around. Easy walk to Hagia Sofya, Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar, Spice Market, New Mosque etc and very close to main railway station. 4TL doner, rice and peas shop almost opposite hotel is well worth trying for lunch.

For this location in Istanbul it is a reasonable price, but compared to other places we stayed in Turkey it is pricey (double what we paid in Selcuk, Bodrum and Pamukkale). Rooms clean and a decent size, breakfast very good, with cold and hot selections. Staff helpful, and made calls etc for us when we lost our credit card in an ATM.

If you need washing/ironing done, then use one of the little shops in the street opposite hotel as you will save loads compared to the hotel.

I would recommend this hotel if you want to be near main tourist sites, in a clean, contemporary hotel, for a fair price. Book with hotel direct for special offers.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Me and my family stayed here last year and had such a great stay that we vowed that we wouldn't stay anywhere else in Istanbul.

We struck up a great friendship with one of the reception staff named Sedat so going back was like visiting an old friend :)

The hotel standards have not slipped a bit, instead they have made many improvements with a recent refurbishment. It was always very clean, with the loveliest staff. The location is unparalleled, right on the tram line so every major sight is within walking distance - Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, grand bazaar, follow the tram line to the left. For the Spice Bazaar, New Mosque, water front and Galata bridge, just follow the tram line to the right. You can never get lost!

We want to say a big thanks to reception staff Cengis, Ugur and our great friend, Sedat. Nothing was too much hassle for them and they always had a smile on their face. You made our stay so amazing, can't wait to come back next year. They are a real asset to Hotel Ilkay.

Also a special mention to the brilliant staff at the Red River Pub, which is an adjoining pub/restaurant. They were so great and helpful, and also helped to waiter the breakfast, which was very varied and so delicious!!

Thank to all of you, especially Sedat, can't wait to come back next year inshallah. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We have booked this hotel based on the good reviews here at TA and we weren't disappointed. We have stayed at Ilkay for 5 nights and it was a good hotel in terms of service, location and price.

We were able to check into our room even though it was still early. The triple room was alright, there was enough space to walk around even with our luggages. There was a cupboard with a safe, a tv, a small dresser and complimentary bottles of water everyday. The beds and specially the pillows were comfortable. Bathroom was spacious and always clean and the towels were changed everyday. Carpets were worn out but at least it didn't smell bad.

The elevators were small but functional. They have a separate room for luggage storage which can be used upon check-out if your flight was scheduled for later as was in our case.

Breakfast was good with a lot of choices... bread, cheese, 3 kinds of coldcuts, hotdogs, eggs, fresh fruits, vegetables, yogurts, jams, fresh honey plus coffee, tea, juice. More than enough to start your day. The music in the breakfast room was somewhat loud, though, so having a peaceful breakfast was not ideal.

I love the location of the hotel. It was walking distance to Hagia Sophia, Underground Cistern, Blue Mosque and Topkapi Palace. Two tram stations a few minutes walk and a lot of restaurants and souvenir shops surrounding the hotel. It was a good base for exploring the city.

Overall, it was a good choice of a hotel. It wasn't grand by any means but it was comfortable. It's reasonably priced and you get good service from the staff. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Egypt
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed in ilkay hotel in august 2012 what a hotel everything was nice in every way possible
Every thing was charming, the rooms in the new wing were clean and comfortable, the location central and in the heart of every thing, the breakfast very nice, the staff was helpful and friendly, and the price was reasonable
Perfect

Room Tip: Choose the new wings , specially rooms number 503 and 504
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Ilkay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ilkay

Address: Hudavendigar Street No: 44-46 | Eminonu, Istanbul 34210 , Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 901 hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ilkay 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Cheap Tickets, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Ilkay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ilkay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.