We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will definitely stay here again - A great find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Erboy Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Erboy Hotel to your Saves list
Erboy Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ebusuud Street 18 Sirkeci, Eminonu Fatih, Istanbul 34210, Turkey   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #53 of 979 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Alexandria, VA
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Will definitely stay here again - A great find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2009

I stayed at the Erboy three nights in late May and I was very impressed. Value for money was excellent and I will definitely return to Istanbul and stay here. Therefore my overall rating is based on what one might expect compared to other hotels of the same price/caliber. Two friends from the US who are living in Istanbul saw the room and the Erboy has now become their new recommended hotel for visiting friends. I am a 46 y.o. female professional who travels for pleasure, and frequently solo. My younger days as a budget traveler have given way to more comfort and higher budget, but I don't seek luxury accomodations as I prefer to spend the money elsewhere. Therefore, I value modestly priced hotels that are safe, clean, comfortable and are in good locations. I love a great find and I consider the Hotel Erboy a great find. I do not recommend this hotel for those who like American-syle rooms, chain hotels, or who need 4-star accomodations to be satisfied.

LOCATION: For those wanting to stay in Sultanhamet , the location is excellent. Short block from tram stop. Street not a very busy one. As solo female, I felt completely safe. Walk to Aya Sofia, Blue Mosque, and Topkapi in a few min. Also can walk to Grand Bazaar, to the ferries, and over Galata Bridge to Beyoglu. Private airport transfer or taxi from airport is 50 TL (approx. $30) but the light rail/tram is easy and incredibly cheap (few dollars) and I highly recommend. No stairs enroute and I never had to lift my luggage once.

ROOM: I had a room w/ two twin beds on the 3rd floor overlooking the street in front of the hotel. Basic styling but not sterile. Size was average (by European standards). Mattress firm and very comfortable with good sheets. Built-in closet/armoire and separate vanity w/ mirror and stool. Convenient wall mounted lamp over each bed w/ convenient light switch at bed level. Several electrical outlets for recharging electronics. Bathroom was spotless w/ marble tile floor and ceramic tile walls. Bar and liquid soap provided. Good shower and plenty of hot water. Some sound thru walls transferred but not bothersome. Windows glazed so street sounds (limited traffic) not a problem when window closed, but I slept w/ it open and it was fine. Room has A/C w/ remote control. Television w/ channels in French, Italian, English (incl. BBC), among others. Phone. Room service, but didn't use. Two elevators on each guest room floor.

BREAKFAST: After 3 weeks in Turkey and having seen a variety of breakfast quality, this was by far the best and most varied. Besides the typical Turkish breakfast of tomatoes, olives, cucumbers, feta, white cheese, hard cooked eggs, and bread/butter/jam, there was muesli, milk, yogurt, honey, fresh fruit, selection of breads/rolls, criossants, scrambled eggs (although runny) and REAL filtered coffee - everywhere else I got Nescafe. There was the typical salami (pink meat common throughout Turkey - they don't have pork there so it's like bologna). Ignore the "orange juice" as it's orange drink, but that was typical in Turkey not to have oj - they seem to have fruit nectars in the grocery stores. Easy to get fresh squeezed oj on the street cheaply so it didn't bother me. There were other breakfast selections I don't recal. Breakfast room is a pleasant one with linen table cloths. Of note were individually wrapped sugar cubes, a first in my month in the country where everywhere I went the sugar bowl was spoonless and saw countless hands reaching in. This was a clear commitment to hygiene.

STAFF: Consistently warm and helpful and this goes for every single individual with whom I interacted. This management is clearly focused on customer satisfaction. Ayse, the concierge, was friendly and attentive, providing me with options for group tours as well as independent exploration. I detected absolutely no pressure or push whatsoever toward tours.

ROOFTOP LOUNGE: Was open for drinks only as it was early in the season. It was charming and pleasant.

RESTAURANT: Daily specials (15 Euro for complete meal w/ appetizer, salad, and dessert). Food was decent although forgettable.

I absolutely recommend this hotel for its location, value, staff, cleanliness, and good beds.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,884 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,103
    665
    92
    20
    4
See reviews for
385
818
126
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2009

Just got back from Istanbul and the Erboy Hotel - we had a great experience. The staff were friendly and helpful, the rooms were clean, the roofdeck was awesome, and best of all - it's smack in the middle of all the major sights. The big four (Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia, Topkapi Palace, Grand Bazaar) are all within a 10 minute walk, and you get a nice view from the roofdeck. The rooms are quite basic (no frills), but I would say the bathroom was above average for a 3 star - nicer than expected. We don't typically eat at hotel restaurants, but one night we were really tired so we did eat at Erboy's restaurant and it was quite good. The Erboy is one of the better 3 star hotels I've stayed at, so I would recommend it as a great choice for budget-minded travellers. Fantastic location, good value.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2009

wanted a hotel with a central location since was travelling with my mum who has some mobility troubles.
Hotel was prime location for visiting allthe major attractions, all within 10 min walk and if you needed a taxi there were plenty passing the hotel as it was a quite a major route for passing taxis.
the tram stop is also just at the end of the street where the is also a british style pub.
there is a shop opposite for basic drinks etc but found a tiny supermarket on the main road parallel to the hotel road just down the hill where u could get water etc cheaper.
Breakfast had a wide choice , i am quite a picky eater abroad but managed to find something to eat each morning ..
Our room (409) not very big but fine for us as we spent all day out and only came back in the evening to relax and sleep. Mian thing it was clean and the bathroom was clean and our shower was lovely.
Am planning on going back to istanbul at some point for a girly holiday and would def choose it again , for the money you pay it is a grea bargain and location is perfect!!

Oh and also you get free internet access through out the hotel , i took my lap top and was nice to beable to come back and use it whenver i wanted or needed.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijverdal
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2009

We stayed for six days at this nice hotel. The Erboy is situated excellent. The Topkapi palace, the Blue Mosque and the Hagia Sofia are very nearby. So are the Galatabridge and the bazaars. Around the corner you will find the tram station.
The staff is friendly and the rooms are very clean. Each morning we have had a very good breakfast.
The rooms are good but a bit old-fashioned.
Ask for the restaurant guide of the Sirkezy group. Every evening we have had a very fine dinner with good food. The restaurant in the hotel serves good meals.
Value for money.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2009

We chose the hotel, as we do for all our foreign travel, based on previous tripadvisor reviews. Everything was excellent from our welcome at reception on arrival to our final breakfast before departure. The hotel seemed to be quite busy with people coming and going most of the time. As we had booked directly with the hotel, we benefited from complimentary dinner on the first night. We were pleasantly surprised to have a full choice from the a la carte menu - and meal was execllent.
Our fairly small room (510) on the 5th floor (the only non-smoking floor) was very clean but you needed to be very agile to climb into the bath/shower. As you spend so little time in the room, the size was not a problem.
If drinking in the hotel - take care of the 2 for 1 beer offer advertsised in reception ONLY applies to reception on not the Terrace Bar. This caused some confusion to a number of guests.
As previously reported the hotel is very central with most sites easily within walking
distance.
Overall a very good, clean, friendly and good value hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2009

the staff was very kind, the room is clean, confortable and luminous.
It's well connected with the main tourist locations!!!
A very good choice...

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2009

We stayed 5 nights in April.
Great hotel, perfect location, very friendly and helpful staff, wonderful breakfast, rooms are clean, price is ok. Next the hotel you can find a lot of other nice places to eat and drink. (but believe me the restaurant of the hotel is really very good)
I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Erboy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Erboy Hotel

Address: Ebusuud Street 18 Sirkeci, Eminonu Fatih, Istanbul 34210, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 979 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Erboy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Erboy Hotel is located on the Historical Peninsula and in walking distance to major historical areas, museums, shopping centers and public transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Erboy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Erboy Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.