We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pretty nice place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gunes Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Gunes Hotel to your Saves list
Gunes Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nadide Cad. Gunay Sok. No1 | Merter, Istanbul 34173, Turkey   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #533 of 945 Hotels in Istanbul
Gjovik, Norway
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“pretty nice place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

this is a very good place to stay with family or business trip.... and if you are a breakfast person, this is your hotel. the breakfast is awesome, you have a lot to choose between various food
one thing to mention though, the walls are real thin, did not get good sleep and no place for children to play
suitable for BUSINESS trips or SOLO

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    35
    27
    8
    1
See reviews for
5
16
18
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

I used to stay in this hotel quite often. Now I know for sure that it is one of my worst nightmares. Why? Try to stay longer and you will see. Dissapointing hotel. They had to change my room qiute often, internet was not working, breakfast offer poor and not changed for 3-4 years (even one single thing they couldnt replace).

Room Tip: Avoid if you care about your health
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gunesotel, Genel Müdür at Gunes Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
One of the best part of us is our open buffet breakfast. If you look other many guest's comment. They always say that we have nice breakfast. It is almost 130 diferent type of things, we are surving. The guest saying that last 3 years the buffet is same. Something wrong is on this comment. Almost %80 of the buffet decoration has renoviert. I think guest didn't realized the changes on the breakfast room. I do not think that we deserve that much bad comment. I do not know what made the guest that much agressive.Last 3 years you are coming and now make such a toughless comment.

Emin GUDE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

I often stay in Güneş hotel every time i visit İstanbul. My last stay was on the first week of November 2013. It is located in Meter in a very quiet area and not too far from the airport (about 15 km). A few walks, u can find the MMM Migros mall, an interesting one. About 800m there is a park (Şelale Park). You can reach the touristic sites like Aya Sofya and Sultanahmet Camii in about 20 to 30 minutes (if there's no traffic).
The hotel room is nice and clean. You can use the high speed wireless internet in your room and, of course, at the lobby. The bed is good, AC works fine, the water in the bathroom takes a while to get hot. Food was excellent. it has a huge varieties to choose from and has two locations, indoor and outdoor. The people there are friendly. There is a free parking for the hotel customers.
I recommend this hotel for a quiet stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We recently stayed at the Gunes Hotel near the airport in Istanbul on a 14 hour layover. What an Amazing little gem. The room was clean, the hottest water we had had for a while, and the most comfortable beds, like sleeping on a cloud. The free full hot breakfast was amazing with a huge variety of breads and cheeses, and other delights to fulfil anyone's flavour.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modena
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

It's in a good position, between 2 subways, metrobus and close to a new shopping center. Concerning the hotel, the room was not so clean, and they don't use the vacuum everyday. You smell a strange fragrance, something between old and wet. The bathroom was the only positive thing, The fitness room was not available, they told because under-painting, but they didn't propose an alternative. Breakfast and restaurant were enough. In general it doesn't worth the price.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dakar, Senegal
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I stayed there just for one day whilst I was connecting to BKK. The hotel is clean and in a quiet neighbourhood but honestly it does not deserve a 4 star rating.
The room was clean but not wide; the toilets were not attractive!
The food is not bad but the choice is very limited.
Something positive, the staff is very warm and friendly. They do your best to make your staying comfortable but they know themselves that the hotel does not reach the rate it pretends.
I would not recommend it for holidays or long staying

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

It is no doubt located in a very good and clean locality in the uber part of Istanbul. The rooms were tidy and clean but a little too stuffy and warm. We had a pleasant stay, I found the food to be ok. There's a small bar area as well. Internet and wifi connectivity not that good. Recommended for short stays!

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gunes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gunes Hotel

Address: Nadide Cad. Gunay Sok. No1 | Merter, Istanbul 34173, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #533 of 945 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gunes Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Gunes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gunes Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.