We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nightmare” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Grand Star

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Grand Star to your Saves list
Hotel Grand Star
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Siraselviler Cad. No:45 D:1 Taksim, Beyoglu, Istanbul 34437, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #777 of 979 Hotels in Istanbul
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nightmare”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I have stayed 2 nights in the Hotel Butik Star managed by and situated in the same building as Hotel Grand Star, I guess I can write my review here. This has been the worst stay ever in a hotel, the room was noisy but clean but the service is absolutely miserable. Not helpful and not friendly at all. Way too expensive for what you get !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    54
    62
    46
    65
See reviews for
55
64
23
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I stayed here for four nights.

Generally, I presume most people get fairly good rates when they stay here (less than, or up to slightly more than, US $100 per night). If that is the case, then staying here is a good option.

The hotel does market itself as a four star hotel. This seems a bit misleading.
Anyway, I would rather stay in a decent three star hotel than a four star hotel where my expectations are not met.

The Good:

Location. Located just a few minutes walk from Istiklal Ave, you cannot find a better location for the price you pay at the Hotel Grand Star, as Istanbul hotels can get very expensive.

Also, if you are someone who takes the airport bus rather than take a taxi, this hotel is perfect. The hotel is not far from Taksim Square and the bus stop that goes direct to either airport. About a 10 minute walk away.

Internet/Wifi worked well, though there were a couple of points where I did have connections issues, but I was able to fix it rather quickly.

The Not-So-Good

Breakfast did have several options, but was very typical hotel food, and average at best.
Also freshly squeezed orange juice is available, but you have to pay extra (I think 8 Turksih Lira)

My room was located on the ground floor! I think it was the only room option on the ground floor. I was squeezed in between the bar and the service elevator! Since it is only one room, chances are you won’t be placed in it, so you don’t have to worry. However, I saw the rooms of several of my other colleagues (we all paid the same), and their rooms were nicer, though they did vary. Some were larger rooms, others had nicer décor, others had larger beds etc.

Overall, the room was adequate, though on the small side. My room did have a nice view, however.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Went to Istanbul this month for a few nights and was booked at this hotel. The location was great, the waiters and bartenders were great, but just the people at the front desk weren't very helpful and never smiled. My girlfriend and I stood waiting at the desk asking for directions, but the people behind the desk at the time though it was best that we should be ignored, so we walked away.The bathrooms had a bit of a funny smell, but I went to other hotels of friends at the time and they had the same problem, so it just must've been some local plumbing. We wanted to use the hottub in the spa salon, but was told that the waiter can only go luke warm, so it was pretty useless for me as I like it hot.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bournemouth
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

First of all I would like to stay many thanks for the staff. They were so nice with us and helpful. The breakfast was fresh and tastefull. we had big turkish breakfast. Room was clean and tidy. and also ıt was big enough. Location is wonderfull. You can reach everywhere so easily and it is in the center of Istanbul. And It has got a breathtaking sea view. I will advice to all my friend and I would like to stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This hotel was in an amazing location. It was in the middle of Taksim, within walking distance of amazing shopping and great restaurants. I love the area in large part because it gives you a great view of modern, city living in Turkey. You'll be able to interact with a lot of Turkish people living their daily lives (shopping, eating, going to work, etc).

The hotel is well-kept and comfortable (although I'm not sure I'd call it a luxury, '4 star hotel').

My room was absolutely wonderful. It was a great size (I had a "superior room", which featured 1 queen sized bed and a spare twin bed) but, more importantly, it had a balcony that overlooked the water and the countryside. The balcony had a table and chairs, so I could have breakfast overlooking the water. I didn't want to check out.

Be advised that many of the hotel staff speak only Turkish. But there always try to have some staff on hand that speak English and other languages. Elif was wonderful!

Tips: I saw a few of my colleagues' rooms and trust me: not all rooms in this hotel are created equal. Some rooms are on the street level or lower. Lower means no sunlight. The street level rooms are particularly noisy, as my Chief of Staff discovered the hard way. I, however, had an amazing room.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

A decent 4 stars hotel with a very good location. Close to the Taksim Square which is heart of the city and transport possibilities to any part of the city is very good. Close to the airport shuffle stop. And very good service and smiley personel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MUSTAFAK, General Manager at Hotel Grand Star, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear our valued guets,
Thank you in deed for your good piont. You are very sensetive human .
You gaved us the courage which we are muchly pleased.
We would like to see you again in our star hotels group hotels.
Sincerely yours.
Mustafa Küçükçakan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fethiye
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

3 nights here on business and it's very busy due to central location.
Decor is a bit dated and the Internet connection was not constant.
My tv didn't work and they promised a technician but no one came, it was late at night so I just went to sleep but I was not pleased.
Dirty cups left on the corridor table were there 3 days , poor housekeeping.
Breakfast adequate but better to go out in istiklal and eat there.
If you get this as a bargain book it , if not look for other deals in this location .

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MUSTAFAK, General Manager at Hotel Grand Star, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for your valued point which we are honoured . İstanbul is very crovded city . That is good advantage to be at the heart of the city's life. Hope to see you again in our star hotels group
Sincerely yours
Mustafa Küçükçakan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Grand Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Star

Address: Siraselviler Cad. No:45 D:1 Taksim, Beyoglu, Istanbul 34437, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#385 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grand Star 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best location in centre of istanbul Taksim. Close to all historical place and city centre on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, HostelBookers and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Grand Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Star Hotel
Grand Star Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Grand Star, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.