We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tour hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Halic

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Halic to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Halic
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Refik Saydam Caddesi TepebasI BulvarI 37, Istanbul 34430, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #616 of 919 Hotels in Istanbul
Woking, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Tour hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

This ways our hotel before tour and after.basic not four star.place dated needs refurb.breakfast poor no fresh fruit same everyday.rooms clean noisey air con,road busy if room at front.bar staff need training make cocktails.mixed attitude from staff

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    70
    70
    46
    12
See reviews for
44
61
10
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tehran, Iran
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

The hotel has located near the istiklal street and if you (like me) love this street, cafes and nightlife of Istanbul, the selection of this hotel is absolutely right!
My wife and I (30y) stayed there for 4nights and all nights walking around Istiklal, Taksim, cafes and restaurants there. We were at 7th floor with a view of sea. This was wonderful too.
The negative point is noise of the cars that are till midnights! Other things like breakfast menu, bathroom and facilities are acceptable. Wifi signals was good as well!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Airco was dripping
Road constructions during the night
Breakfast: limited choice, no fresh fruit/ orange juice
Unstable wifi connection

Clean bathroom, nice shower
Comfortable bed
TV, minibar
Nice view!
Close to subway

Normal price (60 euro) would have been reasonable but prices tripled because of conference.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
516 helpful votes 516 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

My husband & I stayed at this hotel at the start & end of our Cosmos Grand Tour of Turkey, last autumn.
Our arrival was too late for the evening meal but check-in was pleasant. The room (210) was ok, just for the night. It had a hairdryer but no kettle (not good for a supposed 4*) fortunately, we had our own. There was shower gel & shampoo; the room was spacious & clean but no balcony & not a great view. Other part members had nice views of the Asian side of the city & the Golden Horn. Traffic was noisy; take ear plugs, if you’re a light sleeper.
Breakfast was ok; I don’t eat cooked breakfasts but my husband does & would’ve appreciated bacon amongst the cooked offerings. I did note that the croissants were rather soggy! There was a TV, fridge & mini-bar containing fruit juice & chocolate, so it wasn’t all bad!
Our final 2 nights of the tour was spent in a refurbished room, 624. It was at the back, so no view except an inward one of the other rooms. There were nice, silky bed drapes, in warm red & gold colours along with a nice rug on the wooden floor. It had a plasma TV on the wall, spacious bathroom, good glass shower guard, full length mirror in the hall part of the room, hairdryer *and* kettle this time, but no coffee or tea bags; luckily, I always carry some sachets with us. The hotel floor plan, on the back of the door, showed that it’s the largest room on that level.
The air-con was a bit too efficient & rather noisy. Strange smells waft in, now & again, e.g. before 4am, one can smell breakfast preparations / cooking & there was an unfortunate, unsanitary smell, floating around after breakfast, in the corridors; sometimes a musty one too.
Now for the lifts…..goodness! Lifts at the front had been ok but the ones at the back had a will of their own! One journey up to room 624 was like something from a film. We’d just joked about getting stuck between floors when there was a big jolt & it wouldn’t open. After fiddling about with the buttons it did re-start but would only go up to level 5, so we got out & walked up to 6. The 2nd journey saw us being taken only part way down so we got out & went the rest of the way on foot. One of our party was taken down to the basement & was quite lost till some more of the group ‘happened upon her’, as the lift took them down there too. After all that, I refused to get in it again; I like to be in control!
There is a free safe key available from reception & taxis to the bazaar & environs should be about 15TL. There is a Café Nero nearby & we enjoyed meals at the Big Chef Café & Brasserie, 3rd left as you come out of the hotel.
We weren’t too struck on the location & if we return to Istanbul, we’d like to be on the other side of the river, but it was ok for the odd night, as part of a group tour.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran, Iran
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

this hotel has 2 parts, the part that we were, was so clean with white sheet and so nice persons ,
the place was very excellent , it is near isteglal St. and metro and Bus station and also Tagsim Sq.,

Room Tip: the rooms on the north are so cleaner than in the south.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Hotel has a sweeping entry and certainly looks grand. Rooms ( had 3 different ones during my stays) clean, basic and all that we needed except for a kettle and tea:) Depending on rooms, walls thin and during our stay there seemed to be no understanding by some guests to lower voice after 10-11pm or caution their children to behave. For two nights neighbors talked loudly until 2am leaving us less than sparkling for our Istanbul day. This is a situation for the hotel to remedy .... Simple signs that remind guests ' no noise ' after 10 pm ' lower voices in halls and rooms after 10 pm' might be helpful. Children were left to run in breakfast room and at least twice I was ' run into' while carrying a tray of food. Perhaps the serving staff need to reinforce safe behavior if the parents don't :). The hotel staff were lovely, exceptionally helpful - they do their best if you present patience, understanding, humor and a smile. A real gem is both the pool after a long day walking and the simply stated restaurant on Floor 8 offers a simply magical panoramic view of Istanbul over the Golden Horn. It is perfectly situated to get to ferries, restaurants ( Takzim Square), metro ( buy card from concierge), Spice Bazaar, GalataTower area and shopping.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This hotel is the designated hotel for cosmos tours. We arrived in Istanbul a couple of days before the tour commenced. We had checked out the previous TA reviews on the Grand Hotel Halic and luckily decided not to stay there until the day the tour commenced!!! Reception was staffed by one person who had no people skills at all. Our allocated room had twin beds, was small- photos deceiving, decor pleasant. We had main road facing room...thank goodness for the double glazed windows. Air conditioning was appalling, we complained 3 times to reception, even at 3.45am with nothing being done. We had to open the windows and try and get some sleep with earplugs in situ as the city was still alive at this hour..Other people on this tour had similar problems. One poor women slept on the floor right underneath the Aircon. Breakast was average, reasonable variety. Avoid the tubs of jam...contents had dried up. Aircon not the best in dining area either.
On a plus, it was close to transport, Galata tower, and old town. Lovely views of old town especially at night !!!

Room Tip: Request a room at the back of the hotel. If you get room 402, request immediate change or stay elsew...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Halic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Halic

Address: Refik Saydam Caddesi TepebasI BulvarI 37, Istanbul 34430, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#319 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Halic 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Grand Hotel Halic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Istanbul
Grand Halic Istanbul
Grand Halic Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Halic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;