We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel..Good Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Halic

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Halic to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Halic
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Refik Saydam Caddesi TepebasI BulvarI 37, Istanbul 34430, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #604 of 915 hotels in Istanbul
Tehran, Iran
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good Hotel..Good Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

it's a very good Hotel. Rooms are very clean and everything is in the good quality. The bus stop is right in front of the hotel. It is easy to get to the main streets. The streets behind the hotel are very beautiful, especially at night, the bars and restaurants are very interesting and beautiful. The big problem was the thin walls and the room next door and speaking voices were heard as well. Reception staff (especially the lady in the reception ) were impolite...But overally it was a good hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    68
    68
    44
    12
See reviews for
42
59
10
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
pittsburgh
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Location is everything to me. This hotel doesn't have a great view or anything like that but just up behind the hotel and you will find everything. Tons of restaurants, shopping, etc. in the evening the street is lite with blue and white light for a mile and shops are open until late in the evening. This area is just a short walk up behind the hotel and yet the hotel is quite. The pool was very nice and much appreciated. Lobby was pleasant as we're the rooms.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed at the Grand Halich for 2 weeks, businesss and pleasure. Very nice hotel, buffet breakfast, restaurant with good food on top floor with Turkish show on weekends. The hotel is reasonably priced and well situated on the European side (near Galata Tower and Istiklal cad.). Easy to get busses, share taxis and metro to anywhere. The view is worth a million $. The venue for the educators convention I attended was at the Ramada Plaza and was 3x the price of the Grand Halich. Even if the price had been the same I would have chosen the Grand Halich for location and view. You can pay more, but you can't do better. By the way, none of the photos I have included are touched up, the colors are exactly as we saw them.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, England
Top Contributor
312 reviews 312 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 160 cities Reviews in 160 cities
238 helpful votes 238 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We joined a Cosmos tour and stayed at this hotel both at the beginning and end of the coach tour.

On our first night we were allocated a high room at the front of the hotel and this gave us a tremendous view over the Golden Horn both in daylight and at night. Our friends were on the 1st floor and they were unhappy with the traffic noise but we hardly noticed it being higher up.

On our return trip we were allocated a room at the back of the hotel with a view of a side alley but we hardly spent any time in the room as we were out exploring the area during the daytime and a hotel room as long as it offers reasonable comforts is all we expect when not paying for the better quality accommodation.

We found the breakfasts to be very good with a large variety of food - the only problem being if you put your knife down on the plate the waiters assumed you had finished with that dish and whipped it away!

Reception staff were very helpful although they were serious faced most of the time.

We used the hotel restaurant once and the waiters were extremely polite and helpful and even produced a large piece of tinfoil to wrap the remains of a very large sandwich rather than have it put in a serviette.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, IL
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

The best thing about this hotel is that it is not in Sultanahnmet (a great neighborhood for tourists but not for business people). The rooms looking west look over the Golden Horn and the views change constantly. It is also convenient to the Caddesi Istaklil which is right up the hill.

Room Tip: Get a room that looks out over the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

Reasonably priced, good location although a bit noisy in rooms facing the busy 4-laned road. On the other hand a beautiful view of the Golden horn (Halic). The hotel has surely seen better days, but everything worked alright. Metro station, Tunel funicular are nearby, buses and taxis are found right outside the door. All in all, a reasonable choice for a short stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
norwich norfolk
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

stayed in the Grand Halic with a cosmos tour, good basic hotel, food good,very good area to be in. hotel staff very pleasant if you are lucky you can get a room overlooking the water. bus stop outside small cafe:s outside..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Halic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Halic

Address: Refik Saydam Caddesi TepebasI BulvarI 37, Istanbul 34430, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#312 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Halic 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Grand Hotel Halic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Istanbul
Grand Halic Istanbul
Grand Halic Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Halic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.