We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You Get What You Pay For” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Halic

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Halic to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Halic
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Refik Saydam Caddesi TepebasI BulvarI 37, Istanbul 34430, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #592 of 901 hotels in Istanbul
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“You Get What You Pay For”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Stayed here twice apart of a Cosmos Tour Group. The first time, I had a small but adequate room without a view of the nearby water. The second time, I had another smallish room but this time had an awesome view of the nearby water.

Buffet breakfast was average but was the same each day. Air conditioning in both rooms didn't work well enough for me.

Tip - If you walk out of the hotel and take a right at the first signal light (about 2 blocks), then walk about three blocks, you will be on the famous Pedestrian Street which is around 2 miles long. This street is filled with restaurants, street vendors, shopping and street performers.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    65
    64
    41
    11
See reviews for
36
58
9
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amman, Jordan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

the location of this hotel is very nice about 5 min walking to istiklal street, and the bus station is just at the other side of the hotel, staff is not very helpfull exept one at reception by name omran he is very kind, i reserved double room for me and my wife and 6 months baby, first they offer me twin room but when i insest to have king size room they change it after long time of talking and asking for manager incharge,room is very very small for two and baby,also rooms is very noisy you can hear every thing around you on other rooms,very bad view i got,breakfast is just normal and its the same every day,i will not be back here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oman
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

This hotel is conveniently located in the Beyoglu area close to the Galata tower and bridge. The famous Istiklal Avenue is just a walk up the stairs. Other than this there is nothing to rave about this hotel. We had stayed here for 3 nights as a part of our Group tour of Turkey once during the begining of the tour and later at the end. Both times we landed up with rooms without a view. However in the first instance we were in what appears to be the older part of the building which was quite bad. The rooms were smaller here and the corridors were lit with motion detector lights that switched on with a delay. Thus you had to walk a few steps in the dark when the light switches on. It was kind of eerie and appeared pointless. In the second leg we were in the renovated area which had better rooms and large bathrooms. Thankfully the motion detector lights are not employed here.

The breakfast was pretty dull and was repeated. Any by the way a notice at the entrance warns you that 'outside food/beverages are injurious to your health'. So travellers beware.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms with the sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

I am from Iran,so a travel agency booked hotel for us.this hotel is famous for its view to a halic but the room that they gave us had a view of gloomy,dirty back alley of hotel and when I complainedwe are told we should pay extra money for rooms with better view!...staff were cold and unfriendly and once I noticed I realized that they only treat Iranian ppl like this...:(....anyway I can add that rooms are clean and breakfast is reasonably good.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millom, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

The hotel is situated close to the evening activities of the New Town and is about 2 km from the attractions of the Blue Mosque, St Sophia etc. The breakfast was OK but less good than most of the other hotels we have experienced in Turkey. The furnishings are modern and clean. All-in-all not inspiring but more than adequate for a few days' stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Travelled to tukey for my honeymoon with the mrs the furniture was so outdated everythimg so old and in terrible had sublime views of the aegan sea,reception area is from a 50s canteen,taxim square 20ms,rip off,food was average TURKEY IS NICE AND HOT GRAND DEFINITELY NOT

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012 via mobile

It is an old hotel but the location is quite strategic, is located in the heart of the city center.
The room is average, the bathroom is clean enough, the food is good.
There are a free wifi connection, the speed is fast but unfortunately I cannot browse to the internet through my tablet as will as my laptop.
it says that the server cannot be found, even the IT staff cannot fix the problem.....

If you want to go shipping, you can go by walk about 15 minutes to Taksim shopping area.
It a very huge Shopping area in town that you can buy anything there.....

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hotel Halic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Halic

Address: Refik Saydam Caddesi TepebasI BulvarI 37, Istanbul 34430, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#311 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Halic 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hotel Halic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Istanbul
Grand Halic Istanbul
Grand Halic Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Halic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.