We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cihangir Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Cihangir Hotel to your Saves list
Cihangir Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Aslan YatagI Sk. No 17, Istanbul, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #559 of 943 Hotels in Istanbul
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2009

I stayed in Cihangir Hotel after recommendation of a very close friend of me who stays there every time she visits Istanbul. The hotel is in the best possible convenient location. It is in Cihangir area, just 5 minutes walk to Taksim Square, far away from tourist trap hotels of Sultanahmet. Taksim square is the best place to stay in Istanbul, because restaurants and night life are there. We searched a lot to find a reasonable price hotel in the area but we couldn't find and Cihangir was the best. Unfortunately there were no Bosphorous view rooms ( that are amazing), so we were given city view rooms. Some of our friends left earlier, so we made some changes in the room ( f.ex. i stayed in total in 3 different rooms, so i can make comments on them). Except from the rooms in the lobby that are a bit noisy ( at least for people who can't sleep easily), the rooms in 5th and 3rd floor were perfect. All the rooms were clean and spacious. The stuff was very helpful; we gave them some cheese to store in their fridge, and they were calling immediately taxi for us;because i had to sleep some days in a single room, some days in double room, there was no problem. All of them were very friendly. The breakfast is a typical turkish breakfast; don't expect too many things , however, it had omelette, and sausage and eggs and bread , tomatoes and cheese. Cihangir area is famous for its cafes so it's better to take breakfast in a cafe.
In total, i can say that both me and my friends enjoyed our stay in the hotel; if you are looking for a budget clean hotel in a convenient location go for it!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    14
    14
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
12
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
metripgo
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2009

i stayed at cihangir hotel twice with my girlfriend. hotel rooms are very clean. staff friendly. the back side rooms overlooking the bosphorus are fantastic. for the value i would definitely recommend this hotel

  • Liked — the bosphorus view and cleanness
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2008

We have been staying at 2 rooms with a Bosphorus view at Cihangir Hotel for 4 days. Its a nice, very clean and confortable hotel in a very silent neighbourhood. We choose rooms with Bosporus view: The view of Bosporus from the terrace of our room was breathtaking both during day and night. The accommodation was absolutely amaizing and the staff very helpful and smiling. It’s a clean and comfortable hotel with spacious bathrooms. The breakfast (typical Turkish breakfast) was simple but fresh and delicious. The hotel has a private garage without extra charge, and this is very convenient.

  • Liked — view, friendly staff, free parking
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2008

We were looking for a hotel in Taksim for just one night and picked the Cihangir from reviews and their website. We drove in from Taksim Square down very narrow alleys (and saw a car and a van trying to pass each other, ending up with the rear bumper being ripped off the car, so if you are driving, be very careful!).

Reception was efficient if somewhat impersonal. We got a room with a Bosphorous view (20 Euros extra) but it was debatable whether it was worth the extra - a large chunk of ours was taken up by the fire escape. If you've never been to Istanbul before then it would probably be worth it.

The room was comfortable, clean but not meticulously so. There was a good array of goodies (shoe cleaner, comb, shower cap, slippers) but only liquid soap - if you prefer solid soap take your own. The bathroom had a shower over the bath and wonderful water pressure. Elderly folk might have a problem getting in and out of the shower - it was quite a high step with little to hang on to.

Breakfast was included and was an excellent spread.

The only downside was the location. Returning after dark is not for the nervous. We think of ourselves as seasoned travelers and have spent some time in seedy locations, but even we were a little nervous here. We encountered a couple of 'hoodies' lurking in doors, but fortunately they turned out to be harmless.

We'd stay there again, but probably without paying extra for the Bosphorous view.

  • Liked — Clean and comfortable
  • Disliked — Approaches to hotel
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2008

The Cihangir Hotel is located several blocks away from the Taksim square area in a quiet residential neighborhood. The hotel faces the Bosphorus and you can ask for a room with a balcony for the view. It's nice to sit outside in the late evening and watch the lights on the 2nd Bosphorus bridge to the north.
The hotel also has a rooftop bar featuring the same view.

I stayed in a double twin-bed room, not very spacious but adequate for my needs. The bathrooms are spacious (for a room of this size) and have modern installations.
The reception staff speaks English fairly well. They are strict about not letting anyone past the reception area if they are not hotel guests.
One formality I didn’t appreciate is that the staff would knock on our door minutes upon our return to the hotel in the afternoon to perform a “mini-bar control” – just as we were getting ready to shower or take a quick nap. Also, I noticed that the room service staff lay the breakfast trays directly down on the hallway carpeting, instead of using a utility cart.

The downside of the Cihangir's location is having to walk from Taksim square/metro station down Siraselviler Caddesi for a few blocks to get to the hotel. This street has narrow sidewalks and is always very busy with taxis, cars, and pedestrians. In the evening the dance clubs and bars are open and it can seem like you are in London's SoHo or some similarly busy location popular with young people.
On the plus side, there are currency exchanges, a couple of quick-marts, and countless kebab eateries open all day and most of the night. And further down Siraselviler street there are several contemporary restaurants, pastry shops, bars and boutiques in the Cihangir district.

From the location of the Cihangir Hotel it's relatively easy to walk downhill to the coastal boulevard where the tram passes by heading towards Sultanahmet. Taking the tram will save you money on taxis from Taksim to Eminonu & Sultanahmet where all the sights are. If I remember correctly, the tram stop closest to the Cihangir is "Findikli". Just be aware that coming back to the hotel from the tram stop is a steep walk, including stairs for some of the way. This may be physically challenging for some people.

  • Liked — Satisfactory hotel amenities, good location
  • Disliked — Service staff procedures
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2007

The hotel was absoluetly amaizing in terms of food,service,cleanness and accomodation.Firs of all the rooms are really convenient:.I found everything that i wanted including minibar,satellite and pay tv.Also the staff was very helpfull.For example they assigned a waiter to take us to taxim square which is 10 minutes walk from the hotel.Most importantly the view of boshphorus from upper flor was breathtaking and it really influenced my artwork.

  • Liked — Rooms and Hospitality
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2007

I like this hotel, although my oppinion is a bit subjective formed by my travel history to Istanbul.

Positive
- neighbourhood - it is not a tourist ghetto of sultanahmet, neither it is some premium location. In my oppinion, you can really understand the city staying there. Taxim is close, Chihangir area also getting better and better with trendy bars and restaurants openning. On the personall note - I love buyig fruits at the stalls on the streets
- sea view - the bosphorous is great, so make sure you get the right room.
- staff is ok. I do not recall any major service breakthoughs on their side, but it was an ok service. I got the rooms I paid fr without additional haggling and even this is anachievement sometimes in Istanbul

Negative
- rooms are medium, nothig great about them
- when we went to the restaurant on the upper floor of the hotel we saw "music" on the bill. We were not really upset (it was cheap and there was some sort of a concert going on), took it more as a local speciality.

  • Stayed May 2004, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cihangir Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cihangir Hotel

Address: Aslan YatagI Sk. No 17, Istanbul, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #559 of 943 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cihangir Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cihangir Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cihangir Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cihangir Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.