We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Location & Great Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Historia Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Historia Hotel to your Saves list
Historia Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mimar Mehmet Aga Cad. Amiral Tafdil Sok. No:23 | Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE 2 WAY TRANSFERS & MORE...
Ranked #161 of 943 Hotels in Istanbul
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nice Location & Great Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel during our recent visit to Istanbul. The hotel is located near heart of key location and it is walking distance to all the key attractions. The hotel staff was always there to help. They help us with all the transportation during our stay in Istanbul. The hotel is very comfortable. However rooms are very small and you can hear your people staying next room. We enjoyed morning breakfast. I would recommend this hotel for people who wants to stay near key attraction. This hotel helped us store our luggage while we travel other cities in Turkey.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    151
    31
    11
    5
See reviews for
87
102
33
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

It would be better if I didn't stay in another great hotel in the area (which has very good value)

Things are pretty neat here but the walls are kind of thin and I can hear my neighbors after midnight.

On the first day it smells like cigarettes in my room (I'm a non-smoker) which upsets me a little bit.

It's a bit old inside but otherwise it's really homy and cozy.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

The Historia Hotel is all I need when exploring a city abroad. Friendly, helpful staff - a clean, hot shower - a comfortable bed - all very close to the sites I want to see! I am delighted to have discovered this little gem, and encourage others to do so.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

The lovely, tiny Historia Hotel has become my home away from home in Istanbul. Tucked away at the end of a quiet street just down the hill from the Blue Mosque and the Arasta Bazaar, the Historia offers sea view rooms with small balconies as well as rooms suitable for more than two people. I've stayed there four or five times now, sometimes alone, sometimes with students, sometimes with a colleague - it's always been a relaxing, comfortable stay. The rooms are modest but clean and with nice bathrooms. There is a small lift, great staff and breakfast served in an outdoor garden when the weather allows. Onur (the owner) and Haluk (the manager) will do their best to recommend restaurants, arrange for airport transfers, and generally make your stay nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberhaching, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

For a short visit to Istanbul this hotel is ideally placed close to famouse places like the Blue Mosque and the Aghia Sofia. Although the area is predominantly a tourist area with lot´s of restaurant touts lining the street, the hotel's location means that you can walk to most sights, including the old Bazar, the Bosphorus and the Egyptian Bazar, which are about 15 minutes away on foot. The Hotel itself is small, but clean and beautifull. Nice staff, very friendly and a wonderfull breakfast buffet. All in all perfect. If you stay 3 nights, they offer a complimentary transfer from and to the airport if you book direct via their homepage.

Room Tip: try to get a room with a view on the Bosporus
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

For a first visit to Istanbul this hotel is ideally placed close to the Blue Mosque and Aghia Sofia. Although the area is predominantly a tourist area with irritating restaurant touts lining the street, the hotel's location means that you can walk to most sights, including the Bosphorus which is about 15 minutes away on foot.
The hotel itself is compact with small rooms which is just as I expected for the setting. We paid a supplement for a side sea view which was OK - probably worth it in Spring/ Summer.
What I liked very much was the staff: friendly without being intrusive. We had noisy neighbours on the first night; after mentioning it to the receptionist, he spoke to the occupants and we had no further problems. My partner asked for advice on taking a Turkish Bath and the recommendation was spot on - a local place which was perfect.
The breakfast is very good indeed: large buffet and they will cook omelettes to order too.
All in all, perfect for a first visit to the city. If you haven't yet booked, it's worth noting that they offer a complimentary transfer from the airport if you book direct.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

This hotel was very old and small rooms, but good value for the price. It is in a good location near the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia and about a 10 min walk to the tram. The owner and staff were very welcoming and helpful. Our a/c did not work properly the first night and they quickly moved us to a nicer room with a better view with a/c that worked very well. After reading reviews we were a little concerned about the train tracks right behind the hotel, but found them to be a non-issue as we did not see one train the 3 days we stayed there. If you are on a budget I would definitely recommend this hotel if price is under 90 Euros. Anything over that and there are much nicer places for the price.

Room Tip: We were concerned about the train based on reviews, but we were there for 3 days and not one train...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Historia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historia Hotel

Address: Mimar Mehmet Aga Cad. Amiral Tafdil Sok. No:23 | Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#113 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#154 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Historia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historia Hotel is an excellent special class hotel in Istanbul located at the heart of the famous Old City. Istanbul Old City’s Historia Hotel has been welcoming guests from around the globe to the one of the most exciting city in the world for more than10 years. Histori Hotel puts visitors in closer proximity to everything there is to see and do in Old City and Istanbul. Historia Hotel is within easy walking distance of Old City Istanbul’s world famous celebrated historical highlights like The Blue Mosque , The Hagia Sophia , Topkapı Palace , Underground Cistern , Museum of Turkish and Islamic Art, Grand Bazaar , Egyptian Market and many shops. In less than five minutes you can walk to more than 100 restaurants. At Historia Hotel you will only minutes away to enjoy all Istanbul Old City has to over. Historia Hotel offers 27 oversized rooms, most overlooking to the Marmara Sea with magnificent sea view with balcony and terrace. Book now for an unforgettable hotel experience in Istanbul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Historia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historia Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Historia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.