We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location!...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pamphylia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Pamphylia to your Saves list
Hotel Pamphylia
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Ebu Suud Cad. No 8 | Sirkeci-Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34410, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #268 of 829 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great location!...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

Have a nice hotel location. Train and bus and ferry is very close. Very easy to reach locations like Topkapi Palace, Basilica Cistern,Turkish Islamic Art Museum, Galata Tower and Hagia Sophia. Access to all of fun area with public transportation.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    34
    19
    14
    26
See reviews for
19
41
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

Being my first trip to Istanbul, I booked the first two nights at Hotel Pamphylia in advance, based on internet information (I'm a fairly experienced traveler). I was dissaponted. The bed was hard and blankets were not very good. The shower was also very small, about one foot space against the wall. I left after the second night and found much better hotels nearby (within 2 blocks) for similar prices and service.

Room Tip: There's plenty of good hotels in the Sultanahmeth area, where most tourists go, and they are rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

Well, all I can say is beware. My wife and I booked here for three nights on the recommendation of a friend, but things certainly appear to have changed in the meantime.

First of all, we were shown to a 'large' room where the bed was pushed against the wall. We asked for a change and they obliged by taking us to the 6th floor. The bed was better situated and we accepted it as we were tired and out of options.

The room had poor electrics with exposed wires in almost every outlet. The toilet was running all the time and the air conditioner didn't work properly and even after being left on all day barely cooled the room.

The bed was hard and uncomfortable and we only had broken sleeps.

We booked out early and had to pay a higher rate because they claimed we had received preferential rates when we booked for a 3 night stay.

We paid and got out as fast as possible.

That brings me to the final complaint. They said they don't have credit card facilities, but when I said that we could only pay with a card the owner went to the machine and processed our card!! He then said that the line must be down as it wasn't working. I suggested that we try again later which we did.

We got the same response every time we tried and were told the line was down, or it was a holiday and the banks weren't working or other lame excuses. In the end we paid cash and left.

I would not recommend this hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ist-pam, Owner at Hotel Pamphylia, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
I would like to thank this guest for taking time and writing this review but, here is the real story.

First of all, we do have credit card facilities in the hotel. We, the owner, were away on holiday..They were dealing with the reception manager whole time. When they wanted to pay by credit card, they were told that credit card machine charges in Turkish Lira only. We calculate the total in TL terms and charge the card. They did not accept that. They preferred to pay by cash.
Regarding room issue, the second room they stayed was their choice. ''The bed was hard.'' well..some people like hard beds, some do not!
At the end, their Turkish friend called the hotel and said that they had something urgent happened and they have to return home.

We are here to make everbody's stay enjoyable but, somehow some people impossible which really hurts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izmir, Turkey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

Hotel is perfectly located next to all main attractions..Gulhane tram stop was next to the hotel so that we could travel conveniently with the kids..We got a huge family room which was very comfortable. Thank to all very friendly and helpfull staf..

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

Paphylia is one of the cheapest hotels out there in the heart of Sultanahmet. After speaking to a local, we had found out that other hotels nearby charge about £100-£300 per night.
The best thing about this hotel is the terrace. The rooftop terrace overlooks the Topkapi Palace musuem and there is a magnificent view of the Hagia Sophia in the night.
Please dont expect to get a five star service, you get what you pay for. The breakfast served daily are fresh bread, green and black olives, salami, cheese, cakes, eggs aswell as tea and coffee.
The only downside to the hotel is the very small toilet and showers.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auberry, CAlifornia, USA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

This hotel is located in the heart of the Old District of Istanbul, in the Sultanahmet area. Its location is excellent! The staff at the hotel is very courteous and helpful. They speak either some or quite a bit of English, depending on who's on-shift. The front desk staff helped us by looking up conversion rates, checking our flight status, and arranging for a driver to pick us up at the airport when we arrived (at no extra cost!). They balked a bit when it came to helping with overnight bus reservations, but we figured that out on our own.
The room was pretty clean but required some maintenance: the safe was not attached to the floor (meaning, it's not safe at all!) and the door on the tiny shower didn't close well, causing some water overflow. But, we didn't come to Istanbul to stay in our hotel room, so these issues were small.
Lastly, the included breakfast was nice and the rooftop terrace has stunning views of the city, especially Hagia Sofia. The hotel has wifi, too, which was a lifesaver when it came to letting the family know we had arrived and were doing well.

Room Tip: Check Euro/US$/Turkish Lira conversion ahead!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
İstanbul
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

This hotel is situated in a superb location, close enough to walk into Sultanahmet .
Hotel inside is beautifull, clean and spotless. Our room was lovely, and the bed was really comfortable. Nothing negative to say about this hotel, will definetely be returning.

Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Pamphylia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pamphylia

Address: Ebu Suud Cad. No 8 | Sirkeci-Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34410, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #268 of 829 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pamphylia 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Pamphylia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pamphylia Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pamphylia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.