We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very friendly welcoming hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Ambassador Hotel to your Saves list
Ambassador Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Divanyolu Ticarethane Sokak No: 19, Istanbul 34420, Turkey   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE ARRIVAL TRANSFER
Ranked #89 of 944 Hotels in Istanbul
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“very friendly welcoming hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

This is a lovely hotel. We stayed for three nights with our two young children. We had booked the delux room which was great for a family of four. The staff really put themselves out to welcome the children and make our stay very pleasant. There was lots of choice breakfast and views from the roof top terrace cannot be beaten. The hotel is in a fantastic location, less than a minutes walk to all the main sights. It is quiet at night because it is off a small side alley so no passing traffic. There are many restaurants/bars/ cafes surrounding the hotel and everything is in walking distance which is great when getting around with children, and if you are tired you can always pop back to the hotel for delicious cake and afternoon tea. Will definitely return again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbassadorManager, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us this lovely review.

We are looking forward to welcome you and your family back to Ambassador Hotel again soon.

Warm Regards,

Ambassador Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    193
    22
    6
    2
See reviews for
140
198
46
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Our stay at Ambassador Hotel was very comfortable and enjoyable. The breakfast was very elaborate and sumptuous, served on the top floor of the hotel, with an option to sit on the balcony outdoors with a splendid view of Bosphorous and the masjid just across the street. The hotel is very well located – just a walking distance from Blue Masjid, Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Museum, Basilica Cistern, Grand Bazar, Spice Bazar. All the main restaurants and the tourist bus stations were just steps away. The tram station was also right across the street with convenient connections to anywhere in the city. We highly recommend this hotel for tourists. We were a group of twelve with a lot of luggage and they fully honored their commitment of providing us transportation to and from the airport. We would particularly like to mention Mr. Sinan at the reception desk, who was especially courteous in taking care of all our needs and went out of his way in providing us an experience of utmost comfort and hospitality. He also gave us extremely helpful tips as first time tourists to Istanbul and was very pleasant throughout our stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbassadorManager, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for sharing this lovely description of Ambassador Hotel on Tripadvisor.

We are thrilled to read about your wonderful experience with us and hope to be able to welcome you back to Ambassador Hotel again.

Warm Regards,

Ambassador Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Not having been to turkey prior I booked rooms for my wife and our parents based on reviews on all sites. I had decent hopes and being in the Hotel Business if I pick wrong I hear about it from the family for quite a while.
Everything from initial contact with Mehmet to request adjoining rooms to walking out the airport with the shuttle driver they arranged yelling out our name was just outstanding...I have never been so impressed with a hotel and staff in my life! From Tea service for my parents while we were checking in to the management and I believe it was surzgin who was every where just when you needed something. EVERYTHING in walking distance- EVERTHING -Sophia, Blue Mosque...and the friendliest neighborhood I've seen (and I've seen many). I could go on but to sum it up if you want to literally have everything taken care of from the time you get off the plane till the time you leave stay here. Thank you all -great service value - just everything.
Dave & Suman

Room Tip: Trust these folks - the King size were excellent, but my parents had a room with three standard beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbassadorManager, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Dave & Suman,

We thoroughly enjoyed reading about your remarkable experience with us and I am so excited to know of the wonderful time you had during your stay with us. At Ambassador Hotel, we try to make each guest feel at home and comfortable with us.

Thank you for this glowing review and for recommending Ambassador Hotel to other readers. It is an honour to be considered one of your top hotel experiences and I hope that you and your family will be back to stay with us again.

Warm Regards,

Ambassador Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

we like the service very much its kind of personal service from Manager (Sinan)and all the staff but one name (Sezgin) we must mention for his outstanding services .its small but very comfortable good for family trip.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbassadorManager, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for this pleasant review.

We are glad you enjoyed your experience and looking forward to welcoming you back again in future.

Warm Regards,

Ambassador Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

It's one of the most friendly, helpful and clean hotel I have ever been!!
The stuff is incredibly nice and always with a smile, the place of the hotel perfect and very quiet!!
I really don't have something "little" bad for this hotel!! Everything was super!!
Also the massage place and hamam is nice! If you ever been in this hotel try it!! It's really relax and real Turkish massage and clean!! And the man you do it, is veryyyyyy gooood!! Zeki his name!! And he is full of positive energy!!
Go in this hotel and you will not be dissapointed!!! :)
Eva and Sofia from Athens!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbassadorManager, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Eva and Sofia,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a lovely review of your experience at Ambassador Hotel.

It is always a joy to be able to read about such wonderful experiences such as yours – a true encouragement for our efforts to create that special and memorable experience for each guest.

Thank you so much for the lovely feedback and recommendations. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Ambassador Hotel again.

Warm Regards,

Ambassador Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We would recommend the AMBASSADOR HOTEL, to anyone visiting Istanbul. It is located in the heart of Sultanahmet, with easy access to any other part of Istanbul, as the tram is just within 4 minutes walk from this lovely hotel. Breakfast is very good, and from the breakfast room you can enjoy the fantastic view of Sultanahmet area, including Hagia Sophia & The Blue Mosque. The staff is very friendly and always there ready to help. Once, you are there you must definitely experience the SPA, and have a professional message by Zeki. You will definitely unwind your senses after a long day of sightseeing or shopping. Well done to all the staff for their amazing hospitality & for making our holiday in Istanbul an unforgettable & wonderful experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbassadorManager, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for this lovely review and your kind recommendations.

It is always a joy to read about the wonderful experiences our guests have during their stay with us.

We are looking forward to welcome you back some time.

Warm Regards,

Ambassador Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeaux, France
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Thank you so very much Ambassador Hotel for a wonderful visit to your beautiful city of Istanbul. Wanda and I were completely happy in your Hotel, the lovely breakfast, the extremely comfortable and clean rooms, a fantastic Spa/massage experience with Zicky, terrific coordination of reservation with Ersin and your Assistant Manager, lovely food by your Chef, and a terrific welcoming experience by Nevzat. Please send along our thanks and congratulations for putting a very Professional team of Hospitality People together as a team. Well done.
A wonderful location, walk to everything in the Old City and will have an Istanbul experience of all you could wish for. A Very nice Breakfast on the terrace overlooking the Mosque and Hagia.

Room Tip: Communicate with email and introduce yourself, they will make you feel special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbassadorManager, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Guests,

We are truly pleased to know that your experience with us at Ambassador Hotel was a pleasant one.

Thank you for taking the time to leave us this lovely review. We hope to be able to welcome you back to Ambassador Hotel again.

Warm Regards,

Ambassador Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Address: Divanyolu Ticarethane Sokak No: 19, Istanbul 34420, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#99 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#107 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ambassador Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ambassador Hotel is a first class boutique hotel located in downtown Sultanahmet. The Hotel just a few steps away from the most historical sights (as Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia, Topkapi Palace, Museum for Turkish and Islamic Art etc.) and nice shopping facilities (as Grand and Spice Bazaar etc.). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassador Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.