We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Ambassador Hotel to your Saves list
Ambassador Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Divanyolu Ticarethane Sokak No: 19, Istanbul 34420, Turkey   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE ARRIVAL TRANSFER
Ranked #88 of 944 Hotels in Istanbul
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great location and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

My husband and I just returned from our trip to Istanbul and we both agree that when we return, we will stay at The Ambassador Hotel again. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful with your travel needs. We were welcomed with a cup of warm apple tea and showed to our room. The area that the hotel is located is very convenient and is surrounded by great restaurants, cafe's, shops, etc. Due to the great location, it is very easy to walk out the front door and spend the entire day sightseeing (Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace, Grand Bazaar). We very much enjoyed the breakfast terrace, which is one of the best parts of the hotel. I hope we can return again soon!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbassadorManager, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Guests,

We are extremely delighted to have made such a positive impression and look forward to welcoming you and your family back with us again soon.

Warm Regards,

Ambassador Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    193
    22
    6
    2
See reviews for
139
198
46
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Foxford, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed stay of 5 nights. The rooms whilst small and quite dark are spotless with everything you need inn the bathroom.
Buffet breakfast was a veritable feast. we would particularly recommend Sezgin who was always smiling and couldn't do enough for us. Have already recommended to family and friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbassadorManager, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Guests,

We appreciate your recommendation and are happy to have made your visit to Istanbul a very pleasant one.

All of us thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to welcome you back in future.

Warm Regards,

Ambassador Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WV USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I have been staying at the Ambassador hotel at least once a year from 1999 to now. It is the best place to stay both room wise and staff. The free morning breakfast is vast and so good. The free afternoon tea with all kinds of Turkish treats is a nice pick me up to your stay. The rooms are clean and nice for European hotels. It is so nice to have a Turkish bath on site. Mr. Zeki is the best at message and Turkish baths. This 21 room hotel is small enough to give that extra personal at home feel. It is so close to everything. It is in a safe area. Not down some dark street at night. Less than a block for Blue Mosque and tram that will take you to all places. You will be so happy to stay at the Ambassador.

Room Tip: Room 405 is a large room and has 3 single beds, a hot pot ,ref, shower, table and 2 chairs and dres...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbassadorManager, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are happy to have made your initial stay in Istanbul a pleasant one. Thank you for the generous compliments and for taking time to share your experiences.

All of us at the Ambassador Hotel enjoy your friendship and wish you well. Please take care till we meet again.

Warm Regards,

Ambassador Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

The hotel is great, family run, the people were friendly and would do anything for you. The room was cozy and my only small complaint was that the lighting could be more stronger so that it was easier for my wife to apply her make up. The reason the lighting is so dim is to keep the room cool.

Fanstatic roof top bar with views to die for.

Istanbul itself was OK, we did all the touristy things and saw what we wanted to see but Istanbul is very busy, very populated with lots of traffic and lots of pollution which means there is a lingering smell in the air at all times. It is also more expensive than I thought. Me and my wife would not go back but to anybody reading this and thinking of going to Istanbul then this hotel is brilliant and I would recommend it to anybody.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbassadorManager, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Guests,

We are truly pleased to know that your experience with us at Ambassador Hotel was up to your expectations.

Thank you for taking the time to leave us this lovely review.

Warm Regards,

Ambassador Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

The location is excellent, so close to anything important to visit and with a frequent and comfortable tram line stop 20 m. away
The view from the rooftop terrace is breathtaking: Blue Mosque, Aya Sofia and the sea
The buffet breakfast is excellent thanks particularly to the cooking skills and empathy of Derya
The staff is friendly and helpful
Cleaning is impeccable
What else!

Room Tip: Better having a room on the side not facing the Hotel entrance narrow alley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maltun, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are extremely delighted to have made such a positive impression and look forward to welcoming you with us again soon.

Warm Regards,

Ambassador Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Very beautiful hotel in the heart of Istanbul.
Very good service and cleanliness.
The breakfast in the terrace was wonderful and the quality too!
We spent a fantastic week end in this beautiful city!
Recommended!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maltun, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for highly recommending our hotel.

The team appreciates your positive compliments and are eagerly looking forward to welcoming you back some day.

Warm Regards,

Ambassador Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Superb hotel close to tram line in the heart of Sultanahmet. Wonderful bedrooms, power showers and excellent buffet breakfast with the benefit of extremely helpful and friendly staff. Spotlessly clean - a gem of a hotel! We've used it 3 times a year for the past 6 years! Try it! Guarantee you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maltun, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience about our hotel. We are delighted to read the positive feedback on the breakfast service and the team’s hospitality.

Once again, we appreciate your effort and have been honoured to serve you. All of us look forward to your return very soon.

Warm Regards,

Ambassador Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Address: Divanyolu Ticarethane Sokak No: 19, Istanbul 34420, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#99 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#107 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ambassador Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ambassador Hotel is a first class boutique hotel located in downtown Sultanahmet. The Hotel just a few steps away from the most historical sights (as Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia, Topkapi Palace, Museum for Turkish and Islamic Art etc.) and nice shopping facilities (as Grand and Spice Bazaar etc.). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassador Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.