We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My home away from home.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Ambassador Hotel to your Saves list
Ambassador Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Divanyolu Ticarethane Sokak No: 19, Istanbul 34420, Turkey   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE ARRIVAL TRANSFER
Ranked #94 of 924 Hotels in Istanbul
WV USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“My home away from home.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I have been staying at the Ambassador hotel at least once a year from 1999 to now. It is the best place to stay both room wise and staff. The free morning breakfast is vast and so good. The free afternoon tea with all kinds of Turkish treats is a nice pick me up to your stay. The rooms are clean and nice for European hotels. It is so nice to have a Turkish bath on site. Mr. Zeki is the best at message and Turkish baths. This 21 room hotel is small enough to give that extra personal at home feel. It is so close to everything. It is in a safe area. Not down some dark street at night. Less than a block for Blue Mosque and tram that will take you to all places. You will be so happy to stay at the Ambassador.

Room Tip: Room 405 is a large room and has 3 single beds, a hot pot ,ref, shower, table and 2 chairs and dres...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbassadorManager, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are happy to have made your initial stay in Istanbul a pleasant one. Thank you for the generous compliments and for taking time to share your experiences.

All of us at the Ambassador Hotel enjoy your friendship and wish you well. Please take care till we meet again.

Warm Regards,

Ambassador Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    183
    21
    6
    2
See reviews for
128
190
45
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

The hotel is great, family run, the people were friendly and would do anything for you. The room was cozy and my only small complaint was that the lighting could be more stronger so that it was easier for my wife to apply her make up. The reason the lighting is so dim is to keep the room cool.

Fanstatic roof top bar with views to die for.

Istanbul itself was OK, we did all the touristy things and saw what we wanted to see but Istanbul is very busy, very populated with lots of traffic and lots of pollution which means there is a lingering smell in the air at all times. It is also more expensive than I thought. Me and my wife would not go back but to anybody reading this and thinking of going to Istanbul then this hotel is brilliant and I would recommend it to anybody.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbassadorManager, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Guests,

We are truly pleased to know that your experience with us at Ambassador Hotel was up to your expectations.

Thank you for taking the time to leave us this lovely review.

Warm Regards,

Ambassador Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

The location is excellent, so close to anything important to visit and with a frequent and comfortable tram line stop 20 m. away
The view from the rooftop terrace is breathtaking: Blue Mosque, Aya Sofia and the sea
The buffet breakfast is excellent thanks particularly to the cooking skills and empathy of Derya
The staff is friendly and helpful
Cleaning is impeccable
What else!

Room Tip: Better having a room on the side not facing the Hotel entrance narrow alley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maltun, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are extremely delighted to have made such a positive impression and look forward to welcoming you with us again soon.

Warm Regards,

Ambassador Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Very beautiful hotel in the heart of Istanbul.
Very good service and cleanliness.
The breakfast in the terrace was wonderful and the quality too!
We spent a fantastic week end in this beautiful city!
Recommended!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maltun, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for highly recommending our hotel.

The team appreciates your positive compliments and are eagerly looking forward to welcoming you back some day.

Warm Regards,

Ambassador Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Superb hotel close to tram line in the heart of Sultanahmet. Wonderful bedrooms, power showers and excellent buffet breakfast with the benefit of extremely helpful and friendly staff. Spotlessly clean - a gem of a hotel! We've used it 3 times a year for the past 6 years! Try it! Guarantee you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maltun, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience about our hotel. We are delighted to read the positive feedback on the breakfast service and the team’s hospitality.

Once again, we appreciate your effort and have been honoured to serve you. All of us look forward to your return very soon.

Warm Regards,

Ambassador Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sliema
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

You could not ask for a better location in the heart of sultanahmet with all the amenities on your doorstep.
Within 5 mins walk you have Hagia Sophia, Basilica Cistern, Hippodrome, Blue Mosque and Topkapi palace. We managed to see all these sights / museums within 2 days and the location really helped us.

All around the hotel you are spoilt for choice in what to eat as restaurants are in abundance.
however most of the restaurants are selling the same cuisine, shish, doner kebabs and in my opinion the over rated 'ottoman cuisine'. All comparable prices. around 25 eur each.

The grand bazaar (big shopping area for tourists) is within 10 mins walk.

Upon check in we were greeted by 'Ersin' one of 2 hotel receptionists. Ersin was really helpful and very well informed on all questions about the area put to him. His colleague, I think 'Sisen' was also very good and we saved a lot of time and money with these guys. probably the 2 best front line staff ive ever met in hotels. well done 'Ambassador'.

I was however disappointed with the size of the rooms. We had 2, a queen bed and 1 twin size. Both rooms were of similar size but not really big enough to swing a cat. We figured seen as we were only there to sleep we would not make a big deal of it.
The rooms were kept tidy and also nice to see a safe in the room.

Breakfast on the terrace was impressive and this hotel must have one of the best views in Sultanamet overlooking the blue mosque.

The spa is in the basement and highly recommended as the prices are very good value with an array of various massages to choose from.

On departure we were given a nice box of Turkish delights plus a complimentary ride back to the airport. It was no harm in tipping the driver who took us.

All in all I would recommend this hotel on hotel friendliness, location and breakfast but not the rooms as they need to be bigger.

Room Tip: Ideally ask for a queen or king bed as those rooms tend to be slightly larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maltun, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Guests,

We appreciate your recommendation and are happy to have made your visit to Istanbul a very pleasant one.

It is nice to hear that you found the time to visit our private spa.

The Ambassador Hotel Team is sorry to hear that you have been disappointed with our room size. Since the hotel building is over 150 years old, the rooms are slightly small, but also average in Sultanahmet area. We are sure that our services and terrace view made up for it.

All of us thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to welcome you back in future.

Warm Regards,

Ambassador Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tokyo
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Initially a bit tricky to find in the myriad of back streets as Taxi's have a hard time getting up this street but it is a really short walk from the main street. It's Sultanahmet location is great for walking to many of the top sites in Istanbul and so close to the tram that getting around is a breeze. Roof top cafe for breakfast with amazing views over to Blue Mosque and Ayasofya.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maltun, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your time to write this review and are happy to have made your visit to Istanbul a very pleasant one.

All of us thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to welcome you back in future.

Warm Regards,

Ambassador Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Address: Divanyolu Ticarethane Sokak No: 19, Istanbul 34420, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#91 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#97 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ambassador Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ambassador Hotel is a first class boutique hotel located in downtown Sultanahmet. The Hotel just a few steps away from the most historical sights (as Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia, Topkapi Palace, Museum for Turkish and Islamic Art etc.) and nice shopping facilities (as Grand and Spice Bazaar etc.). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, T4B and Tingo so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassador Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.