We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend in Istanbul” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ambassador Hotel to your Saves list
Ambassador Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Divanyolu Ticarethane Sokak No: 19, Istanbul 34420, Turkey   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE ARRIVAL TRANSFER
Ranked #70 of 980 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sidney, Ohio
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Weekend in Istanbul”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Absolutely perfect location. The hotel was clean and the staff was very helpful. The rooftop terrace was a great place to relax and enjoy the view over a beer at the end of the day. We would definitely return. Walking distance to the major sights in the area and more great places to eat than you could get to in a week. My only suggestion is to have a good map of the location prior to arrival. It is about a half block off the metro line but on a small side street and has only a small sign.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbassadorManager, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments and suggestion.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Ambassador Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    210
    24
    6
    2
See reviews for
163
228
51
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Rooms clean, probably not so big for two persons but complete of whatever you need and comfortable, air conditioning works properly. Window in room. No complimentary water. If you are tall probably you will have some difficulties with the shower because the roof in my room bathroom is about 2 mts.

The terrace is beautiful, with a magnific view on Blu Mosque, Aya Sophia and the sea.

Very warm hospitality of the staff!

Fast check in/out.

A lot of good restaurant close to the hotel

Gym is very small but you can make basis exercises without problems and is always open.

Breakfast on the terrace, good choice and quality. Some drinks (ie coffee espresso/cappuccino) have to be paid.

I didn't try restaurant and massage service

I normally travel for business, airport hotels probably are more convenient to the highways but at the Ambassador Hotel you feel at home and seems to be in holiday

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbassadorManager, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for choosing our hotel as your destination for future trips to Istanbul.

Greetings from our entire team to you and your family.

Warm Regards
Ambassador Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I've been to Istanbul twice and I wouldn't stay anywhere other than the Amabassador Hotel. The location couldn't be better, within walking distance of all the major attractions and the Grand Bazaar and Spice Market. The rooftop dining area has a spectacular view of the Blue Mosque and the Hagia Sophia. Having breakfast there in the morning and a drink in the evening was very special, indeed. The staff is efficient, curteous, and quite helpful. Sezgin, who is in charge of rooftop service, is a gem. He is a delight and adored my two grandsons, age one and three. He went out of his way to provide whatever we needed. I can't speak highly enough of our experience at the Ambassador.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbassadorManager, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for writing to us about your great experience while staying with us. I will ensure to send your feedback to Sezgin. Have a great week ahead and we hope to welcome you back. Kindest Regards Ambassador Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

The Ambassador has comfortable, well-ventilated rooms with modern bathroom and a fine breakfast buffet at its rooftop restaurant, lost in the minarets of the historic Sultanahmet district.

One block from Justinian's Hagia Sophia, it's huge dome still standing after 1500 years of earthquakes, the Byzantine cistern featured in the James Bond FROM RUSSIA WITH LOVE next door, a few blocks to the Blue Mosque and the Topkapi Palace of the Sultans of the Ottoman Empire, and a few more blocks to the huge Grand Bazaar and the Arasta Bazaar as well and the Sirkeci Station where the historic Orient Express dining room opened in 1890 still waits for the discontinued Orient Express to resume its run.

It is located across the street from the most important tramline in the city which takes you from the three mile long Theodosian Wall built in the sixth century which defended Constantinople successfully for 900 years across the Galata Bridge to the downtown districts of modern Istanbul and the important ferry terminal at Kalabas. So while you are living in the most historic area, your tram can take you more speedily into the business district than any taxi. So many people try to stay at the expensive international hotels in the Taksim area, but there, you might as well be in any other international hotel in the world.

In the Ambassador one can rise and go to bed hearing the marvelous vocal competition between the muzzins of the Blue Mosque and the older 1490 built Binbirdirek mosque across the street, and the hotel has its own restaurant but is surrounded by three excellent restaurants on the same block.

The Ambassador has its own spa and can recommend several fine Turkish baths a few blocks away. It offers pick up or drop off service at Ataturk International Airport.

When you stay at The Ambassador you will find you have done more than just stay in Istanbul. You will have lived there in a safe, vibrant neighborhood, two thousand years old.

Room Tip: Don't worry about "the view." Walk outside, or go up to the Rooftop restaurant and you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbassadorManager, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for writing to us about your great experience while staying with us. Have a great week ahead and we hope to welcome you back to our hotel. Kindest Regards Ambassador Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

The Hotel is in a great location for all the historic sites in the old part of Istanbul. It is only a few minutes from the Blue Mosque. The hotel staff are very helpful with tours and general information about the locality. We stayed in a deluxe double which was great apart from not having a view! The breakfast buffet is served on the roof terrace which does have a great view of the blue mosque and the hippodrome. The food is very good with a fantastic range which should set you up for the day. We would re-book without hesitation.

Room Tip: check if room has a view if that is important to you
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbassadorManager, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your comments. We do hope to welcome you back in the near future Kindest Regards Ambassador Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minato-ku, Tokyo, Japan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I actually didn't stay at the hotel but really wanted a massage after walking everywhere in Istanbul and visiting wonderful places day in and day out. Given that I was staying in Sultahnamet I wanted somewhere in the old city and found the spa at Ambassador from other tripadvisor reviews on the hamam experience (they provide the traditional Turkish bath course which I must admit was a little uncomfortable to try because Zeki is a man, though after experiencing his massage I would give it a try the next time around). I received the "top to toe" massage, which includes 30 minutes of Indian head massage, 30 minutes of foot massage and 60 minutes of full body massage. He used mango oil. He was super professional and knowledgeable about how to give a great massage. My body felt lighter and airy after the experience. For two hours, it was only 75 Euros which is very reasonable compared to other high-end hotels. Plus the reservation process was easy and smooth. You can email them regarding reservation and follow up with a call to confirm. The staff there speaks English so no hassles! It was such a lovelyway to end my trip in Istanbul! Thank you Zeki and Ambassador!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbassadorManager, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for your reccomendation. Looking forward to see you in future.

Best Regards
Ambassador Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bamyan, Afghanistan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

The staff and location are the best attractions for this boutique hotel. As mentioned in the majority of reviews the location is very conveniently located nearby major attractions and public transport. The rooftop restaurant provides a spectacular view and the breakfast spread includes great variety and taste.
The staff in the hotel are wonderful - day in and day out they offer an exceptionally friendly, helpful, and professional service.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbassadorManager, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in future.

Best Regards
Ambassador Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Address: Divanyolu Ticarethane Sokak No: 19, Istanbul 34420, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#82 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#113 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ambassador Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ambassador Hotel is a first class boutique hotel located in downtown Sultanahmet. The Hotel just a few steps away from the most historical sights (as Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia, Topkapi Palace, Museum for Turkish and Islamic Art etc.) and nice shopping facilities (as Grand and Spice Bazaar etc.). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassador Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.