We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy hotel, very good breakfast and great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sebnem

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Istanbul
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Sebnem
Save
You added Hotel Sebnem to your Saves list
Akbiyik Cad. Adiye Sok. No:1 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34400, Turkey (Sultanahmet - Old City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #143 of 943 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cozy hotel, very good breakfast and great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

This is a small hotel on a side street in Sultanahmet. Very nice staff that were very helpful to us during our stay. They arranged transportation to and from the airport for us and moved us to a larger room which was great as we were staying a week. Some of the rooms are a bit on the small size. All were clean and well maintained. The breakfast on the terrace has a view of the water. The terrace is also great at night for a glass of wine. The main street of Sultanahmet is just half a block away and the main historical attractions are all approximately 5-10 minutes walk away. There is construction going on behind the building and if you are on that side of the building it could be noisy. We had a great time and would stay there again if we were going to spend more time in the historical sites of Istanbul. Lots of restaurants very close, and the tram was also a 10 minute walk away.
Ken Arkell

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    135
    9
    9
    6
See reviews for
85
210
29
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

After pondering a seemingly endless number of options to stay in Istanbul, we finally settled on this small, quiet hotel on a side street in Sultanahmet, within easy walking distance of Hagia Sophia, the Blue Mosque, good restaurants and terrific shopping. The hotel was clean, tastefully appointed, and the rooms somewhat larger than many in this part of town. We had a lovely breakfast served in their terrace overlooking the Bosporus and Sea of Marmara, and the staff was exceedingly gracious and helpful at all times. A bonus was a quick and convenient laundry service nearby. We are immensely pleased with our selection of this hotel, and would gladly stay here again.

Room Tip: Even though our room was conveniently located on the main floor, we had no issues with sounds as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We stayed at the hotel 3 nights in May. The location is in walking distance from the Blue Mosque, Haya Sofia, the Grand Bazaar etc. Very friendly staff, wifi working easily, nice roof top terrace with great views of the Bosporus strait. Great for breakfast and a drink in the evening. The uniquely decorated rooms, the winding corridors and a big selection of second hand books in the reception gives the place a real homely feel. Would recommend for all ages, although some people with walking difficulties might have challenges with the rather narrow stairs.

Room Tip: Ask for the double room with garden access!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Sebnem was a great find for us and we were warmly welcomed and well looked after. Yes, as many reviewers have said, the bedrooms are fairly small but they are perfectly formed and we didn't really expect otherwise in an old building in the historic centre of a city. We had a standard double which was very comfortable, had satelite TV air con and a smart on-suite. Like others we loved the pretty roof terrace, enjoying breakfast in the morning sunshine (which they serve up to 11.00am) and a G & T of an evening. The views are amazing and the coffee and freshly squeezed orange juice both first class. You couldn't ask for a better location for getting around and sight seeing and having spent some time in this fasinating city I'd definitely recommend staying in Sultanahmet. We'd read a lot of negative reports on the restaurants in this part of town being very touristy and not very good but we really didn't find that and its great to be able to walk to all the main sights or pick up a tram over to the new city or down to Eminönü where you can pick up a ferry or cruiser and take a sail on the Bosphorus or visit the spice market and Grand Bazar. Sebnem also organised our airport transfers for us. Both were on time and the drivers very safe - in a city of crazy drivers. All in all we wished we'd stayed longer!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

If you are looking to stay in the Sultanament District (near the blue mosque and aya sofia) then I suggest you stay here. No need for the upsell on the "Garden Room" - we had to stay there as they did not have any other rooms available. The Garden is nice but we did not once use it as we were out sightseeing all day. Breakfast was amazing & the staff make Lattes or Cappacinos for you as you order them- INCREDIBLE.

It was easy from here to take the tram or walk all over the city & safely find our way back too. Other places we stayed in Istanbul were loud and we were not able to sleep but this was quiet, peaceful and perfect! Highly recommend it! Great bathroom and shower too!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

We stayed a total of six nights here, at the beginning and end of our round Turkey trip. Excellent location, within easy walking distance of the main sites, a useful tram route and dozens of restaurants (recommend Aloran for a casual meal and Albura Kathisma for something a bit fancier). We were in the same room both times (18) which used to have a sea view, but unfortunately a new hotel is being built which blocks most of it. Anyway, we liked everything about this hotel, except the size of the room (not sure if others are larger). The room was clean, with a good bed and a good (small) bathroom. The roof terrace is a really nice area at any time of day – open from breakfast until midnight. Breakfasts were the best we had in our three weeks in Turkey with fresh orange juice, espresso coffee, a selection of breads and pastries and the usual Turkish breakfast ingredients. The staff were all very helpful and service oriented (not always the norm in Turkey), particularly Mr 'Capuccino' who makes great coffee and runs the rooftop terrace/bar until midnight.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

This was our third stay at Sebnem and it always fits our needs perfectly. The staff is very friendly and helpful.. and always seem to have a smle.
We love the rooftop terrace and this time we were able to spend a little extra time relaxing and enjoying the view. The breakfast is excellent with many homebaked goods.
They also made us a bagged breakast for when we had to catch a early flight. Unexpected but so nice. Great Turkish hospitality.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sebnem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sebnem

Address: Akbiyik Cad. Adiye Sok. No:1 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet - Old City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#116 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#130 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sebnem Hotel is a 15 room, tastefully decorated, well kept hotel in the heart of the old historical principals such as The Blue Mosque, The Saint Sophia, The Topkapi Palace, Underground Cistern etc. All rooms are equipped with private bathroom , 24 hours hot water and direct dial phone. Fully air-conditioned rooms. Continental breakfast is served on the terrace where you can enjoy the panoramic view of Marmara Sea. Recommended by many principal guide books. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sebnem Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sebnem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.