We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Treasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Deluxe Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Deluxe Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel to your Saves list
Deluxe Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Binbirdirek Mah. Binbirdirek Meydani Sok. No. 1 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #216 of 980 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Maitland, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Hidden Treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We made a quick decision to stay here August '13 with no time to research. What a find! We chose the Deluxe Double room, beautifully decorated, and we were delighted to have private balcony with amazing views of the old city including Hagia Sophia. Most importantly. a great bed, 1st class service, lovely afternoon teas, and great location. Very quiet, with parklands at front door, yet only 200 mtrs to bustling main street, transport and Grand Bazaar. Many thanks to staff who were very attentive to our comfort. Highly recommended! K Burke

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina Tamara K, Guest Relations Manager at Deluxe Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Deluxe Golden Horn Hotel.

We are glad that you are happy with quality of service in our hotel.

Hope to see you back again soon in beautiful Istanbul.

Kind regards,
Tina & Tamara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    160
    53
    17
    14
See reviews for
104
202
31
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Located right in the centre of town. The hotel room was incredible, beautifully decorated. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was delicious, and the restaurant is located on the roof, which has spectacular views over Istanbul. This view was definitely the highlight! Would recommend to all...

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina Tamara K, Guest Relations Manager at Deluxe Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for visiting our hotel! it was a great pleasure to meet you and provide you with high quality service. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. It keeps us motivated!

We hope to welcome you to our hotel again and again.

Best regards,
Tina & Tamara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vitoria, ES
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Kind of an adapted palace. Classic turkish decor with many gold details, good staff, good bed and bathrooms and a perfect breakfast view to the blue mosque.
Really nice location, you can go walking to the all turistic places at old city Sultanahmet.
Recomended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina Tamara K, Guest Relations Manager at Deluxe Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for taking time to write a positive review about our hotel. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and are very grateful for your nice and detailed feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Deluxe Golden Horn Hotel on your next visit to Istanbul.

Kind regards,
Tina & Tamara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

I spent 4 days there the last summer and everything was just perfect!. The staff is really friendly and helpull. You get to go to many places on foot. It is a calm region however in a couple of minutes you find yourself in the middle of all the top places. I did also like the garden in front of the hotel. So relaxing especially at dawn. The breakfast in the terrace was amazing. Perfect dishes and perfect view. It was good that you could stay in the air conditioned area and still be able to enjoy the view. I definately recommend it but make sure to get a room in the upper floors to get the best view :)

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina Tamara K, Guest Relations Manager at Deluxe Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the entire staff here at Deluxe Golden Horn Hotel, we would like to thank you for taking time to write such a positive review about your stay at our beautiful hotel.

You nice comments about our hotel and staff add motivation to our performance to meet and exceed our guests' expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Deluxe Golden Horn Hotel on your next visit to Istanbul.

Best regards,
Tina & Tamara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Terrific location with a truly terrific staff. My ornate room was on the third floor with a view of the park (decent) but every morning and twice very late at night I found myself at the Terrace Cafe which has a splendid view. The breakfast is ample with all items sweet and savory and an impressive selection of baked goods. Fresh squeezed orange juice is at an extra cost. The hotel is situated in walking distance to all the major sites, the Grand Bazaar, Cemberlitas Hamam, the Blue Mosque, Basilica Sistern, even the Spice Bazaar. The Sultanahmet tram stop is right down the street making it easy to get over to the European side. The ease of location is a real plus but I can't overstate how wonderful the staff was to me and my friends. They are personable, helpful, warm and inviting - and made my stay all the more special. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina Tamara K, Guest Relations Manager at Deluxe Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the Golden Horn Hotel team we would like to thank you for staying at our hotel. We are very grateful for your positive feedback and look forward to welcoming you back . We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.
We would also like to thank you for sharing the pictures! They look beautiful.

Best Regards,
Tina & Tamara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Not to be confused by another hotel by the same name, also in the old city of sultanahmet. The other hotel is more costlier by 3 times and is in Sirkeci.

This hotel is in Sultanahmet - Location is great and its an easy walk to all the attractions of the old city - The Grand Bazaar, The Spice Bazaar and the Galata Bridge. Breakfast is on the roof top with views of the Galata Bridge. (Breakfast views from the other hotel in Sirkeci is Blue Mosque and much better).

Rooms are small, a bit cramped but clean. The Bathrooms are also small. But its well worth the money you are paying.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor to avoid the street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina Tamara K, Guest Relations Manager at Deluxe Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear guest,

On behalf of the entire staff here at Deluxe Golden Horn Hotel, we would like to thank you for taking time to write a review about your stay at our beautiful hotel.
I have to tell you that we do have a wonderful view of the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia from our rooms and rooftop terrace. It's one of the best views in the old city. We think there is some misunderstanding here.
We hope to welcome you back in the nearest future!

Kind regards,
Tina and Tamara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferney-Voltaire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

The hotel’s location is ideal: in Sultanahmet area (old part of Istanbul). Almost all top sites of Istanbul are reachable by foot, (e.g., the Big Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Cistern Basilica, a stone’s throw away!). We had a room in the upper floors (511) with what might be one of the most splendid views in Istanbul: Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, and then the Bosphorus behind – night and day pure bliss. (Better check that you have the right room in your reservation). The whole staff was very friendly, helpful and professional. The room itself looked 4-star-hotel in the first moment, with baroque ornaments. However, the small bathroom was not at all up to this class (the washbowl part looking very cheap, toilet paper holder lose; and it was not top clean, black traces of fungi around the shower). The size of our room was acceptable so far. The breakfast buffet (esp. with typical Turkish dishes) was very good – but extra charge for fresh pressed orange juice is quite unfair for a 4-star hotel. The hotel should also make sure that the shuttle system working for the hotel be more reliable as to the schedule, in particular when you have to leave to the airport very early.
Altogether: really friendly staff, magnificent location but bathrooms should be urgently refurbished..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina Tamara K, Guest Relations Manager at Deluxe Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for taking time to write a positive review about our hotel. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and are very grateful for your nice and very detailed feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Deluxe Golden Horn Hotel on your next visit to Istanbul.

Kind regards,
Tina & Tamara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Deluxe Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deluxe Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel

Address: Binbirdirek Mah. Binbirdirek Meydani Sok. No. 1 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#86 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#120 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#133 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#161 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Deluxe Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel is a 7 floor modern building with a large lobby area and garden. Located in the heart of historical peninsula Golden Horn Sultanahmet represent the traditional Turkish hospitality melted with comfort and pleasure. Golden Horn Sultanahmet takes its name from the unique place of the Bosphorus; Golden Horn. The Halic (Golden Horn), Bosphorus and Marmara Sea where Istanbul is feeling proud of being Istanbul now and before. Has gradually spread out to the fırther distances from the same historical peninsula, with echoing songs through the history. We invite to Sultanahmet put the crown of Istanbul on. The song will lead the way for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Deluxe Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Horn Sultanahmet Istanbul
Hotel Golden Horn Sultanahmet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deluxe Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.