We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“From "Hobbit" room to the Disabled room” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel to your Saves list
Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Binbirdirek Mah. Binbirdirek Meydani Sok. No. 1 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #224 of 943 Hotels in Istanbul
Zug, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“From "Hobbit" room to the Disabled room”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

What a disaster!! Unfriendly stuff and unfriendly welcome (served orange juice doesnt replace a friendly smile at welcome). First we have got a "hobbit room" - means roof with max. height at 1.73m, which is critical for any person taller than that. In addition: double room with 140cm bed. As I said: for hobbits! As my husband is 1.88m we complained and were transferred to a lobby room, across the kitchen. We realized that the room is for disabled people (in a wheelchair), which would have been ok, if the bathroom wouldnt have been fully flooded after taking a shower! In addition the bathroom was not very clean. Everywhere you could find redish-black spots in the corners (classical fungi).The rooms dont have curtains so everybody could have a look from the parking into the room. Absolutely NO_GO for a 4Star-Hotel, even in a stadard room. Friends have booked the Hotel for us, believing as it will be amazing, but unfortunately it simply wasnt! The only "nice to mention thing" is the roof-top, BUT there are many more hotels in the area with such a roof-top and it doesnt replace the a clean room! NEVER AGAIN Golden HORN!

Room Tip: Dont choose any room in this unfriendly hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina Tamara K, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your comment. We would like to apologize for inconveniences caused. we are working on improving the presentation and the content. We hope you will visit us again and give us an opportunity to provide you with a better service.

Kind regards,
Tina & Tamara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    149
    49
    16
    14
See reviews for
92
187
29
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This hotel is perfect for the sights of the old city and not far from the tram. We had a good room; not massive but ornate in design. Staff 100%, and the best bit is the terrace restaurant which has amazing views of the city as you have breakfast or evening meal. One point though they don't serve alcohol; so if you're looking to drink eat elsewhere..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina Tamara K, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the entire staff here at Deluxe Golden Horn Hotel, we would like to thank you for taking time to write a positive review about your stay at our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Deluxe Golden Horn Hotel on your next visit to Istanbul.

Thank you for uploading the photos, they look beautiful!

Best Regards,
Tina & Tamara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The first floor bedrooms seem to have been created on a mezzanine or borrowed space from the ground floor. Our room had a low ceiling which you could easily touch and dreadful lighting and small window. Ironically at night the curtains were translucent and let in light from the hotel's own outside lighting. The air conditioning was essential but very noisy. I suspect the rooms on other floors were better. Apart from the room the hotel was excellent. Courteous helpful staff, great position, attractive if oddly decorated lobby, and good breakfast served on a rooftop terrace with exceptional views.

Room Tip: Don't take a first floor room. Ask for a high floor and a view. Mind you we did that and it got...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina Tamara K, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the Golden Horn Hotel team we would like to thank you for staying at our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Deluxe Golden Horn Hotel on your next visit to Istanbul. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our beautiful hotel and are very grateful for your nice and detailed feedback.
We would like to apologize for inconvenience caused.

Best Regards,
Tina & Tamara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

As a first time visitor to Istanbul, this hotel was well situated for walking, easy access to all the sites in Sultanhamet district, and the best hotel concierge staff I have experienced in a oversees location. Room was nice size and well appointed, but bathroom was small for two persons. Roof top terrace is best feature for view of city, especially Hagia Sophia and Blue Mosque. Only improvement is breakfast - good food, but poor coffee, juice and fruit. For a four star hotel in a country with great food, I expected better and it wouldn't take much for improvement. Would definitely stay here again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina Tamara K, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Deluxe Golden Horn Hotel.

We are glad that you are happy with quality of service in our hotel.

Hope to see you back again soon in beautiful Istanbul.

Kind regards,
Tina & Tamara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

It was the first stay of our honeymoon trip and we reached there about an hour and half before the check in time. Upon arrival we were greeted with smiling women at the reception desk with cherry juice and traditional Turkish dessert dipped in castor sugar. They were awesome. The hotel is located right in the city centre and takes about 4 mins to reach the Blue Mosque or the Hagia Sophia or the city centre, everything is at a stone's throw distance, cafe and park and tram station everything. The view from the terrace, where the breakfast is served in the morning, is breath taking with the Bosphorous and Blue mosque, Hagia Sophia and the skyline of the city. We are both vegetarians and there are no labels on the buffet as to which of the dishes in the lavish breakfast spread were vegetarian (Mention: No meat and NO FISH) and which not. The rooms are very well decorated and ours had a view of the Blue Mosque. We did find the bathroom to be very small but neat and tidy. The staff is extremely courteous and helpful except for an old man on the night shift during out stay. He was rude and non-cooperative. Otherwise there are no negatives about the hotel or the services provided.

Room Tip: Higher floor and facing the blue mosque or the bosphorous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina Tamara K, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the entire staff here at Deluxe Golden Horn Hotel, we would like to thank you for taking time to write such a positive review about your stay at our beautiful hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Deluxe Golden Horn Hotel on your next visit to Istanbul.
You nice comments about our hotel and staff add motivation to our performance to meet and exceed our guests' expectations.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our beautiful hotel and are very grateful for your nice and very detailed feedback.

Kind regards,
Tina & Tamara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton le Sands, null, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

This hotel was the best hotel I've ever stayed so far! It had everything you could want :D Lets start with the staff.
1) The staff at this hotel were extremely helpful and friendly! Whenever you need them, they will be there as quick as a flash!
2) The view, The view of these rooms are EXCELLENT. They are beautiful! My room had the view of the Blue Mosque and the Hagia Sophia!
3) Free coffee and tea! They will serve free coffee and tea if you go down to the lobby! Good way to get leftovers of breakfast!
4) BREAKFAST. The view on the terrace is OUTRAGEOUS. It is amazing! It will give you the view of the Asian side and the European side!
5) Location. The location is excellent. It is just 5 minutes away from the Blue mosque, Hagia Sophia and Grand Bazaar! Three excellent tourist places! It is located in SultanAhmet where you can eat and buy anything! I WILL NEVER FORGET THIS HOTEL.
BEDS WERE SUPER COMFY BY THE WAY!
Special thanks to: Tamara, Tina, Orhan, Nuri and Sami! (Staff of hotel)

Room Tip: If your looking for a good room, always go on the higher floors so that you have less A/C unit noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina Tamara K, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the Golden Horn Hotel team we would like to thank you for staying at our hotel. We are very grateful for your positive feedback and look forward to welcoming you back . We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

Best Regards,
Tina & Tamara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

As regular visitors to Istanbul we know the Sultanahmet area pretty well and think this hotel's top floor restaurant has the best all encompassing view of the Istanbul skyline that you'll find. It's not cheap but compares favourably with other hotels in its class - and its location is ideal for getting to the main sights. It's also quiet as it faces Binbirdirek Park (built over a dry Byzantine underground cistern). We stayed for four days and our room on the 6th floor had a great view from its private balcony, ideal for relaxing with a drink after a hard day's sightseeing. The décor may not be to everyone's taste (heavy on drapes, tassels and gold lame) but our room was very comfortable and had a good size bathroom with an efficient shower and lots of hot water. The rooms have a minibar and tea making facilities but we had to specifically ask for instant coffee and powdered milk. Bottled water was provided free each day. We thought the buffet breakfast offered a good variety of Turkish and "international" food, and we found the staff responsive and helpful. We will seriously consider staying here again next time we're in Istanbul.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 6th (top) floor have private balconies giving wonderful views of Aya Sophia, Topkapi Pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina Tamara K, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the Golden Horn Hotel team we would like to thank you for staying at our hotel. We are very grateful for your positive feedback and look forward to welcoming you back . You nice comments about our hotel and staff add motivation to our performance to meet and exceed our guests' expectations. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.


Best Regards,
Tina & Tamara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel

Address: Binbirdirek Mah. Binbirdirek Meydani Sok. No. 1 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#88 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#129 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#139 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#206 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel is a 7 floor modern building with a large lobby area and garden. Located in the heart of historical peninsula Golden Horn Sultanahmet represent the traditional Turkish hospitality melted with comfort and pleasure. Golden Horn Sultanahmet takes its name from the unique place of the Bosphorus; Golden Horn. The Halic (Golden Horn), Bosphorus and Marmara Sea where Istanbul is feeling proud of being Istanbul now and before. Has gradually spread out to the fırther distances from the same historical peninsula, with echoing songs through the history. We invite to Sultanahmet put the crown of Istanbul on. The song will lead the way for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Horn Sultanahmet Istanbul
Hotel Golden Horn Sultanahmet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.