We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms are not smoke free. They do not enforce. Very load music from terrace and no consideration to the cudtomer” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Troya Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Troya Hotel to your Saves list
Troya Hotel
Tepebasi, Mesrutiyet Caddesi. No 45 | Beyoglu, Istanbul 80050, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #427 of 943 Hotels in Istanbul
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Rooms are not smoke free. They do not enforce. Very load music from terrace and no consideration to the cudtomer”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012 via mobile

I will not stay at this hotel. Very load music and the rooms are not smoke free as they claim

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    48
    22
    7
    5
See reviews for
16
26
12
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
cairo
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

I have stayed for 4 nights in Troya during April 2012. Room size is acceptable, new furnished and clean.
The hotel is very close to the Istiklal Street.
We have an early check in and we asked to replace the check out day breakfast with the check in date and they confirmed with pleasure.
Also hotel arranged both transfers (arrival and departure) with reasonable price 25 EUR per way for 4 persons and 35 EUR for 6 persons.
Internet was wireless and free. The stuff was very helpful and always smiling they can speak English and Arabic. Breakfast is nice.

Room Tip: I asked for back room to be more quite and bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012 via mobile

A very nice Hotel in the Centre of Beyoglu Quarter. Fifteen minutes by walk to Galata Tower, or Taksim Square. A the top of the Hotel (8th floor) there is the restaurant and breakfast hall....really wonderful to have your breakfast looking for the city landscape with the different golden top of the Mosques under the sun. Friendly service. Clean rooms. The restaurant is also good, and during the week end offers musical turkish or mediterranean musical shows....a little bit too loud...The breakfast, in continental style, is very good. At the ground floor there is a nice bar. Out of the Hotel, on the right side, there is a nice Thai restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

The location of the hotel is really great, very close to the istiklal street where all the shops and the restaurants are. The only draw back is that the rooms are small so if u can afford it upgrade to a suite which is relatively cheaper than in other hotels.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
egypt
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

go there u will never regret,the room is too small so dont go with children per example,otherwise,it is great,the location is perfect 1 mn walking to istiklal street,the room is very clean,modern,comfortable,go there and you will enjoy your breakfast on the roof it is really delecious

Room Tip: try to get a room with window on the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

stayed there for 5n on an internet offer which got me a small room with a window only into the hole in the middle of the building as mentioned in previous reviews. despite being small the room was nice, with a minibar and a clean bathroom. there was noise from the corridor at night, waking me up sometimes. breakfast on the roof terrace was very good with nice views. even though there was a table on which to lay a laptop, there was no proper chair at all. this was slightly annoying. gym and pool(??) were under renovation, hardly surprising for the price.

internet was wireless and free, but went through a very annoying gateway which required keeping the login tab open all the time, otherwise the connection was dropped. there was already a password for the wifi connection, is it really necessary to have the guests login via the gateway? or is it for some religious police supervision? re: location, one block off istiklal the crowded pedestrian street. coming back from metro station in the afternoon and evening took almost 30min due to having to plough trough the mass of humans. but for attractions of beyoglu it was very convenient. nothing really to say about the staff - they were not rude but not nice (e.g. smiles, hellos) either, english was sub-par. but i found it good value for money anyway, having booked it on the last possible minute.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

I stayed here with a couple of friends in May, 2011. We booked this hotel because we wanted to be close to beyoglu/taksim and this was the cheapest option I could find ($145/night for a triple room). I didn't expect much given the price, but boy were we surprised! The hotel is off a small side street from Istikal street which was perfect for us. Istikal street and all the action is within a short 2 min walk from the hotel but being in a side street helped keep the noise away at night.

The room we stayed in appeared recently refurbished. I've stayed in hundreds of hotels (as a tourist and business traveller), but never seen anything nearly as modern as the Troya room. Everything was touch screen (switches, a/c control, etc) including the elevator buttons. TV was LCD. Bathroom was fabulous - very clean and modern and with running hot and cold water. Shower had 2 shower heads - one was a pull out/hand held shower and another was an overhead rain shower.

Service was excellent. I don't remember the names of the gentlemen at the reception but there were two - one in the day shift and another in the evening shift. The day shift guy was especially helpful and both speak excellent English.

General guidelines -
1. My buddies arrived before me and took a cab from the airport to the hotel. It cost them 45 lira. I took Havas bus from the airport to the Taksim square (10 lira) and then a cab from Taksim to the hotel (told the cabbie Tepebashi as he didn't know Troya). The cab cost an additional 10 lira (I think more like 5 but the guy asked for 10).

2. To go to Sultanahmet, you have 3 options -
- walk - takes about 30 mins and not really recommended.
- take a train to Taksim square and catch another train to Sultanahmet - not recommended but this was the initial option that the reception gave us.
- walk to Tophane station (10 min) and then catch a train from there (1.5 lira). We did this and it was the best option in my opinion.

Room Tip: Ask for a room towards the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Troya Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Troya Hotel

Address: Tepebasi, Mesrutiyet Caddesi. No 45 | Beyoglu, Istanbul 80050, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #427 of 943 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Troya is a 77-room located in the popular city center of Istanbul, Beyoglu-Taksim area, just 100 meters walk from Istiklal street. The hotel has been in service since 1988, and recently renovated in 2011. All rooms include bath with shower, individually controlled air-condition, LCD satellite TV, kettle, wireless internet access and minibar. Free breakfat is served at the terrace overlooking the city view. The hotel offers airport transfer with a minibus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Troya Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Troya Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Troya Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.