We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just as great the second time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Orient Hostel International

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Orient Hostel International to your Saves list
Orient Hostel International
Akbiyik Cad. No 9 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34400, Turkey   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 850 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Sofia, Bulgaria
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Just as great the second time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

After staying at the Orient once, I decided that whenever I made my way back to Istanbul, I wouldn't stay anywhere else. We booked ahead online and got an unexpected free upgrade when we checked in from the 30-bed dorm to a 6-bed dorm. It was really nice.

The staff is nice and super helpful and the location is just perfect- situated right in the middle of Haggia Sophia, the Blue Mosque, Topkapa Palace, and the sea- the rooftop patio is perfect at night (well, anytime of day, really). Free breakfast is a plus, too!

I'd totally recommend this hostel to anyone.

Room Tip: The street scene can get a little loud, so if you need peace and quiet while you sleep, go for a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    86
    20
    14
    9
See reviews for
16
49
107
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

The Orient is a hostel, not a resort hotel, but for a hostel it was awesome! The staff were friendly and helpful! The bar was great and supper cheap! Staff kept the bathrooms really clean and we did not have any trouble with noise or anything like that.

The breakfast was simple but awesome! Hard boiled eggs, yogurt, granola, cereal, fried bread (similar to French toast). The also had a pretty sweet Nescafé machine that would make cappuccinos!

The location was great! Super accessible to everything you want to see in the "Old City"

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I stayed on my own, and felt really comfortable and safe at this hostel. It's really easy to find, staff are friendly and helpful, great roof terrace for drinks, clean, no hassle....... everything you could want from a hostel! I'd definitely stay here again if I came back to Istanbul.

Room Tip: I hear that rooms at the front are noisy. I stayed in a 6 bed dorm on my own at the back for 5 night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed at this hostel for 6 nights. We definitely saved a lot of money on the room. It is clean and simple. Only negatives is that it is Loud at night. We stayed in suite for 2 people with our own bathroom. Other people from nearby rooms came to the room late and slam doors and it is loud. Also I was awaken by cats fighting and morning prayers calling at nearby mosque.
Breakfast is just OK but not great.
However it is cheap so we cannot complain too much. We get what we pay for. Staff is very nice though as well as bartender.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The Orient Hostel is unpretentious but runs efficiently with friendly staff. Unlikle most hostels and bars in the district its staff are paid a set wage so do not spend their time badgering you to buy extra drinks or meals, although these are always on offer. Sleeping at the front of the building can be made difficult until 1am or later due to noise from the house bar or other bars in the street, but rooms at the back are much quiter. Staff are friendly, rooms and facilities clean, and the roof-top views some of the best available. Generally a great, safe and convenient place to stay.

Room Tip: Choose a room at teh back of th building. Rooms with en suite are much large if that matters to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I have to say I had the most magical time staying at The Orient.  I was there for almost 3 weeks and in all aspects it top my expectations.  The staff are extremely hospitable and accommodating. The rooms are clean and comfortable albeit basic.  The hostel is situated right in the middle of two of Istanbul`s main cultural icons The Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia and is central to all amenities  The price of the rooms are competitive working out at around £10 per night for a bed in the dormitory, these prices includes breakfast too.  Travelling on a budget is totally doable in Turkey but first stop ought to be The Orient.

Room Tip: Summertime the street are heaving so if you want quiet I`d suggest a room at the back of the buildin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Location it's perfect, right between where all the nightlife is. The bar and restaurant at the hostel was also great. Good food, fun atmosphere, great service. The people that work at this hostel are friendly and are happy to make recommendations on what to do and where to go. We were ther in winter so the terrace was closed, but we saw it and it looks like it would be a lot of fun in the summer.

Room Tip: They have private rooms with private bathrooms too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Orient Hostel International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orient Hostel International

Address: Akbiyik Cad. No 9 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 850 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Orient Hostel is situated on the hillside in Sultanahmet, located a few minutes walk from tourist favourites Topkapi Palace, The Blue Mosque and Haghia Sophia. The Orient offers clean accommodation ranging from dorm rooms to private rooms with either shared or private bathrooms. Our attentive and helpful staff, make you welcome with a friendly atmosphere and fun belly-dancing and water-pipe (hookah) nights in the terrace café-restaurant during the high season ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Orient Hostel International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orient Hostel International Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orient Hostel International, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.