We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Orient Express Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Orient Express Hotel to your Saves list
Orient Express Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hudavendigar Caddesi no 24, Sirkeci, Fatih,, Istanbul 34120, Turkey   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #53 of 979 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great location, great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The Orient Express is located within walking distance of nearly every major attraction - Hagia Sophia, the Blue Mosque, Topkapi, the Spice Market and the ferry - and for attractions that are further away, the tramway stop is only a 3 minute walk from the hotel. Unbeatable location. The staff was extremely kind and helpful, but not overbearing, especially when we checked in at 11 pm after a long flight. We chose to be picked up at the airport, which is offered by the hotel, and the driver gave us a short tour around the Hagia Sophia and Blue Mosque, all lit up at night. Our room was not very large but clean and well heated. The buffet breakfast was a little on the plain side, but the in-room electric teapot and assortment of teas more than made up for it. We did not use the swimming pool because we did not have any swimsuits, but the pool looked great. We got a personalized letter from management, with a warm welcome and a few discount coupons. All in all, a great 3-star hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back should be quiet - the tramway drives by the front all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sirkecigroup, Owner at Orient Express Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guest
I am Faruk Boyacı, the owner of the Orient Express Hotel;
I would like to thank you for the nice words and for sharing your experience;
All the staff sends you the warmest regards and we all hope to see you soon again;
Best wishes from Istanbul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    946
    468
    49
    4
    3
See reviews for
296
687
97
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We booked via ebookers but had a question for the hotel, this was the start of the wonderful service the team here give. I not only had my question answered promptly but was sent a list of useful links to things to do and see in the area. We booked in advance for the restaurant and sorted out transfers with the minimum of bother. Transport was waiting when we arrived and we were welcomed like friends.
The hotel itself is very comfortable, immaculately clean, and well situated. Breakfast was very good and the other half thought the pool area was amazing. The Imbat restaurant is something else but that is another review. Thanks for a lovely stay,

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sirkecigroup, Owner at Orient Express Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guest
I would like to thank you for your review about our hotel on tripadvisor;
We are all delighted to know how much you enjoyed your stay
Hope to host you again soon
Best wishes from Orient Express Family
Faruk Boyacı
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed three nights at the Orient Express. The location is superb because it is right in the middle of the city and all the key locations are within walking distance.
A great rooftop restaurant...but make reservations.
Only drawback is that it is right on the tram line and so it can get noisy in the mornings especially if you plan to sleep in late.
The staff is very helpful and always smiling. Great attitude and service.
There is a personalized letter from the owner in the room with his personal mobile number if you want to complain directly. This is was a good touch.

Room Tip: Choose the higher floors as the sound from the tram can be a nuisance
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sirkecigroup, Owner at Orient Express Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guest
I am Faruk Boyacı, the owner of the Orient Express Hotel;
I would like to thank you for the nice words and for sharing your experience;
All the staff sends you the warmest regards and we all hope to see you soon again;
Best wishes from Istanbul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This is a very nice hotel, not that big (making it more personal), ubiquation is very good close to old town top attractions. At the time we stayed there the hotel restaurant "Imbat" was ranked no 1 in Istanbul on tripadvisor. There is an indoor pool, which is not very big, but on the other hand not so frequented. The staff working in the hotel are very nice and it is obvious that the hotel "specializes" in giving great service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sirkecigroup, Owner at Orient Express Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guest
I would like to thank you for your review about our hotel on tripadvisor;
We are all delighted to know how much you enjoyed your stay
Hope to host you again soon
Best wishes from Orient Express Family
Faruk Boyacı
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I cannot say enough great things about the staff at this hotel. They are so welcoming & friendly words really can't express how amazing they are. Upon check in, we received a letter from the owner of the hotel with his personal cell phone on it in case of any issues. Needless to say there were NONE. This hotel is in a great location & the staff can guide you anywhere you need to go. Amazing rooftop restaurant with amazing food & drinks and again the best wait staff. Upon our return we received another personal email from the hotel which made me love them even more, there really is no better place to stay for the value!

"Dear Lindsey, Joann and Ashley
I hope you are very well and got back safely.
I would like to say on behalf of Orient Express family that we are really happy to meet and host you. I hope you enjoyed your stay at Orient Express. It is a pleasure to meet with you.

If you have any complain or suggestion about our hotel please let me know.
Your feedbacks are very precious and will be helpful to improve our service.

Please let me know your upcoming trips to Istanbul or Turkey, I will be glad to assist you.

Hope to see you again.
Greetings,
Loreta
Guest relations"

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sirkecigroup, Owner at Orient Express Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guest
I am Faruk Boyacı, the owner of the Orient Express Hotel;
I would like to thank you for the nice words and for sharing your experience;
All the staff sends you the warmest regards and we all hope to see you soon again;
Best wishes from Istanbul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I visited Istanbul with my wife in early September. We were transferred to Orient Express from the neighbouring hotel that was apparently overbooked. Transition was effortless, price remained the same and our room was apparently upgraded. Rooms are cozy and extremely tidy - as is the whole hotel. Beds are comfortable, swimming pool area well kept and spacious, restaurants well above the average level of those in Europe in general and the hotels theme of the Orient Express -train a nice personal touch lifting this hotel above the masses. Personnel is extremely friendly and are willing to go the extra mile to make the stay a notch better. We spent the four days we were in Istanbul rummaging around the various historical sites the city has to offer. Orient Express was a peaceful haven amidst the very vibrant city. We must have walked 30-40 km's per day, we asked the staff on tips for relaxing and they suggested and booked for us a very pleasurable hamam from Neorion, a hotel belonging to the same Sirkeci hotel chain.
Should i ever happen to visit the magnificent town of Istanbul again, im sure to book a room from Orient Express. And in doing so i am securing that one important element of a successfull holiday is in place.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sirkecigroup, Owner at Orient Express Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guest
I am Faruk Boyacı, the owner of the Orient Express Hotel;
I would like to thank you for the nice words and for sharing your experience;
All the staff sends you the warmest regards and we all hope to see you soon again;
Best wishes from Istanbul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Great customer service from all the staff, fabulous breakfast with huge variety, clean and comfortable rooms, appreciated the Turkish Delight candies placed in our rooms and the feather pillow I requested. Convenient to all the sights and right on the tram line. Dinner in the Imbat Restaurant on the Rooftop was excellent and pretty view.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sirkecigroup, Owner at Orient Express Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
My Dearest Guest
Firstly I would like to thank you for your review for Orient Express Hotel.
Your words brought us thorough happiness.
It is very important for us that our guests leave the hotel completely satisfied.
As guest is everything for us, reading this nice words make us each day prouder of what we do.
We will be very happy to host you again at Orient Express Family next time you will visit Istanbul.
Kind regards
Faruk Boyacı
Owner of the hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Orient Express Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orient Express Hotel

Address: Hudavendigar Caddesi no 24, Sirkeci, Fatih,, Istanbul 34120, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#36 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#63 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Orient Express Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Orient Express Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orient Express Istanbul
Hotel Orient Express
Orient Express Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orient Express Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.