We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff, Great Location, Amazing Terrace” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ararat Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ararat Hotel to your Saves list
Ararat Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Torun Sok. No:3 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #413 of 945 Hotels in Istanbul
SASKATOON
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Staff, Great Location, Amazing Terrace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

We loved our stay at the Hotel Ararat during a trip to Istanbul in July. The folks that worked at the hotel were terrifically friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and creative, with walls painted differently in the various rooms. The Terrace was a huge highlight -- its views of the Blue Mosque and the water are amazing and the environment lends itself to chatting with fellow guests & travellers. Location is ideal, especially if you want to be based in Sultanahmet. The rooms all have AC and the hotel is equipped with WiFi + a computer for guests. Breakfast is included.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    61
    26
    17
    17
See reviews for
28
83
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

The hotel is small and very friendly. The rooms are eccentrically decorated but a little small. It's no problem, but you do have to be well organised. All the staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was lovely. And best of all, the view from the terrace would be hard to beat. Take ear plugs for the early call to prayer.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011 via mobile

Stayed here in April 2011 for 3 days. You cannot beat the location in the shadow of the blue mosque, a 5 min walk to all the major sights, restaurants, etc. Rooms are small but clean with individual character. Breakfast on the terrace every morning is delicious. Haydar and his staff are helpful informative and make you feel like family guests at their home. Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2011

Dear Haydar Sarıgül

We would like to say that we had a wonderful time in Istanbul. Really I have to say two weeks in Istanbul was one of the most interesting and best holiday trips I have ever experienced. Staying at the Ararat Hotel was fantastic. The location simply could not have been better. The food and service was excellent. Very clean. Interesting artistic rooms.
What really made it a pleasure was your staff. All your staff were very helpful 'Sunman', Inna, 'Jhad' (sorry if I can't spell you names), courteous , patient and special thanks to Inna for the lovely breakfasts. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend your Hotel (well in fact we have) and hope to come back.

A big thank-you to all.

Elaine and Elgar

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

Very hospitable, very friendly service, very good breakfast, nice, clean rooms, small, but sufficient, with modern bathrooms; free WiFi; an agreeable common room on the top floor with terraces overlooking the Bosphore and the Blue Mosque; an ideal resort for wonderful walks.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

We spent 6 nights at The Ararat Hotel right opposite the Blue Mosque. We were welcomed warmly and looked after too well by Hattice, Zac and 2 other lovely ladies who fed us the most delicious breakfasts every morning and more. The location is magical, the rooms are small but comfortable and charming. The bombarded Hattice and Zac with endless questions about where and how to go!! they never tired!


We will return!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2010

We wanted a location which was very centrally located and Ararat Hotel was in the action spot.

We had a great view of the Blue Mosque and the Aya Sophia was a few minutes away. There were lots of places nearby which served traditional Turkish cuisine. We were there for 3 nights and we could book all the tours in the agencies on Divan Olu and at the end of the day we got a good nights sleep. The receptions both during the night and the day were very courteous and helpful. The guy who works at night even gave us a great tip to go to Taksim using a cab and then via Havas bus to Sabhia Glocken airport. This cab ride would have been 55 Euros, we spent half of that getting there.

This is a great place with a lot of character and best location money can buy. This was a stop over from our trip from Washington DC to India and we had a lot of luggage. They even gave us a larger room to store our luggage during our travels in Turkey.

Be a Traveller - Not a Tourist!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ararat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ararat Hotel

Address: Torun Sok. No:3 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #413 of 945 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ararat Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Istanbul's Ararat Hotel is a small, intimate, artistic boutique hotel directly across the street behind Istanbul's famous Blue Mosque in Sultanahmet Square.If you're looking for a small, personally-run "arty" hotel absolutely right next to Istanbul's prime attractions, the Hotel Ararat is a good place for you. Breakfast is an extra service that is 7 euro per person serving on the roof . Free internet service in the rooms and all over the hotel . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ararat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ararat Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ararat Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.