We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Empress Zoe

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Istanbul
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Empress Zoe
Save
You added Empress Zoe to your Saves list
Akbiyik Caddesi 10, Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 944 Hotels in Istanbul
Dublin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Got a recommendation for Empress Zoe from a friend and the reviews on Trip Advisor were also positive, so here's another one. Exactly what other reviewers had said but only better, particularly as we prefer quirky hotels to the 'standard' type. Rooms are comfortable and clean and the location could not be better as the hotel is only a 3 minute walk from the Topkapi Palace. Staff and owners are very friendly and helpful and will assist with any queries and will give good recommendations where to eat. Empress Zoe is a little gem and is a great place to start from when exploring this incredible, beautiful, friendly city.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    142
    26
    17
    2
See reviews for
113
248
39
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

First impressions are very important. Maybe it was end-of-season blues, but the initial reception we received when checking in for four nights was not quite as warm as we had anticipated: it was a bit impersonal. However, everything else about this quirky, boutique hotel was excellent: a most convenient location free from traffic noise, a wonderfully quirky layout with individuality of rooms, a delightful courtyard garden and staff who, on the whole, were very responsive and helpful once we got to know them. Despite the 74-stair climb, our 4th floor rooftop "penthouse" suite, with its terrace garden, was a delight, with wonderful views of the Bosphorus as well as some of the famous buildings of Sultanahmet (eg the Blue Mosque). Would we stay here again - definitely yes.

Room Tip: If you don't like stairs, choose a lower floor room. The rooms facing the garden are probably qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicenza, Italy
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed here for a long weekend and we loved it. From the airport pickup to the helpful reception desk to the breakfasts, we were thrilled. Like many others say, the stairs are steep. We are fortunate that we have 52 steps to our apartment so the 62 to our room was easy. But, if you aren't used to it, be aware. We enjoyed the bar at night where we could stop for a cup of tea or a glass of wine after a long day. The recommendations were always spot on and our room was lovely. The website states that there is only wifi in the lobby, but there was wifi in our room which was great. I highly recommend this and I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

The Empress Zoe is an enchanting boutique hotel. The location is fantastic, about a five minute walk from the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia. The hotel is attached to an abandonned hamam, which has been worked into the design, particularly in the lobby. Breakfasts are hearty and in warmer weather, can be spent in the extremely lovely garden. We loved our balcony with a view over it. Rooms are small, but sufficient. The staff are very helpful and willing to offer great advice. There is a lovely rooftop balcony open to all guests, that is a lovely place for an evening drink (you have to carry it up from the bar). We would definitely stay at this hotel again, the whole place feels like home and is a wonderful respite in a city that can be a little crazy at times.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

A wonderful place to stay. A great change from the more modern or plastic places we stayed in.
The staff was helpful and friendly; breakfast good; garden enchanting plus free internet everywhere. It's located near the major tourist sites plus surrounded by restaurants. We loved the old canopy bed--not to mention the best shower of our three week stay in Turkey. Fun to interact with other guests too.

Room Tip: Rooms vary by beds and sizes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

I had heard about the Empress Zoe prior to this trip having stayed at the nearby Poem previously. Staying for 4 nights, two with work I was genuinely grateful to have extended my stay and am writing this whilst sitting on the terrace outside my room. The staff and other guests are some of the friendliest I have come across and whilst being almost entirely a tourist hotel they have been extremely accommodating to us whilst we were here on business. One word of warning this place won't be for you if you aren't keen on cats. They are everywhere. For me though I dote on them so added to the charm.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This was a really sweet little B&B really well located near the major tourist sites of Hagia Sophia and the Blue Mosque and loads of small restaurants and cafés. The hotel itself is cosy set around a small garden where in the summer guests can eat breakfast and enjoy the view of an ancient Hammam. It’s a great place from which to explore Istanbul.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Empress Zoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empress Zoe

Address: Akbiyik Caddesi 10, Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#58 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#62 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#68 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Empress Zoe Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Empress Zoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.