We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just as good as they say” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kybele Hotel

Save Saved
You added Kybele Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kybele Hotel
Alemdar Mah. Yerebatan Cad. No:35 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34410, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #96 of 912 hotels in Istanbul
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Just as good as they say”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We spent 3 nights here, in a quirky but charming rooftop room with balconies front & back and views of Aya Sofya. From the moment you arrive the staff are quietly helpful, speak good english & help you with some turkish! We paid for the airport transfer, and were greeted by a smile and efficiently gathered up. Breakfast was in the downstairs cafe/restaurant and was a mix of local and international fare, so something for everyone. The location could not be better - 5 minutes from the central square, and if you sleep with your window open, the call to prayer from the mosque wakes you gently. Bollards in the road outside mean that otherwise it's pretty quiet.

Room Tip: 403 is a steep climb up the stairs but worth it for the views & double aspect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    104
    48
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
28
46
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I spent five nights here in mid January and felt like family when we left. It is in the very best location in old town that we could literally walk to at least 8 of the top 10 sights! The staff was so attentive and the dinners were delicious after a long day of walking and touring! The hotel contains 4000 tiny chandeliers that the owner produced themselves through a family business years ago. We loved staying there and encourage any travelers to consider a spring or summer stay as there looks to be a charming courtyard to relax and enjoy food and drink.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stopped in for a drink after seeing it from afar. The sitting area was small, inviting and comfortable. All the while we watched terrific plates of food being brought t customers (in other parts of the hotel; all looked good -- well prepped plates f typical local fare). It's a great place...neat decor...very friendly staff. Also the little cafe just across and up the street is very good for a quick lunch or meal.The owners amazed us when they remembered one amongst us from a previous visit in early December. Very friendly and welcoming without being pushy.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenya
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This is my second stay in this little gem. The staff, especially Vefa, are just so pleasant. Location, location, location ... OK it is important but when it comes with the whole package of charm, ambiance and to my surprise, incredible food, it really makes the stay in this gorgeous city extra special.
I rated the dinner we had for our group of 12 as the best meal of our entire 12 night stay in Turkey and Morocco.
Don't expect large luxury rooms and bathrooms - that is not what this boutique hotel is about. Think narrow staircases, odd shaped bedrooms, cosy corners, a surprise jungly rooftop garden, kitsch opulence, an eccentric, well connected, knowledgeable owner and enough fabulous 'pieces' to furnish a small palace. And of course those thousands of lights made from hand blown glass, old perfume bottles and various other beautiful debris. If you are a bit squashed in the bathroom, who cares.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vevey, Switzerland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

A quircky charming place, small and quiet, in the very heart of the wonderful city of Istanbul. Traditional lamps being the signature in the design, you won't find a single inch free from them neither in the numerous small and cosy lobbies to sit with a coffee and book on a sofa, nor in your room. I've stayed in this hotel twice by now, and both times was admiring the view of magnificient Agia Sofia's minarets straight from my pillow - really to die for... I'd say this is how staying at grandma's would be if my grandma was Turkish and very traditional. Very nice roof garden as a bonus and most attractive areas of the city in a short walk reach. If you are fine with not having hi-end bathroom eqiuipment and king-size hi-end mattress but want a unique experience of staying in a museum almost, this is the place to be!

Room Tip: rooms on 4th floor have balconies with view of Agia Sofia
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I simply had the most wonderful experience at Kybele Hotel and cannot recommend it highly enough! The location was excellent - a quiet street yet only a block or two walking from the bazaar, the blue mosque, the basilica cistern and other sights. Everything was literally right there but the hotel itself was peaceful and quiet.

But location is not what makes this place spectacular. The vibe and decor is wonderful. The room was incredible. My friends and I stayed in a triple and what we arrived to find was a virtual suite with two balconies.. It was as if we had our own little apartment with seating area and everything - adorably decorated and more than roomy enough for 3 people. The food was great and the atmosphere - the best.

But the absolute most impressive part was the service. Everyone who worked there was SO nice and accommodating (especially Hasan!). When I had to ship a package home, he literally walked me down the block to show me where DHL was. And when it was closed due to a holiday, the hotel made other arrangements for me to get the package home. They answered all of our questions, helped us with dinner reservations, stayed open late when we wanted to have an extra glass of wine on our last night, helped us with our heavy bags, you name it, they were on it!

I just can't say enough wonderful things about this hotel. Your trip to Istanbul would be incomplete without a stay here!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in a triple. It was on the top floor and while I was worried my two friends and I would b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallangatta, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

A great little hotel in the Old City with loads of character and quirkiness, especially the hundreds of coloured lanterns suspended from the ceilings. Our room overlooked the main street and was more than adequate. Super friendly staff who went out of their way to be helpful. Breakfasts provide wide range of choices and their dinner meals surprised us so much that we dined in twice rather than go hunting for a suitable restaurant.

Room Tip: Ask ffor a front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kybele Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kybele Hotel

Address: Alemdar Mah. Yerebatan Cad. No:35 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34410, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 912 hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HotelsClick so you can book your Kybele Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kybele Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.