We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bakırköy, far from the center but close to work...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cinar Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Cinar Hotel to your Saves list
Cinar Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fener Mevkii | Yesilkoy, Istanbul 34149, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #793 of 945 Hotels in Istanbul
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Bakırköy, far from the center but close to work...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Hotel Cinar is in the european part of Istanbul, about then minutes from the main airport, a multi story ocean front building which shows it's age but still has a reasonable standard in terms of room comfort and front desk service. The restaurant is nothing to be too excited about, reaching the city can be a real nightmare if the timing is wrong, but is the office is in the neighboring area the place is fine.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinar H, Guest Relations Manager at Cinar Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with the Çınar Otel Istanbul.

Through the guidance of your feedbacks we are able to see and eliminate the mistakes in our control mechanism which is the first step towards improvement of our services.
We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon in Çınar Hotel İstanbul.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    49
    45
    8
    7
See reviews for
9
17
13
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Its a big grand old hotel. You will get to see all those historic 50 year old pictures hung all over the walls.
At best you can call it a 4 Star hotel which does justice to the price at which the rooms are offered.

The design is pretty old fashioned. Now in most modern hotels with many rooms, they just go vertical until they reach the sky but Cinar has a very wide spread which sounds great. But if you are in one of the Garden view rooms, it also means long walks through the corridors. Also some of these rooms are placed at different levels which have access only by stairs. If you are someone who is frequent mover with some baggage, it can be tiresome.

For many reasons you may feel the hotel needs to do more to catch up with time. A classic example would be of the good old CRT TV in the room. Frankly, I was amazed that they did not have a Flat screen TV in the room. But I guess, Its ok because your options on Tv are very limited to mostly turkish channels. There were hardly any english channels and very soon I was beginning to develop an interest in Turkish game shows. The rooms arnt really luxurious and you be a tad disappointed considering that you had booked a 5 Star. The room though are nice and cosy and had a fairly large french window to the balcony which could be opened almost completely to enjoy the weather outside. The view was restricted to the garden by hotel fences and higher levels would have been a treat to the eyes. Its the location and the view around that makes it a good choice. Found the additional amenities room facilities to be fairly limited. Wi-fi is free but the speed isnt great.

You may find me over critical about being lost in time etc but the truth is that it is a really well maintained hotel. It is a pleasant place to stay in and I think its really worth-the-money kind of a place.

The best thing about the hotel is its location. It is beautifully placed along the coastline. Between the hotel and the sea is a very well maintained walk way that runs along the coastline. Now if you are one of those business travelers who has a fixed morning to evening work schedule, like I had. I'll tell you this is the best place to be in. In the evening the long stretch of walk way is real activity zone. You'll see people of all ages having their evening walks / jogs with their pets. You can also hire bicycles if you are more of a cyclist. I had seen a two seater, two peddle cycles only in movies, here you and your partner can actually hire one. There is a small kids park, adults activity zone & of course the airgun guy with his balloons . Also there is proper basket ball play area where a bunch of youngsters are always dabbing the ball.

One more exciting thing along the coastline is to watch all the men with their fancy fishing rods trying to catch some fish. It seemed like fishing is a real big hobby here. The coastline at places is rocky and appears like a great place to catch some fish. If you continue to walk along the coastline, after a fair distance you can find a stretch of boats and some really fancy ones. You can find some guys selling fish both fresh and some cooked straight from their boats.

The hotel pool looked inviting but its a pity I couldnt find the time to use it. I would always pass by the gym which looked pretty good but it always seemed to be deserted. I would always see this gym instructor in white T shirt and white pant pose strangely with one hand and one leg on this tread mill. After a while a realized that it was his classic pose of watching TV that placed above. The guy was always there pretty much like a mannequin.

The breakfast area is beautiful. It is on level one where you can sit in the interiors or in the open air. Go for the open air, the view of sea and coastline is a pleasant way to start the day.
Spread of the breakfast is not very wide. Its not bad but not great either. By the third nite you may feel that nothing has moved since yesterday. It seems like its exactly the same everyday.

Had dinner by room service just once of the 5 nites I spent there. Frankly, there isnt much to mention about and better choices are available outside. Cinar has a sports bar just outside. I was told its very good. It looked great from the outside too but felt I really missed out at being there. Apart from that too there are many other options available to try out in the vicinity. You can just walk around a bit and explore some really nice places around for quick bites.

If you are a explorer just remember to find your way back. Most people dont speak English. Its one of those strange experiences that I had, where I felt people who speak English, speak some real fine english and people dont, just dont. There is nothing in between.

Frankly, I did not not find the staff very friendly or service-oriented but they were quite professional in the way they went around their work. The young bell boy at door though was an interesting chap. Every time you ask him for a taxi he whistle in style and the cab is just there in a moment.

All in all I think its a real decent hotel to stay in while on a business trip.

Room Tip: Go for a Sea View room and dont forget your fishing rod!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yasemin Y, Guest Relations Çınar Hotel at Cinar Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for staying at our hotel and the for time taken to share your comment.

Your feedback is extremely valuable to us as it helps us improve the quality of our services to better meet your needs.

We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon in Çınar Otel İstanbul.

Sincerely Yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We spent two nights unexpectedly at the Cinar Hotel. It's a nice enough place; clean, good wifi, modern, nice beds, big pool, good ocean view. However it is nowhere near the high end hotel it tries to be and grotesquely overpriced. Be very certain you understand what they are actually charging on check -in since prices are expressed in either Euro or Lire and it is never clear. One would expect room or pool service to be inflated, but 18 lire for 8oz of poor beer in a plastic cup by the pool is just silly. Hotel clerks are rather cold and snooty, but there are exceptions. The free breakfast is served on a nice veranda but the food quality is only fair even if selection is good. Great view of the Marmara sea but you can't get to it directly from the hotel - one has to leave, walk a few hundred yards then double back to the nice promenade along the shore.

Room Tip: Face the sea, high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yasemin Y, Guest Relations Çınar Hotel at Cinar Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for recently visiting our hotel and the time taken to share your comment.

We are sorry to hear that your stay experience in our hotel was not up to your expectations. We would like to inform you that a careful market research is being conducted periodically for our Hotel prices and our pricing is competitive with the other international chain hotels in our region.I also wanted to let you know that our rates are fluctuating depending to the occupancy level of our hotel, therefore you can find lower or higher rates over the internet depending on our availabilities over the time.

Please accept our apologies for not fulfilling your request. We appreciate your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Yours sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This was a good, clean hotel with a good breakfast. It's convenient for the airport and as female on business travelling alone I felt safe and looked after. When the weathers good it's lovely sitting out by the pool looking out across the Marmara Sea too.

Room Tip: Back of hotel with a sea view, not the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yasemin Y, Guest Relations Çınar Hotel at Cinar Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for choosing Çınar Otel İstanbul.

We are honored to note your satisfaction with our services and it is always encouraging for us to
learn that our guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for every day.

We look forward welcoming you back in Çınar Otel in the near future.

Sincerely Yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brescia, Italy
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I stayed at the Cinar Hotel on April 2013 for 3 nights in order to visit ICCI2013 at the Istanbul Expo Center.
The position is pretty good not far from the airport and not far from the IEC as well (it takes about 10 mins by taxi).
The hotel is nice, a nice panorama from the terrace outside the hall: the view of the swimming pool just before the sea of Marmara is simply amazing.
Also the staff is very kind and helpful.
What I didn't like of the Cinar Hotel were there room: the first room they assign me was very far from the hall (5 mins walk) and was a smoking room (even if I asked for a no-smoking room) the room smelled of smoke cigarettes very much and they changed the room with another close to the hotel air-conditioning systems, the noise coming from outside the window was acute and was very hard to sleep indeed.
Very bad experience!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yasemin Y, Guest Relations Çınar Hotel at Cinar Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for recently visiting our hotel and the time taken to share your comment.

We are sorry to hear that your stay experience in our hotel was not up to your expectations and We are sorry to hear that you were disturbed by the hotel air-conditioning systems. Please accept our sincere apologies for the discomfort. I would like to reassure you that all the points you mentioned in your review have already been shared with the relevant persons in order to ensure that all the necessary actions to avoid similar situations in the future are taken immediately.
Once again, we thank you very much for your valuable feedback and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future so that we show you our improvements.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

It is near the airport (10 minuts by taxi) and it was the result of my selection. There was nice garden, pool and side view to sea but the room and services was not like 5 star hotel and also the price is too high with this price you could find better rooms and services in istanbul

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I stay often at this hotel. As other reviewers have said, it is close to the airport and also the office that I visit. However, it is not close to the city centre and at peak times you can take up to 2 hours just to go downtown. If you are a tourist, I would recommend not staying here.

The breakfast is actually not bad. You have cereal, a choice of cold cuts, different breads and rolls as well as some croissants. Coffee, tea and fruit juices are freely available and you can even request a cappuccino or espresso, if you so wish.

In the evening, the food in the restaurant is OK but nothing great. I usually go to the bar a few metres along, where they serve bar food, which is slightly better.

The rooms are clean and comfortable but the WiFi is unpredictable at best. Not an advantage for the business traveller who has to pick up emails in an evening. I believe that when the hotel was built it was one of the biggest in Istanbul but that was some time ago, as you can see from the style and decor of the hotel. If you have a room overlooking the Marmara sea it is very pleasant but you usually have to request this and it is probably a little more expensive than a non-sea view room.

Despite the age of the hotel, the staff are friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: A room with a sea view is recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yasemin Y, Guest Relations Çınar Hotel at Cinar Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with the Çınar Otel Istanbul.
Through the guidance of your feedbacks we are able to see and eliminate the mistakes in our control mechanism which is the first step towards improvement of our services. . I would like to inform you that we are have already improved our wireless internet system in hotel and it works very well unless the cuts of the service providers.
We would like to thank you for your kind words about staff. Your comments have been passed on to all our team members. This will certainly motivate them to keep up the good work.

We appreciate your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you back in effort to provide you the level of service you expect from our hotel.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cinar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinar Hotel

Address: Fener Mevkii | Yesilkoy, Istanbul 34149, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#361 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cinar Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since its establishment in 1958, Cinar Hotel has been famous for its hospitality, warm atmosphere and consistent high quality of service that will turn your business trips and meetings into moments of pleasure in Istanbul, Turkey. Cinar Hotel resembles a holiday village set apart from the noise of city centre, 20 minutes from downtown and 5 minutes from airport. In celebration of its 40th anniversary in 1998, Cinar enhanced its meeting and conference services with a total of 8 rooms including 3 new conference venues. Plan to visit Cinar, where business turns into pleasure ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cinar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cinar Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cinar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.