We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ayasofya Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ayasofya Hotel to your Saves list
Ayasofya Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kucuk Ayasofya Mah. Demirci Resit Sok. No:28 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #279 of 981 Hotels in Istanbul
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
“Just wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My father and I had a wonderful stay at the Ayasofya Hotel recently. Gaye and Greg and the staff couldn't have been more helpful and kind in making our stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. Nothing was too much trouble. The location is fantastic as a lot of the major attractions are within easy walking distance and there are plenty of good restaurants nearby. We would definitely recommend the hotel and in fact it was recommended to us by two lots of friends who have also stayed there.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    73
    11
    11
    18
See reviews for
65
91
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We recently stayed seven nights at this hotel and what a great find it was. Gaye and Greg were fabulous hosts and made us feel very welcome and comfortable in this fascinating city. Their tips, advice and friendliness made our stay that much more enjoyable and nothing was too much trouble for them. The roof top terrace is a wonderful place to relax and plan the next day of sightseeing. The hotel is perfectly located and the room was clean and comfortable. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Istanbul.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at this great hotel for a week leading up to Anzac day and had a fantastic time. Gaye, the owner was wonderful as were the rest of the staff, particularly Greg. It is in a central spot and we were given excellent tips and suggestions for things to do. Would highly recommend it and would love to go back.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Hills, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent three nights at this hotel and had a wonderful time. It is located in the old part of the city everything is within 15 minutes walk from the hotel. Gaye made us feel very welcome and her manager, Greg, was also very helpful with restaurants and all sorts of information. They both went out of their way to book activities, restaurants and even arranged the laundry. The drinks on the upstairs balcony were a great way to relax and meet other like- minded people. We would definitely recommend this hotel to others. Thanks again Gaye and Greg for looking after us so well.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Location is great which is the principle reason for our four star rating, being approx 400 mtrs from all local old city attractions including Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia etc,. The hosts are Australian being Gaye who is the Hotel owner who also speaks good Turkish and Greg the Manager. They are both friendly and welcoming people who go to no length of trouble to meet your needs which including restaurant recommendations which were excellent and Greg even lent us his ferry and tram card which enabled us to access Istanbul public transport which avoided the need to queue for to purchase tokens. in summary, highly recommended as a comfortable hotel with fantastic hosts.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As you can imagine, planning and carrying out a trip to Istanbul for 26 people arriving from the UK and Germany can be difficult when you want to ensure everything 'clicks'.
Greg & Gaye at the Ayasofya Hotel were superb at suggesting venues for meals, things to do and arranging the various airport pickups for our group. They even showed us the way to restaurants.If you want a hassle-free trip to Istanbul, these thoughtful people are helpful and make a 4-5 day experience go smoothly. The location of the hotel - within easy walking distance of the headline sites is ideal if you want to spend time in enjoyment, not transport.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

good experience,good money value
don't choose a room near the stairs, people can be noisy!
good experience,good money value
don't choose a room near the stairs, people can be noisy!
good experience,good money value
don't choose a room near the stairs, people can be noisy!

Room Tip: don't choose a room near the stairs, people can be noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ayasofya Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayasofya Hotel

Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Mah. Demirci Resit Sok. No:28 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #279 of 981 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ayasofya Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Ayasofya Hotel you and your family are our welcome guests. Whether you are here on a family holiday with your children, traveling alone or here for a romantic stay with your partner we will do our utmost to make you feel completely at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Ayasofya Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ayasofya Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.