We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but not an absolute must see” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ortakoy

Ortakoy
Bosphorus suburbs, Istanbul, Turkey
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$60*
and up
Private Tour: Istanbul's Jewish Heritage
Ranked #32 of 503 Attractions in Istanbul
Type: Neighborhoods, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This charming neighborhood of renovated old buildings is home to many restaurants, shops and artist galleries.
Krakow, Poland
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Nice but not an absolute must see”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Come there to enjoy sunset, eat a Kumpir and have a drink close to the Bosphorus. It is however just a number of bars and restaurants at the Bosphorus with a nice view though.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    198
    33
    8
    6
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
istanbul
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“great neighbourhood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

it is again one of the most popular weekend place of the locals. there are many nice restaurants and coffee shops near seaside. during weekends it is very crowded yet a must see with all the trinket shops in the streets.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minsk, Belarus
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Every time i come to Istanbul, i try to find time to visit my favourite Ortakoy Camii. Pity, some last months its closed for repair, but anyway i like spend my time near...I like to sit at cafe or at bench and look at Bosfor....Also a lot different small souvenirs shops there, you can find many interesting things for yourself and as gifts

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Definitely worth visiting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Ortakoy is one of the wealthiest parts of Istanbul and it's definitely worth visiting for a few hours - it's easy to get to either via tram or taxi. Great artisan markets on a Sunday, and an excellent selection of restaurants overlooking the Bosphorus for lunch/dinner. Atmosphere is superb and you can get on a Bosphorus cruise from here if you fancy it.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A nice evening go out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I went to Ortakoy for a dinner with my wife, and we were pleased with the place. I liked the atmosphere over there, music all around. We were dining while having a charming view of the Bosphorous and the bridge.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ortakoy also viewed

 

Been to Ortakoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ortakoy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.