We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel, perfect location!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Yavuz Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Yavuz Hotel to your Saves list
Grand Yavuz Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piyerloti Caddesi No: 71/B | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34126, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #631 of 943 Hotels in Istanbul
Beijing, China
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Decent hotel, perfect location!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We were put up in this hotel by Turkish Airlines for our long layover (14 hours) in Istanbul, but it was during the day so we didn't sleep there. The rooms were basic but decent, the bathroom was very clean but the carpet could use some shampooing. Amenities are few and basic. Hair dryer is unusable. TV is the old kind and wifi is super slow. Service is polite.
AWFUL cigarette smell in the hallways.
The location is EXCELLENT!! It is near everything!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mehtap, Manager at Grand Yavuz Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Turkish Airlines Passanger,
Thank you for your review about Grand Yavuz Hotel.
Your suggestions are very importent for an effort to improve our services for future stays.
We hope welcoming you again to our hotel for longer stay.
We can do our best to make your stay comfortable.
It is very difficult to sleep in the hotels after long flight.
The Airlines passengers are coming here tired and they do not see the good services and nice things in the hotel and area.
We hope you give us a chance to welcome you again and we can make your stay unforgetable.
Please do not hesitate to contact us ,we give the best room with best available rate.

Kind Regards,
Mehtap Yildirim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    112
    96
    46
    24
See reviews for
47
125
21
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Was put by Turkish airlines due to a missed connection in this hotel which is at some weird location and far away from the airport and the city.

The staff is very very rude and incourteous. They treat you like they are doing a favour by hosting you because you missed a connection.

It seems like a standard hotel contracted by Turkish for missed connection passengers, as there were too many of them.
Lunch and dinner that they serve in lieu of airline coupons are best avoided. After telling them that I wont eat the nonsense that they are providing for in lieu of the coupons given by the airline, and that I don't mind paying for a proper meal, did they give me a menu and let me order a la carte, though did not bill me separately for it.

Its not a four star but a two star at best. Rooms have mildew smell. Bathrooms have just a soap and shampoo. No dental kit, which is not provided upon request either(being contracted for serving missed connection and delayed passengers, this is one thing they should have)

The rooms have only facilities of a standard two star do it yourself lodge. The lock to my room did not work and could be opened without a card. The lockers in the cupboard did not work either.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mehtap, Manager at Grand Yavuz Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Turkish Airlines Passanger,
Thank you for your review about Grand Yavuz Hotel.
We are official 4* hotel working with Turkish Airlines since 14 Years.
The Turkish Ailines has responsible for the free offers giving to the guests.
We offer you what is writen on your woucher.They pay for set menu and we give you the set menu option only.
You pay extra if you choose A'lacarte.
We have Doctor room in the hotel but,we do not give any medicine to the guests.It is not legal.
Your suggestions are very importent for an effort to improve our services for future stays.
We hope welcoming you again to our hotel for longer stay.
We can do our best to make your stay comfortable.
The Airlines passengers are coming here tired and they do not see the good services and nice things in the hotel and area.
We hope you give us a chance to welcome you again and we can make your stay unforgetable.
Please do not hesitate to contact us ,we give the best room with best available rate.

Kind Regards,
Mehtap Yildirim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Even though this is a 4 star hotel every 3 star hotels I've been to in Istanbul is significantly better. Rooms are in decent shape for this part of the world but lack basic amenities for 4 star hotel - nothing but soap and shampoo.

I was put in this hotel by Turkish airlines because of a missed connection. They provided the dinner at the hotel. I LOVE Turkish food. The food they served at the hotel is the WORST I ever had in Turkey!

There are many much better and less expensive hotels in the area.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mehtap, Manager at Grand Yavuz Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Our Guest,
Airlines passengers stay in our hotel very short time.
I hope you will be our guest for longer stay and we can have chace to change your mind obout our hotel.
Turkish Airlines Passengers are very importent for us.
Because they come tired and nervous....We have to make their stay comfortable after long flight and you must relax before your next flight.
Your feedback will be evaluated about our foods...
Best Regards,
Mehtap Yildirim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We were booked into this hotel by a travel agent as we were joining a tour to Gallipolli and Troy. I had read reviews on this hotel before departure and arrived there with some trepidation. It's not as bad as some reviews have reported. The location is good - within walking distance of the Blue Mosque area and an uphill walk to the Grand Bazaar. It's close to some interesting restaurants and bakeries. The bedroom was a good size with a comfortable bed. The bathroom was cramped and the towels were old and worn. We received a few with holes in them. The hairdryer was ridiculous - not worth even trying to use. Plus, and this was awful - there was a horrid smell seeping up through the basin drain - I wanted to gag! But, the breakfast was a large buffet served in a big room and the view from the upstairs dining area was lovely. But I do think that you can find better hotels for the price we paid for this one.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mehtap, General Manager at Grand Yavuz Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Our Guest,
Thank you for your review about our hotel.
Your informations are very iportent to improve the quality of the services we provide.
I noted your information about towels and Hair Driyer.
Sometimes(not always) it smells in bathrooms because of infrastructure problems in Istanbul.
This is general promlem in Istanbul.We use special drugs for this.
We hope to welcoming you soon again to the Grand Yavuz Hotel.
Kind Regards,
Mehtap Yildirim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Another couple of Turkish Airlines wayward passengers sent to the Grand Yavuz for food and sleep. We found our rooms to be quiet, warm and comfortable. We enjoyed a nice dinner on the 7th floor and a very satisfying breakfast buffet in the lower level. The staff was very helpful and professional. This hotel is conveniently located within walking distance to the Grand Bazaar and Blue Mosque. While I might search for other accommodations for a longer stay in Istanbul, this hotel was more than adequate for our one night layover.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oklahoma city
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Turkish Airlines treated us to one night at this hotel with an unexpected 24 hour flight delay. My daughter and I had a lovely room and we loved that the windows opened so we could peer out into the busy street bustling with shoppers and activity. It was our "room with a view." The airline also treated us to meals that we took at the hotel. The evening meal was on the 7th floor and offered a lovely nighttime view. My ONLY disappointment is that they did not allow us to take our breakfast or lunch on the 7th floor so we could see the view in the daylight. We dined in another location in the basement, but that included some ancient ductwork to see that the hotel made into its spa area. Very cool (though no one could tell us the history). This was a very exotic adventure for two Oklahomans, so we were easily impressed, and extremely grateful for the kindness and comfort of our unexpected day in Istanbul. (Plus, I had Turkish coffee! Delicious.)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ahmetyavuz, Manager at Grand Yavuz Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2014
Dear Our Guest,
Thank you for your nice review about Grand Yavuz Hotel.
We will offer you the best if you want to stay in our hotel again.
Best Regards,
Mehtap Yildirim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

I was booked in this hotel by Turkish Airlines during a long transit on my way to Tashkent. The hotel itself is bit outdated, but for short stay its comfortable. The best thing about the hotel is the location. You can walk five minutes to reach Grand Bazar. For 10 minutes you can reach sultanahmet. The staff are super nice and very helpful. For short stay, this is perfect location.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Yavuz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Yavuz Hotel

Address: Piyerloti Caddesi No: 71/B | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34126, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#316 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Yavuz Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Yavuz is a comfortable Istanbul Hotel That combines elegance and luxury. Grand Yavuz Hotel's 111 newly renovated bedrooms and suit offers a unique and unforgettable Istanbul experience.With our convenient location in Sultanahmet "old city" you are in walking distance to major historical places.- Blue Mosque 5 minutes by foot.- Hagia Sophia 5 minutes by foot.- Topkapi Palace 5 minutes by foot.- Underground Cistern 5 minutes by foot.- Grand Bazaar 5 minutes by foot.- Archeological Museum 10 minutes by foot.- Anatolian Civilisation Museum 10 minutes by foot.- Spice Bazaar 20 minutes by foot.- Suleymaniye Mosque 15 minutes by foot.- Dolmabahce Palace 15 minutes by car.- CNR Exhibition Center 25 minutes by car.- TUYAP Exhibition Center 40 minutes by car.- Abdi Ipekci Arena 15 minutes by car.- Tramcar Station 5 minutes by foot.- Seabus Station 15 minutes by foot.- Bosphorus Ferry Station 15 minutes by foot.- Ataturk Internatıonal Airport 25 minutes by car.- Istanbul Modern Arts Museum 15 minutes by carYou can se our guests book: ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Grand Yavuz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Yavuz Istanbul
Hotel Grand Yavuz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Yavuz Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.