We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The central zone” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Yavuz Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Yavuz Hotel to your Saves list
Grand Yavuz Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piyerloti Caddesi No: 71/B | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34126, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #681 of 979 Hotels in Istanbul
sarajevo
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“The central zone”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

central zone of the city is what is in favor of this hotel. I can not say that there is no better hotels in Istanbul, but it meets the standards of categorization that is assigned. considering that I was only one day and slept most of the day, I had room service, I ordered breakfast, good. rooms have a nice view I justify images that I have set.

Room Tip: 415 that was my room number
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    120
    99
    52
    28
See reviews for
52
132
24
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in October 2013. It's very average. Our travel agency said it was a 4 star hotel, but no, that can't be true for the standard room we had and the facilities of the hotel. The room was very small and noisy, because on the street side of the hotel. Windows closed kept noise outside, but we don't like sleeping like that. Beds are good, tv does not receive channels clearly and is very small, WIFI is very very bad. The printer facility in the hotel was out of order. Breakfast was good, but not very diverse. Bathroom was okay, but small and did not have much light.

A real no no was the price the hotel asked for a trip to the Sabiha Gökcen Airport: 70 euro per person. Instead we hopped on and off trams, funicular and a bus at the 'Point Hotel' on the Taksim Square for which we paid no more than 20 Lira per person in total. It took more than 2 hours, but because of the Istanbul traffic we don't think a shuttle could have done it faster.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms on the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mehtap, Manager at Grand Yavuz Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Our guests,
First I would like to correct amisunderstanding about the Sabiha Gokcen transfer cost.
It is total 70 Euro for up to four persons and not a public transfer.
It is private transfer .Of course you can find regular shuttle services cost cheaper .They pick the guests from many hotels.Our transfer with private cars,english speaking drivers and we do not take no one in the same car.
We considered your other complaints by the hotel manegement.
We are grateful with your observations and suggestions.
We look forward to welcoming you soon again to the Grand Yavuz Hotel .
Sincerely Yours ,
Mehtap Yildirim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlemore, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This hotel is in a great location, walking distance to all the main attractions, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace Museum and Aya Sophia. It is a pretty average hotel and rooms and hallways smell of smoke. Don't bother asking for a non-smoking room because all the rooms smell of smoke. The rooms are very stuffy as well so you have to keep the window open for fresh air. You have to go up to the rooftop restaurant and take some lovely pictures of the scenery of Blue Mosque and the water. It's beautiful there. The food at the rooftop restaurant is not too great. Eat at a restaurant outside the hotel. In less than 5 mins you can walk from the hotel to the main street where you can get a tram/streetcar and go anywhere. We ate good food at Taksim Square.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mehtap, Manager at Grand Yavuz Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Our guests,
Thank you for your nice review about our hotel.
Unfortunately some guests smoke in non-smoking rooms and hallways .We have smoke dedectors and inform the guests when they smoke.
Your information about the foods will be considered by the hotel management.
We hope to see you again and would like to cook you nice Turkish Foods :))
Best Regards,
Mehtap Yildirim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Admittedly I stayed in this hotel a while back when I went there with my family to celebrate my 50th birthday but the food was simply pathetic. There was no variety in the breakfast offered - the hot food was just limited to boiled eggs, fried bread & diced potatoes. Dinner was the same rubbish every day comprising of a small mound of rice, some potato chips or wedges & a piece of dried chicken or curried beef. Dessert was often just a diced apple or orange. Portions offered were miniscule with the service in the restaurant being unhygienic & slow too. Got fed up of all this after just a few days out & started eating out - even though it added to our holiday costs. It certainly was not befitting a four star hotel but really hope the food has improved considerably since then!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mehtap, Manager at Grand Yavuz Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Our guests,
Thank you for your review.
In an effort to make your future stays with us increasingly pleasent and to consistently improve the quality of the services we provide we are grateful for your observations and suggestion.
I think you stayed with the group and stayed Half Board.We serve 4 coursed set menu always for half board accomadations.
In order to give you better service ,we wish to be notified your complains during your stay .
We look forward to welcoming you soon again to the Grand Yavuz Hotel.
Kind Regards,
Grand Yavuz Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I stayed for 5 nights at the Grand Yavuz in August 2013. Having read a few reviews on here before i arrived I was a little apprehensive, but I have to say my experience was very good.

The location is very good: the hotel is on a quiet side-street in Sultanahment, close to all of the major cultural attractions at the heart of Istanbul, including Hagia Sofia, the Blue Mosque and the Grand Bazaar. The T1 tram - which connects to the Airport metro in one direction and the northern Beyoglu area in the other direction - runs close to the hotel, but is up/down a very steep hill - something to consider if you have heavy luggage or walking difficulties. But then Istanbul is a very hilly city!

Check-in was easy & quick, even though they were busy, and all the staff I encountered - from reception, to restaurant, bar and bell-hops - were courteous and helpful. My room was small and the decor a little tired, but very clean. As I am a light sleeper I asked for a room on a higher floor and not facing the road; I was given a room on the 4th floor looking over the rear of the building, with a balcony with a lovely view over the city and Hagia Sofia down to the sea. It was very quiet, apart from the twice-daily call to prayer (at daybreak and sunset), as there were numerous mosques below and I could hear them all simultaneously - it was actually quite entertaining! The air con was also quite noisy, even though it didn't seem to produce much cool air! This wasn't a problem when I was there as the temperatures were 25-30C, but might be an issue in the height of the summer when temperatures can get well over 30C.

There is free wifi, but connectivity was variable and speeds quite slow (no no good for things like Skype). It seemed to depend on where your room was in the hotel as to whether you could access the service.

Breakfast was efficient, good quality Turkish-style and plentiful in supply. The rooftop bar has stunning views and a nice ambience, but note is quite pricey (almost 10 Euros for a gin & tonic!).

Overall I think the hotel represents good value-for-money in Istanbul - which is not a cheap city to stay in. Having said all of this I am aware from some of my colleagues that their rooms were not as nice as mine, and were quite small and dark, with variable access to the free wifi. I'd suggest you ask to view the room first before accepting it!

Room Tip: Either ask for a room on a higher floor, facing the rear of the hotel; or definitely ask to see your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mehtap, Manager at Grand Yavuz Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear our guest,
Please accept our sincere thanks for your nice review about our hotel.It is very informative for the guests coming future.The information about the Location and city.......
Your suggestions and informaions about the hotel will be considered by the hotel magement.
We hope to welcome you again in the Grand Yavuz Hotel.
Best Regards,
Grand Yavuz Hotel
Mehtap Yildirim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
224 helpful votes 224 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

The shuttle bus from the airport to the Grand Yavuz Hotel took 45 minutes. The advantage of this hotel is the location, it is in walking distance to the tourist attractions in Sultanahmet such as the Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace, etc. An additional advantage is that the hotel is within an area of normal Turkish life with shops and eating places in the narrow and steep streets of the neighbourhood with only few tourists.

Turkish Airlines booked this hotel for me during my 8 hours transit time. I didn't spent long time there so I wouldn’t know how the sleep quality and the service is. The interior of the hotel is worn and requires a facelift, the size of the rooms is sufficient, the writing desk and the TV are really small, the carpet floor clean. There is a roof top restaurant with a nice view towards sea and city. Free wireless internet in the rooms.

It is questionable that this hotel is a 4 star hotel, it appears rather a 3 minus but as stated above it has a great location.

Room Tip: Do not take rooms with 1 as the last digit such as 501 because they are adjacent to the service lift...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mehtap, Manager at Grand Yavuz Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thnak you for you review about our hotel.
We hope to welcome you again for longer stay .
I am sure that you will enjoy our hotel much more than daily accomadation.
Best Regards,
Mehtap Yildirim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The best is the location, only a few minutes walk from the main attractions. Breakfast is great & the rooms are comfortable and nice.
All the staff were super friendly and helpful. The prices are very reasonable and not expensive. Definitley recomendable!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mehtap, Manager at Grand Yavuz Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Jean,
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
We look forward t welcoming you soon again to the Grand Yavuz Hotel.
We offer you the best for your stay....
Kind Regards,
Grand Yavuz Hotel
Mehtap Yildirim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Yavuz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Yavuz Hotel

Address: Piyerloti Caddesi No: 71/B | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34126, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#351 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Yavuz Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Yavuz is a comfortable Istanbul Hotel That combines elegance and luxury. Grand Yavuz Hotel's 111 newly renovated bedrooms and suit offers a unique and unforgettable Istanbul experience.With our convenient location in Sultanahmet "old city" you are in walking distance to major historical places.- Blue Mosque 5 minutes by foot.- Hagia Sophia 5 minutes by foot.- Topkapi Palace 5 minutes by foot.- Underground Cistern 5 minutes by foot.- Grand Bazaar 5 minutes by foot.- Archeological Museum 10 minutes by foot.- Anatolian Civilisation Museum 10 minutes by foot.- Spice Bazaar 20 minutes by foot.- Suleymaniye Mosque 15 minutes by foot.- Dolmabahce Palace 15 minutes by car.- CNR Exhibition Center 25 minutes by car.- TUYAP Exhibition Center 40 minutes by car.- Abdi Ipekci Arena 15 minutes by car.- Tramcar Station 5 minutes by foot.- Seabus Station 15 minutes by foot.- Bosphorus Ferry Station 15 minutes by foot.- Ataturk Internatıonal Airport 25 minutes by car.- Istanbul Modern Arts Museum 15 minutes by carYou can se our guests book: ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Yavuz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Yavuz Istanbul
Hotel Grand Yavuz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Yavuz Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.