We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in Taqsim Square” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Feronya Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Feronya Hotel to your Saves list
Feronya Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Abdulhakhamit Cad. No:58 34437 Taksim/Istanbul/Turkey, Istanbul 80090, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #590 of 943 Hotels in Istanbul
Tehran
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in Taqsim Square”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

The hotel locates around Taksim square in a very nice area. Like other hotels in Istanbul its rooms are small but clean. The hotel staffs are helpful but you cannot expect very freindly people because of the culture. The breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    53
    50
    11
    9
See reviews for
25
29
11
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
slovenia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Wi-fi worked very well and was free of charge. I ordered a pick-up from/to the airport/hotel (30 €, 30 min to 1 hour each way, depends on the traffic) which they outsource and were very satisfied with it. The car was big and clean, I even got offered free water. Breakfast was on the ninth floor (view over surrounding buildings, not the sea) which I found delicious and plentiful. It only bothered me that they served just Turkish tea (no other types of tea).

Air-con didn't work; walls are very thin and it also bothered me very much that the shaft above the room was like a sound transmitter. I heard voices from nearby rooms and it felt as those people are literally sitting next to me. When they were taking shower or went to the toilet I got the impression it’s happening in my bathroom. I haven't experienced something like that before. It was very annoying.

Bed linen were clean but the carpet on the floor didn’t leave me with the same impression. Ceiling above the shower was just some non-fixed planks that could easily be lifted. Who knows what the purpose is… once I returned back to the room, I found a knife blade next to the sink (sloppy cleaners).

Only some of the staff speaks (very basic) English. If you have a problem, they “don’t understand" anything. I can’t say they seemed friendly to me. They asked my colleague to pay upon check-in but didn’t want to issue an invoice until check-out. I never got a transport receit which I asked for neither did they call me when I ordered a wake-up call.

Bottom line – I think you could find a better hotel in the neighborhood.

If you’re choosing among staying in Sultanahmet or Taxim district, I’d suggest you the old city: main tourist attractions are there and everything is within walking distance. If you’re not in the mood for a walk there’s a tram line that is much more convenient than an old tram in Taxim street or a funicular to Taxim square.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The location and cleanliness of the hotel is a plus. Breakfast is average for a Turkish Hotel (should be better). I think it is more like a 3.5 star hotel. There is no negative comment except you are staying in the mid rooms (rooms ending with X05, X06, X07...). I recommend it if you are looking for a good location and a clean hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Feronya is a nice hotel, not "grand" or elegant, but clean and well located. Have read a review or two talking about poor service, we experienced just the opposite... a polite and fully competent staff. Rooms are nice, not fancy, but comfortable and clean... carpet is a tad worn, bathrooms very nice. Air conditioning very good but noisy and wireless internet is quite fast. Overall a very nice hotel at a fair price...but if you want luxury then I suggest you pay 75% + more and stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side have zero view, front look out on street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran, Iran
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

location
it is in taksim street-the center of istanbul city-.there are many resturant and hotels in taksim street. the esteghlal street that you can find many shops and do shoping is 5 min walking.
clean and confortable rooms
a good and varios breakfast.
it has small and poorly loby but i think it is a good - clean -cheap hotels...
if u go to istanbul only to sleep at hotel and enjoy hotel services,it will not a good hotel for u- it hasn`t pool-gym-or fantazy bar...

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryn Mawr, PA USA
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

İ stayed in Feronya Hotel for 11 days in June 2012, i had stayed her five times before and keep coming back. The staff is very attentive, kind and halways very helpful. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. Breakfast Buffet has always freshly prepared bakec goods and lots of variety. The friendly staff made a huge difference to start the they rifght. İ would come back to this hotel again.......

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

My family and I were there June 2012,We found it's staff kind and polite.The hotel is located in the best place in Istanbul,because many interesting places such as Taksim square are available by walking.The rooms were clean and room service staff have done their duty as well as they could.I recommend you don't lose table breakfast.

Room Tip: Rooms in high floors are lighter than other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Feronya Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Feronya Hotel

Address: Abdulhakhamit Cad. No:58 34437 Taksim/Istanbul/Turkey, Istanbul 80090, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#299 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Feronya Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Feronya Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Feronya Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Feronya Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.