We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasent stay, But....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Taksim Gonen Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Taksim Gonen Hotel to your Saves list
Taksim Gonen Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Aydede Cad. No:15 Taksim, Beyoglu, Istanbul 80090, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #550 of 945 Hotels in Istanbul
Amman, Jordan
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pleasent stay, But....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

Clean, good Located, Small Rooms, very Small Bathrooms, un-isolated rooms we could hear every thing on the next rooms even the small sounds, even the smoking smell was inside our room
Most of the staff are very nice and helpful but one of the recepcienist guy (night shift is really rude and not helpful at all, and this should be taken into the manager consideration) as it will affect on the hotel
Breakfast Menu was low class and shouldnt be rated as 4 stars delux hotel.

Room Tip: make sure to check in a big room; as they are so tiny rooms and the bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    79
    42
    20
    11
See reviews for
27
45
14
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

It was a trip for our honeymoon in Istanbul and we spent around a week in 3 different hotels and the Taksim Gonen was one of them. We checked in twice to the hotel and they were facing some difficulties in electrical power. However, they gave us the smallest room in the hotel. It had teh basic functions but the Tv was not working and teh service was very slow in general, We requested Bath Robes but we were not given any but in general the reception ladies were friendly and helped us a lot. Our room was changed when we returned to the hotel after leaving to Bursa and it was a much better one.
The food was not that good but it was satisfactory. the best thing about this hotel is the location of course and if it is compared to neighbouring hotels I dont think that the difference will be high but certainly there are 2 or 3 hotels in the same area with maybe 10$ difference in rate who can be better in terms of service

Room Tip: The rooms are pretty much similar. However, there is a room at the end of each floor with two beds a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

The hotel had a much nicer interior than the website shows, but, unfortunately, when we went in late September the rooftop restaurant wasn't open. I'm not sure if that was a function of it no longer being high season or if the restaurant is just not open except for special occasions, but we were disappointed, as that was one of the reasons that we picked the hotel. Additionally, we had to wait for almost an hour for the hotel shuttle to pick us up from the airport, and call the hotel twice from the phone at the post office at Ataturk Airport. It was a pretty inconvenient and stressful process altogether - might be better to just get your own cab. The hotel was right off Taksim Square, easy walking distance from the bus and metro systems. Also very close to Istiklal caddesi - which is a pretty vibrant area at night. Hotel was quiet for sleeping, however. Additionally, the room was stocked with water and fruit, which was a nice touch.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

it was a good hotel BUT some of our goods were lost when we were out of our room and when we were at breakfast my 100 USD was lost from my purse at our room,I report it to the manager and they don't attantion if you are going to this hotel watch out of your goods and your cloth and your money, it made us very sad .

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

A good sized room. clean and rather nice. The breakfast buffet was good, however, the dining upstairs was not adequate for vegetarian diets. But the location was great, lots of shopping and restaurants near by. Overall a great location and a great experience.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

Located in an interesting part of town with easy access to many of the city's sights. My room was quiet enough though small and the air conditioning worked, but the bed was not very comfortable. The tiny elevators are inadequate to cope with the number of guests and this is a problem if you are on a high floor. Buffet breakfast is very good with plenty of choice. The free wifi was unreliable. There are two pools, one on the roof which has great views over the city. Overall perfectly acceptable if you get a special rate. It's worth negotiating as there's lots of competition in the neighbourhood.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

Given what we had read `on the net we did not know what to expect but the room was terrific (remember all rooms in Istanbul are generally small) but this was one of the better rooms. Clean bathroom, good cleaning services, excellent breakfast, internet superfast and free wifi. Staff at the front desk (black uniforms) really helpful. Some weird pool policies which are not the most kiddy friendly and that was our only drawback. we chose the hotel because of the indoor and outdoor pool but our kids were not comfortable with the adult atmosphere in the spa where the indoor pool was located. If you do go to the hotel, make sure you take a swimcap for use in the indoor pool and that u take proper swimwear. We introduced them to the concept of a rush vest and pants so that's now acceptable. Sometimes loud music @ nght from restaurant upstairs but didn't disturb us much

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Taksim Gonen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taksim Gonen Hotel

Address: Aydede Cad. No:15 Taksim, Beyoglu, Istanbul 80090, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#130 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#290 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Taksim Gonen Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Taksim Gonen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taksim Gonen Istanbul
Hotel Taksim Gonen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taksim Gonen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.