We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay, near Taksim Square” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Crystal Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Crystal Hotel to your Saves list
Crystal Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Receppasa Caddesi No 7 | Taksim, Istanbul 80090, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #882 of 981 Hotels in Istanbul
Bangalore
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay, near Taksim Square”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We were traveling from southern India and were tired by the time we reached. The check-in process was quick, the front desk was efficient. Wireless in the room was very helpful.
1. The breakfast had a great spread. Best part was Turkish Tea.
2. If one is not interested in eating in-house, there are so many great options at a walking distance
3. This place is also close to the tourist attractions and Bosphorus.
4. Room was smelling of age.
5. Bathtub was leaking
6. The table service during breakfast was poor; took so long to clean the tables after being used.
7. Reception staff not friendly nor helpful
8. We had to leave early in the morning; the folks gave us a pleasant surprised by packing breakfast.

Do some research before deciding on this one.

Room Tip: If you are looking for Queen bed then the rooms are small and facing inwards. The bigger rooms has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    24
    69
    43
    69
See reviews for
51
50
14
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

The hotel is so good according to the prices of the hotel
The rooms is very clean the open buffet breakfast is very good

But many times they close the air condition and the receptionist is so rood

But you will like the place and its near to the attraction points in Taksim square and there is allot of restaurants

Room Tip: choose higher floras for the vie
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culver City, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Turkish Airlines provided us with a room at the Crystal Hotel due to an overnight layover in Istanbul. Check-in process was quick, despite the amount of people at the counter. The staff we met were polite, even friendly, and our guestroom and bathroom were very clean. They gave us good recommendations for dinner and generally getting around Taksim Square. This hotel does have a great location, and while it did get a little loud from the street in the evening, we didn't mind it at all, as the sounds were obviously of celebration.

My boyfriend and I had to check out to catch the early flight the next morning, but were surprised (a happy one) when they gave us a going-away goodie bag which included a breakfast sandwich, juice, and sweets. We enjoyed our short stay at the Crystal Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

I a stayed here for a 3 night work trip and needed a place close to Taksim Square. Although there is major construction in the square I was happy with the location. The staff was very helpful with a package I tried to send for a work event and were great with directions. My room was small but what I needed. The bed was really hard which I thought would be a problem but I slept just fine. For the price, staff and location it was a good find.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chavenay, France
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night, and one night was enough. I can see 2 positive things about it : location (5 minutes walk from Taksim square) and clean rooms.

Rooms are small and absolutely overpriced. Decoration is dated. The Crystal hotel was trendy in the 50ies maybe ? Most of the clientele was turkish ... so maybe it suits turkish tourists ?

Would never stay there again !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

My host for a business trip booked this hotel for me. To avoid what would have been an awkward situation I stayed there two nights instead of doing what I wanted to do, which was stay anywhere else. The place was filthy, including dead roaches on the floor. The rooms were threadbare. There was so much noise at night I couldn't sleep. The breakfast was fine as long as you only ate the bread. The staff was going through the motions. This is the worst hotel I've encountered for a very long time.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran, Iran
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

it was perfect with good location
near taksim sq and istiklal st also
clean an quiet
service was good
breakfast was perfect
but poll was not ok it was too small and the reception was so friendly about some mistake that
our agency done about our rooms.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crystal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Hotel

Address: Receppasa Caddesi No 7 | Taksim, Istanbul 80090, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#179 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#415 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Crystal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Crystal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal Hotel Istanbul
Hotel Crystal Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crystal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.