We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go somewhere else !” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Crystal Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Crystal Hotel to your Saves list
Crystal Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Receppasa Caddesi No 7 | Taksim, Istanbul 80090, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #839 of 944 Hotels in Istanbul
Chavenay, France
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Go somewhere else !”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night, and one night was enough. I can see 2 positive things about it : location (5 minutes walk from Taksim square) and clean rooms.

Rooms are small and absolutely overpriced. Decoration is dated. The Crystal hotel was trendy in the 50ies maybe ? Most of the clientele was turkish ... so maybe it suits turkish tourists ?

Would never stay there again !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    23
    65
    42
    61
See reviews for
48
46
12
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

My host for a business trip booked this hotel for me. To avoid what would have been an awkward situation I stayed there two nights instead of doing what I wanted to do, which was stay anywhere else. The place was filthy, including dead roaches on the floor. The rooms were threadbare. There was so much noise at night I couldn't sleep. The breakfast was fine as long as you only ate the bread. The staff was going through the motions. This is the worst hotel I've encountered for a very long time.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran, Iran
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

it was perfect with good location
near taksim sq and istiklal st also
clean an quiet
service was good
breakfast was perfect
but poll was not ok it was too small and the reception was so friendly about some mistake that
our agency done about our rooms.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

The location is excellent, walking distance to taxim and other places but the hotel itself needs renovation ASAP, the rooms were very dirty, as soon as i walked in the room, i called room service as the sheets had a bad smell, remote control wasn't working (dead batteries), bathtub had hair all over and the carpet had alot of stains. the elevatores always smelled and even though it was our honey moon, they gave us a room almost in the elevatore, whenever someone uses it, we had to wake up whatever the time. To sum up for this price u can book at any other hotel at taxim with better service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esfahan, Iran
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

the staff were so average food was less than expected from a good four star hotel
because of constructions around hotel location has lost its advantage.
elevators were terrible. before choosing this hehotel get sure that constructions are finish and the metro station exit is open again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

The smell of cigarettes permeated the room. I've no objection to rooms for smokers so long as I don't have to stay in them or at least some effort has been made to air the room.

There is a lot of building work very close to the hotel which goes on all night this together with the totally inadequate sound insulation (you could hear every word spoken next door) made sleep a virtual impossibility.

Don't expect more than 2 tea bags and 2 satchets of coffee during your stay how ever long it is. The cleaner took the paper cups (yes paper cups) from the room and the receptionists rolled her eyes when I dared ask for a couple of new ones.


On the plus side the hotel is in an excellent location. Breakfast was good; there was lots of hot water and a decent shower and the rest of the staff couldn't have been more helpful.

Room Tip: Ask to be at the back of the hotel where you'll be less likely to be kept awake by the building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

We were going group about 20 girls many problems happened to us 1 st someone stranger opened the room on us by mistake using a card we went to recipition they said its ok we stopped all the cards .ohhh what a nice hotel then at night someone from the staff knock on my cousins room and asked them if they need any thing trying to pushing the door to enter then he told them this is my code if u want anything whattttt a thing at 3 pm i couldnt belive it. Dont think evernever to stay there

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BORAYILDIRIM, Guest Relations Manager at Crystal Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
There were a student group at the hotel app 85-90 people on those perriod. And we had many complaints from other rooms as well. they knocked the doors all night.. Our security staff was on the floors to control them but the group were stayying on different floors.. So we appologise for that stuation..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crystal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Hotel

Address: Receppasa Caddesi No 7 | Taksim, Istanbul 80090, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#171 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#369 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Crystal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Crystal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal Hotel Istanbul
Hotel Crystal Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crystal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.