We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location,bad choice” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Crystal Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Crystal Hotel to your Saves list
Crystal Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Receppasa Caddesi No 7 | Taksim, Istanbul 80090, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #881 of 980 Hotels in Istanbul
Tehran, Iran
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“good location,bad choice”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

crystal hotel is 4 star hotel (i don't know why) but it seems to me a big 2 star one...!!!!
there is just one good point : it is located near taksim square and metro station is in less than 1 min...!!!!
however, after i stayed there for a week I totally feel sorry from my choice...!!!! triple room is one of the reasons I chose this hotel because we were 3 friends and wanted to sleep in good condition bed, not some bad couch !!!!
another reason for us is taksim square !!!!
and that s all.....!!!!
but drawbacks : from first step to hotel we noticed it s old and smelly (it s awful) - staffs were kind in some cases but i didn't like the looks in their eyes in breakfast time - receptionists were always busy and did not pay attention to passengers.... - rooms were sort of clean but bathroom was not... walls of room was not acoustic so we can hear almost everything from the next rooms to corridor and so on....!!!!
All in all, nothing was worth to stayed there except TAKSIM square...... !!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    24
    69
    43
    69
See reviews for
51
50
14
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

Have you ever wanted to go back in time? Here's your chance. The Crystal is a shining example of the generic large scale hotels that have been built in Istanbul in recent decades. Walking into the large reception with its purple marble floors and wooden walls, you could be mistaken for stepping back to circa 1990 with its imitation grandeur. Rooms are generally large ( we had two for our party) with similar aged decor throughout. There is a tiny pool in the basement. Towels are strangely not provided and after returning to my room to get one I was then told I would need to pay 10TL to buy a swimming cap!!! Ridiculous. The pool is not much larger than a jacuzzi! Wireless in reception and in one of our rooms was dodgy. This wasn't a cheap hotel and more should be expected. I recommend La Bella Galata at the other end of Istikal street near the tower.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

The hotel was quite old, rooms were small and beds were tiny. I stayed there for 6 nights and had almost the same Breakfast everyday. The staff were absolutely rude and helpless. However, it's placed in a quiet area, near the underground station and you can simply walk to Istiklal street. It's very easy to get there from the airport. You can take a bus to Taksim which costs you 10 TL and get off in the last bus stop, cross the street and you'll see the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Namur, Belgium
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

This 4 stars hotel is used by a lot of people in Istanbul and it is where we landed for 2 nights after our THY flight was cancelled.THY paid our full board, fortunately: on inspection we discovered that the room price was 235 EUR/night, breakfast included.
Now this is a ridiculous high price for the service offered there: the rooms are so-so, they are small with microscopic windows and overheated by a locked airco. Bathroom is nice, and breakfast is a treat. Staff are not very friendly. Free Wifi is very slow.

Room Tip: try to get the rooms giving on the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Hotel is located just 50 m from Taksim square, commercial center of newer part of Istanbul. All around it are small streets full of restaurants, cafes, souvenir shops. Just walk down the hill and you may find yourself in busy Osmanbay, great shopping zone. From Taksim take Istikal street (pedestrians zone) that will take you for kilometers of walk, enjoying lifeful joy of city impuls beating in this street.
Hotel itself is quite regular, check ina and out procedure could not be faster, rooms exceptablr, breakfast ok, stuff kind and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for two days during a business trip. This hotel is located in Taksim and it is surrounded by more than 20 other hotels. This area is very near to Havataş shuttles which provide easy access from İstanbul Atatürk Airport. Taksim is also a wonderful destination for any tourist who comes to İstanbul. These are the good sides of the hotel. The bad ones: Its rooms are small, the elevators are very old, the halls and the stairs are very narrow and that made me feel claustrophobic. The lighting is also dim and this is a bad thing in a hotel like this.

Overall, it is not a very pleasing experience in a place crowded with a lot of hotels. I have not stayed in the other nearby hotels but I think I will stay in the other ones in the future.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubrovnik, Croatia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

Perfect location:))) just few meters to airport shuttle and main square.... Property very frequently visited by neareast and east-europe guests...rooms,service and breakfast are acceptable but just on the edge.....not the beaten,but not the worst...should not be the first choice ...good for 1-2 days...

Room Tip: Ask for bigger rooms !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crystal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Hotel

Address: Receppasa Caddesi No 7 | Taksim, Istanbul 80090, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#179 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#415 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Crystal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Crystal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal Hotel Istanbul
Hotel Crystal Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crystal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.