We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect istanbulic stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crystal Hotel

Save Saved
You added Crystal Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crystal Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Receppasa Caddesi No 7 | Taksim, Istanbul 80090, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #774 of 901 hotels in Istanbul
Beirut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The perfect istanbulic stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011 via mobile

I've been in istanbul with my husband in april 2011.we reserved a regular room and for our luck got a last floor room that is more spacious than any room in the hotel.it had bosphorous view and a balcony (which we couldnt benefit from a lot as it was very cold oytside). The staff were helpful, and the rooms were cleaned AND demessed every morning. Perfect for staying in istanbul no matter where u want to go through the day as the metro station is blocks away.
One day we had to leave the hotel at 6,30 am and they were very generous to put the breakfast at 6 that is one hour before its original time.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    17
    60
    36
    48
See reviews for
41
37
11
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Spain
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

We were booked into this supposed 4* hotel by Turkish Airlines for 2 nights when they cancelled our flight.
It is well located just off Taksim Square so bus and metro services are on the doorstep.
Staff were reasonably friendly and helpful, rooms appeared to be clean but the hotel has all the charm of a left luggage depot. When you walk in the door you just can't help feeling sad...and that is not the emotion I expect when first checking in...the lobby is depressing and the lack of lighting does nothing to help (half the area had no lights on at all). On the first floor the restaurant area is large and lack-lustre with lighting more appropriate to a bus station and certainly not somewhere anyone would want to sit for a meal. (which we had to the first day we arrived for lunch but after that we just ate out as we did not want to sit, on our own, in the empty dining room, particularly as there are so many great restaurants in the area).
The standard rooms are long and narrow and felt quite claustrophobic - however the reception did offer us an alternative room on the 8th floor which was a lot better in term of light and there was a balcony outside which offered views over the town to the Bosphorus. (However we could not get out to it as it was locked). The bed unfortunately felt like it was made of straw and while the sheet fit the bed the duvet only came to the top edge of the mattress so luckily the heating worked as otherwise it would have been rather cold as the moment someone turned over in the bed..the duvet would stop covering you.
The "amenities" offered in the room were a small bar of soap by the hand basin in the bathroom (and only when in the shower did it become apparent that it was the only piece of soap in the room !). The bathroom itself was small with no external ventilation. There was a tiny sewing kit in the desk drawer. The "mini-bar" had seen better days and needed a clean (both inside and around the cabinet) The room was carpeted but also felt a bit like straw underfoot.
The lifts were rather small and dark and well worn..and the hallway carpets just looked like they needed replacing. There is a pool, sauna and hamman area in the basement..but it also seemed small, dark and well worn to the extent it almost seemed seedy...(plus there is a 10TL additional charge to use the sauna). The whole place has good bones...but the appearance of being managed by people with no interest in customer service. If you want a bed in a hotel near to Taksim Square this passes the test but don't expect anything other than the bare minimum.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors might fell less claustrophobic
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

Around Crystal Hotel you'll find a lot of other Internationl Hotels on Istanbul's "Hotel Island" just 50 m from the Havas Bus Istanbul Taskim Square. Around the hotel are a lot of nice and international Restaurants (japonese, frenh, turkish, thai, italian...) and the main shopping street is close. Good breakfast, normal rooms. 'Would come back.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

I went to Istanbul on a work conference & was advised we were staying at the Crystal Hotel. All the reviews were not great so I was not expecting much. This hotel is a 5 min walk from Taksim Square. When I arrived at my room, I was pleasantly surprised. The rooms were a decent size & the beds & pillows were very comfortable. The bathroom was also great, except the shower was in the bath (with a glass door which I loved) but some people could find this difficult getting in & out as the side of the bath is higher than normal.

The breakfast is not great but I found Istanbul pretty affordable so was happy to go have breakfast else where...so I do recommend taking the room without breakfast.

I highly recommend this hotel if you are a true traveller, meaning you just need somewhere which is clean & safe & to sleep...as the rest of the time you will be out & about.

Room Tip: If you are south african & going for less than 30 days to Turkey, skip all the visa lines when y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tehran
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

this was our first trip to Istanbul.the hotel was good sp. good situation in taxim square.the worst thing about all the taxim hotels is the crowd and noise.from 7 am to12 pm you coud not open the window.the staff were good but the management was poor.one ofthe front desk man was unpolite and somehow rude.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms are very clean and comfortable. Perfect location, close to everything and the view is amazing. The restaurant is very nice, with a variety of food, different than any other 4 stars hotel i stayed in before. I recommend this hotel for anyone wants to enjoy his/her stay in Istanbul whether with friends or family.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

Everything was perfect , the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The house cleaning staff are very clean and neat. The hotel location is perfect close to everything, restaurants, cafes, supermarket and pharmacy. The hotel is quiet and you can have a good relaxation with the different services, the pool and massage everything and at the same time it is close to the crowd if u wanna go out and enjoy. The food was really nice and they variety of the buffet is really good , i really enjoys the vacation in this hotel, and by the way this is the 6th time i go to this hotel, "I LOVE IT". And i really respect the general manager for his effort, and he helped me once when my reservation was cancelled in another hotel, i went to this hotel by coincidence and he welcomed us and was very supportive and reserved a room for me on the spot. I really appreciate this hotel and whenever i'll go to Istanbul i will go there. I recommend it and enjoy ur vacation :)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crystal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Hotel

Address: Receppasa Caddesi No 7 | Taksim, Istanbul 80090, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#363 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Crystal Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Crystal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal Hotel Istanbul
Hotel Crystal Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crystal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.