We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not good but good location” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Lion Hotel

Save Saved
You added Lion Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lion Hotel
Lamartine Cad No 41 Taksim, Beyoglu, Istanbul 80090, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #779 of 899 hotels in Istanbul
Athens
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“not good but good location”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

If you are the kind of traveller who doesn't stay at the hotel and wants a B&B that is definitelly a good choice!Breakfast was ok but the rooms were far below standard. Clean sheets but filthy carpets, broken bathtubes etc.However...the location is VERY GOOD. just outside taksim square. you can choose some other hotel (the area is full of them.)
I don't know the exact price because it was with a group package. They didn;t speak good english but they try to be helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    11
    18
    21
    18
See reviews for
16
12
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
rasht
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

i have been in this hotel once for four nights but i was not pleased with the staff and the service. .The breakfast was so basic and cold and the place smelled terrible.the only positive point goes to the location which was just a short walk to taksim square and it was so close to metro station.all in all if you are just planning to stay out and just for bed and breakfast need a hotel it can be a reasonable choice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shiraz, Fars, Iran
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

the hotel was dirty and facility was not good. only breakfast was good. i had chosen another hotel but the tour reserved for me this hotel but they took me price of another hotel. the name of tour agency is سفیران تراول '' safiran travel'' . i highly recommend that no use of this tour and this hotel

Room Tip: not recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

This is by far one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed at, I would definitely advise against it.
This hotel is graded as a 4 star hotel, although it lacks the quality, service and hygiene level of a 2 or 3 star hotel.
The rooms are incredibly small and are stuck to each other to the point where I could hear the person occupying the room next to mine use his bathroom.
On our first night, we were woken up at 2 am by a guest who was convinced that her son was staying in our room, she felt the need to wake him up by banging on our door. The following day we complained to the management who gave us impression that this was fairly normal, yet they dryly agreed to move us to another room.
Our second room was not much better, although it did not have an unsettling smell as our first one, the bathroom was just as disgusting, if not worse. There are cracked tiles all over the bathroom, the toilet seat is stained, mildew covers the entire tub and the tap doesn't work properly. You also need to be careful with the towels, some of them are completely frayed, during my stay I found a ball of hair stuffed in one of the "clean" towels, the following day, one of the towels was stained.
It would've been pointless to complain at that point because the management lack basic communication skills and have shown no indication of any propriety, professionalism or decency.
Finally, on our last day, we asked for a late check out and paid an extra charge that extended our check out time till 4 pm. When we asked if it were possible to push it till 5 pm, the management simply refused without providing any explanation. (It could not have possibly been a full occupancy, the hotel was pretty much vacant).
I find it offensive that this hotel is graded as a 4 star one, I'm not sure what kind of standard was used when giving it such a rating. I don't expect management to respond, however if they do I expect a template apology which I most certainly do not accept. Istanbul is a city vibrant with tourism, it is offensive that you profit from ripping your guests off.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tel aviv
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

- The linen and towels were clean but the carpets were filfthy
-the toilet seats were stained, perhaps not clean
-the first room were in was small had a mould smell and the bathroom not clean.
-the second room was bigger with a nice view but the carpet was worse and there was the worst ever smell of raw sewage from the bathroom. it seems to come and go.
- there was a strange loud noise throughout the day which was annoying.
- the breakfast was lousy. they do not cater for foreigners who don't eat salads for breakfast. The only fruit were oranges. This is not the type of breakfast one could expect from a four star hotel
- the staff at the front desk was not helpful. there was only one friendly person who spoke english. I know its in turkey but they cater for international tourists.
-the hotel is not near to the main tourist attractions.
jireh grobler

Room Tip: the top floor had a better view but noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran, Iran
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I was in Lion Hotel for three night and I found the place quite clean with an average breakfast. Hotel is in a very good and alive location and near the Istiklal walking street which you may find lots of cafes, bars, pubs, clubs and so on. Lion hotel is in a old building without swimming pool but you can use Crystal hotel swimming pool by Lion hotel room card which is nearby. Staff are kind but rooms are very small and quite noisy with no good view.
Totally I can recommend this hotel for solo traveler who are not interested in staying in hotel for a long time and who are looking for a bed and breakfast and live location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

I'm in the hotel at this time, the room is too warm, because the air condition is off until 5:00 PM, the pictures in this site are not real, the pool that you see in this website is not in this hotel and it is close. Breakfast is too normal same as a hotel with mabe 1 star. This hotel is not 4 star mabe 1 or even 0 star.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lion Hotel

Address: Lamartine Cad No 41 Taksim, Beyoglu, Istanbul 80090, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #779 of 899 hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lion Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.