We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, Great City” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yasmak Sultan Hotel

Save Saved
You added Yasmak Sultan Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Yasmak Sultan Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ebusuud Caddesi No:12 | Sirkeci, Istanbul 34410, Turkey (Sirkeci)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #19 of 901 hotels in Istanbul
Pleasanton, California, USA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great hotel, Great City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We spent three nights in Istanbul after arriving on a cruise. Our friend, a travel agent, made reservations for us at the Yasmak Sultan, and it was a great hotel. Location was ideal, withing walking distance of many attractions and shopping areas. Staff were very attentive, rooftop bar with great views of Hagia Sophia was a plus and dinner was excellent. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yasmaksultanhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Yasmak Sultan Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of The Yasmak Sultan. We are grateful for your feedback. It is so pleasing to hear that you found our restaurant great, and location was convienent for you. Thank you for your kind comments about the staff as well, we are continuously working to enhance our guests’ experience.

Please do come and visit us again soon.

Warm Regards,

Zumre Asal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,209 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    846
    291
    48
    19
    5
See reviews for
213
497
60
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We were fortunate to have selected Yasmak Sultan Hotel for our recent visit to Istanbul, which we did because it appeared to be centrally located.

The hotel exceeded our expectations in every way. In addition to its location and proximity to the tram station, the hotel was superb.......the cleanliness, service, food, courtesy of the staff and the assistance they provided to us was unbeatable.

We'll certainly stay here again on our next visit to Istanbul and would recommend this hotel to other visitors

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yasmaksultanhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Yasmak Sultan Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of The Yasmak Sultan. We are grateful for your feedback. It is so pleasing to hear that you found our restaurant great, and location was convienent for you. Thank you for your kind comments about the staff as well, we are continuously working to enhance our guests’ experience.

Please do come and visit us again soon.

Warm Regards,

Zumre Asal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

The Yasmak Sultan Hotel is in one of the best locations. It is only a few minutes walk from all the major attractions, it is located close to a tram line and then only a few minutes to the ferry docking points. Nearby the hotel are some excellent restaurants that offer traditional Turkish cuisine and other more American style meals. So on location this hotel is excellent.
Service within the hotel is definitely the most impressive. Zumre helped us determine the best routes to take in order to use our time effectively. She gave us detailed information on the sites, telling us the best times to go and the best order to see the sites in order to avoid the major crowds. In all situations Zumre was excellent and always made herself available just to ensure that we had the best stay that we possible could.
The rooms were small, however, still luxurious. Free water was provided every day which is always of benefit. All the other facilities of the hotel were excellent and do provide for a great stay. Breakfast every morning was excellent, providing a large spread of fruits, cereals, breads, hot food and traditional Turkish breakfast. There was also a chef on hand who would cook omelettes and eggs in the way you ask for.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yasmaksultanhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Yasmak Sultan Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of The Yasmak Sultan. We are grateful for your feedback. It is so pleasing to hear that you found our restaurant great, and location was convienent for you. Thank you for your kind comments about the staff as well, we are continuously working to enhance our guests’ experience.

Please do come and visit us again soon.

Warm Regards,

Zumre Asal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

I travel a lot - a single, retired woman - and am sometimes a little disappointed by the treatment I receive in hotels...but not the Yasmak Sultan! My room was delightful and the bathroom had all the "cute" little treats that make a big difference. (love the soap packages). I liked being on the street where the shops were open late and enjoyed listening to the sounds of people during the late evening.
The breakfast really needed a few hours to be really appreciated! I couldn't eat all of the delicacies that were on offer (although I did my best!). The views from the rooftop restaurant are magnificent - Istanbul at your feet.
The customer service department is great, especially Zumre - whose fluent Engish made it easier to understand how to get around the city (tram/tourist buses). I know that having some-one speak English shouldn't be a pre-requisite for enjoying a holiday, but it makes it more relaxed. And of course, all the main sites are in walking distance (so you can go back for a rest in between visits!)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yasmaksultanhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Yasmak Sultan Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of The Yasmak Sultan. We are grateful for your feedback. It is so pleasing to hear that you found our restaurant great, and location was convienent for you. Thank you for your kind comments about the staff as well, we are continuously working to enhance our guests’ experience.

Please do come and visit us again soon.

Warm Regards,

Zumre Asal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Wonderful hotel, with an excellent location, in the historical center, right next to the Topkapi Palace and Haya Sophia, and only a few minutes walk to the Blue Mosque. Excellent services, good spa, and a very nice, always smiling personnel.
Wonderful view on Haya Sophia from the restaurant and great breakfast buffet.
Really easy access to public transports, just a few meters down the street, very convenient to visit the rest of the city.
Useful advice from the very nice Guest Relations personnel.
We'd definitely stay there again if we were to come back to Istanbul!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yasmaksultanhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Yasmak Sultan Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of The Yasmak Sultan. We are grateful for your feedback. It is so pleasing to hear that you found our restaurant great, and location was convienent for you. Thank you for your kind comments about the staff as well, we are continuously working to enhance our guests’ experience.

Please do come and visit us again soon.

Warm Regards,

Zumre Asal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

-Location – 5/5

-Room – 4/5 (average room, but good for the price we paid). Clean; modern; comfortable bed; decent bathroom with a great shower; good natural and electrical lighting; air con was hit n’ miss but that might have been our fault in failing to learn how to use it and/or report it; table/desk small, not suitable for business or study; room size – good.

-Breakfast – 5/5 (Included in room price). Huge selection of food, with a beautiful view.

-Restaurant – 5/5 (additional). We had the steak and filled chicken and both were excellent.

-Pool/Spa/Gym – 1/5 The pool and gym are tiny and the spa bath was cold!!! (Apparently due to government regulations). The latter was a huge disappointment.

-Massage – 1/5 Although the guy wasn’t inappropriate in a sexual way, he did make my wife feel really uncomfortable, so that she couldn’t relax and enjoy the experience. He also seemed really amateurish.

Service
Zumbre (Customer Service Manager) – 5/5 Zumbre was unbelievably superb. She was helpful, friendly, informative, considerate, cheerful and (most importantly), positive when we gave some mild criticism. Instead of being defensive (a natural response), she listened AND resolved what she could, (sadly she couldn’t make the spa pool hot). She worked tirelessly to make our stay easy and enjoyable. Along with the location, she is the best asset (for want of a better word), the hotel has.

-Rest of the staff – 4/5 Mostly helpful, friendly and occasionally funny.

Overall 5/5 Largely due to Zumbre and the location.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yasmaksultanhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Yasmak Sultan Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of The Yasmak Sultan. We are grateful for your feedback. It is so pleasing to hear that you found our restaurant great, and location was convienent for you. Thank you for your kind comments about the staff as well, we are continuously working to enhance our guests’ experience.

Please do come and visit us again soon.

Warm Regards,

Zumre Asal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidwelly
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

The hotel is in an excellent location for sightseeing and the staff were very friendly and professional. Their best idea is their Guest Relations Manager who comes round at breakfast to offer excellent advice about your proposed trips etc. Zamre was a delightful lady who was a pleasure to chat to as well as very informative. Rooms were also great and I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: It depends on how much extra you want to pay. We booked a larger corner room on the fourth floor and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yasmaksultanhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Yasmak Sultan Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of The Yasmak Sultan. We are grateful for your feedback. It is so pleasing to hear that you found our restaurant great, and location was convienent for you. Thank you for your kind comments about the staff as well, we are continuously working to enhance our guests’ experience.

Please do come and visit us again soon.

Warm Regards,

Zumre Asal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Yasmak Sultan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yasmak Sultan Hotel

Address: Ebusuud Caddesi No:12 | Sirkeci, Istanbul 34410, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sirkeci , Sultanahmet - Old City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#12 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#13 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#17 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#27 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Yasmak Sultan Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yasmak Sultan Hotel is a charming four star hotel in Istanbul that places you in the epicenter of the cultural heritage of this Eternal City. Rooms are newly renovated to offer our guests the harmony, comfort and warm atmosphere they deserve. From our hotel you have easy access to all of the most important, most magical sights both of ancient Costantinople and modern Istanbul. Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace, Basilica Cistern and the Grand Bazaar are at your doorstep. All that Istanbul's Old City Center has to offer is within walking distance of the Yasmak Sultan Hotel. Our hotel features Sultan Spa offering indulgent treatments, meeting facilities and exceptional dining experiences on the rooftop of Olive Restaurant which serves exceptional Turkish Cuisine while you take in the breathraking views of the Bosphorus, Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia. Our goal is to provide you with the genuine feel of Turkish hospitality during your stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Yasmak Sultan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Yasmak Sultan
Yasmak Sultan Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yasmak Sultan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.