We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eresin Hotel, Istanbul, Sultanahmet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eresin Crown Hotel Sultanahmet

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Eresin Crown Hotel Sultanahmet to your Saves list
Eresin Crown Hotel Sultanahmet
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kucukayasofya Cad. No 40 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey (Sultanahmet - Old City)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free room upgrade
Ranked #228 of 944 Hotels in Istanbul
San Rafael, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Eresin Hotel, Istanbul, Sultanahmet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Eresin has a terrific hotel in the center of the old city of Istanbul. This hotel is new and up-to-date with every feature needed. The staff is very attentative and personal. We had absolutely no problems during our four night's stay. Without a doubt, we would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a convenient location and full service.

Room Tip: Within the Center of Istanbul, Eresin had every feature important to us: WIFI internet, cable TV, mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    99
    28
    13
    3
See reviews for
43
151
15
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Room 105 is small twin room -only room for one bedside table. It is very dark -the window is small and is blocked (within 1metre) by the side of a derelict building next door - if you lean out you see past the rusty railings to lines of washing hanging in the alley. There is no aircon - it was warm and stuffy in our room when we arrived -we were told the aircon does not work in the hotel -'until about 18 months' (sic)
I know how often next door went to the toilet while I was in bed - the seat lifting woke me, I heard what they did, whether they used the toilet roll etc; the flushing was deafening . My headboard must have been within 10cm of the bathroom.
Our bathroom was luxurious and well supplied with towels, bathrobe, toiletries etc.
The room had one chair and a chair bed - both were 'tired' and uncomfortable. There was barely enough light in the room to read a book.
The breakfast was fresh and tasty -I hadn't realised how much I would miss pork products at breakfast (my fault) , there were no hot vegetables (eg mushrooms, tomatoes) so I ended up eating fruit ,cheese -'continental' style breakfast foods.
I don't think the hotel had a gym, swimming pool which you might expect at the price we paid. (£190/night) for 2 of us.
The hotel was only 2 mins from the hippodrome (just turn left up from the hotel and carry on walking up!), 5 mins from the tram, mosque, topkapi etc all very convenient.
Staff at breakfast and room service very charming (women) Men and reception staff seemed a bit less friendly.
Generally, this is not a five star hotel, and, for our room, seemed very expensive. Had some redeeming features though.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Well the hotel was fine, I would rate it as 4 stars not 5 stars. It's a medium sized hotel but it has a relatively small restaurant. There are round tables for around 6 people so you will share one of these tables in the morning with other people. The breakfast is fine. The staff tries their best but on our last day which was Sunday morning, it was very crowded and the restaurant were a bit behind in serving guests.

We took a triple bed room, it's size is nice however the third side bed which was mine was not good and not even. The hotel is decorated with old style and artifacts however it is not very well maintained, there was some paint off and stuff like that, I would it rate it as 4 stars. The lobby is nice with big couches and decoration Roman columns.
One thing I didn't like is that the walls are thin, Saturday night was wild, I was clearly hearing the couple next door hitting it although their voices were not loud! that was awkward.

Here is why the location is not so good. I have been to Istanbul 3 times, and although the hotel is in the old Sultanahmet area, it closer to the sea than it is to the historical places, it is around 10 minutes walking from the main road where the tram passes. It is true that this hotel is somehow close to the nice restaurants in Akbik street but I would prefer a hotel close the tram and the main road to be able to reach all parts of Istanbul for transportation more easily. The hotel is somehow down the hill with no main road near it. So we had to walk everyday 10 minutes to reach the main road to use the tram because it is the easiest and cheapest form of transportation.
You would take a day or two to visit Sultan Ahmet mosque, Ayia Sophia and Topkapi palace in the old city but you have think about the other places to visit as well, to be closer to the main road where most of the shops are and where you can reach the Grand Bazaar, the spice bazaar and Eminonu station which is the point of departure of the bosphorus tours not to mention using the tram and under ground escalator to reach Taksim and Istiklal street and all the huge malls in Istanbul
On the other hand, one good thing about the location is that there is a small bazaar near the hotel and Masalla cafe which has Turkish nights singing and shisha (water pipe) everyday for extraordinary times.
I am really puzzled what to rate the hotel, if there was a mark between average and very good, I would have chosen it, so my rating will be 3.5/5.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mubis, Manager at Eresin Crown Hotel Sultanahmet, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Our Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for choosing Eresin Crown to stay in Istanbul. I am so sorry and surprised that our hotel’s location did not meet with your expectation, as you said Eresin Crown is located right in the old city center of Istanbul in Sultanahmet and 5-10 minutes’ walk to many major historical attractions including the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, The Hippodrome, Topkapi Palace and 15 minutes to Grand Bazaar and 1-2 minutes to sea and main Kenedy sea road so I am not sure what the real problem that disturb you was about our location.
The main point that Eresin Crown has a special license from the Government as a ''Special Category Hotel'' it doesn't really mean any star but it is a Boutique Museum Deluxe Hotel with 59 rooms and 5 suits. The license given to us for the special things that Eresin Crown offers to our guests. There are 49 historical monuments from 2nd, 3rd centuries BC to 5th, 6th centuries AD in the building. It is all found when the building was under construction and displayed in the general areas and it is all registered by The Turkish Archaeological Museum. It is the first and only sample of it in all over Turkey. There is also a Private Art Collection with 168 paintings on the theme of Byzantine and Ottoman life, decorate the suites and rooms of our Hotel. And there is a beautiful exact copies of Ottoman Iznik tiles collection dating from 1400-1500 AD and displayed a long with the Eresin Crown Crown’s fascinating finds. That’s why Eresin Crown is so unique in Istanbul. We should have given you a book about our hotel to explain all but if we haven’t given you our book please contact us and we will send you one of our book as a our sincere apologies.
We suggest you to check our other hotels in Taksim area to stay for your next trips, I am sure you will like Eresin Taxim & Premier more, as being a bigger city hotel, right in the new city center in Istanbul in Taksim, it will be more convenient for you to go modern side of Istanbul by walking.
Once again, I am so sorry that we couldn’t make your stay as enjoyable as you expected. We look forward to see you at one of our chain hotel in Istanbul again in the near future.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vienna
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Perfect Location for a short trip! All the mayor sights are located in walking distance, making the Eresin Crown the perfect base to explore the historical Istanbul. From the terrace you can enjoy a great view of the Blue Mosque and the Bosporus. Very friendly staff, they will help you with anything and they are obviously well informed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Eresin Crown was a wonderful hotel. The location was perfect, a 2 minute walk to the Blue Mosque and the Hippodrome. Close to many other historic attractions. The hotel itself was beautifully decorated and the room was comfortable and relaxing. The staff were extraordinarily helpful with directions, suggestions and made dinner reservations for us. From research on Tip Advisor we intended on going to the Terrace Restaurant but decided on a different restaurant for our last day. Before leaving for the airport we decided to check out the view from the terrace. It was unbelievably breathtaking. Definitely NOT to be missed!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Wonderful hotel in a lovely, safe area of the old town and close to major tourist attractions. Very friendly and helpful staff. Historical structures and antiques throughout the hotel. Close to restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

If you want a top class hotel very close to all the sights look no further than this hotel.
It oozes with style and sophistication, the staff are second to none.
Without asking we were upgraded up on arrival to a lovely room overlooking the street in front of the hotel. It helped make our Valentine break a memorable one.
Over the past few years we have taken a 3 day break to celebrate Valentines day staying in 4 or 5 star hotels in places such as Edinburgh,Venice,Warsaw,Marrakesh this hotel was near the top of the list.
If I was looking for negatives the breakfast could have had a better choice and the drinks at the bar are expensive, but don't let this put you off.

Once again a big thank you to the staff they were excellent

If you want cheap food/drink try the Stone House just around the corner.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Eresin Crown Hotel Sultanahmet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eresin Crown Hotel Sultanahmet

Address: Kucukayasofya Cad. No 40 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet - Old City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#108 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#131 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#164 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Eresin Crown Hotel Sultanahmet 5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eresin Crown Hotel is an exclusive boutique,museum hotel,located in Sultanahmet.The heart of Istanbul's historical part,adjacent to the tourist,business,entertainment and shopping areas.To admire Istanbul's museums and architectural one does not need to stay in line and wait.Eresin Crown offers personalised quality service and comfort.The Eresin Crown Hotel private museum comprises of;a cistern,mosaic and 49 historical and architectural extraordinary museum pieces from the Hellenistic and Byzantium time.All of these historical and architectural heritage pieces are officially registered by the archaeological museum of Istanbul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Eresin Crown Hotel Sultanahmet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eresin Crown Istanbul
Hotel Eresin Crown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eresin Crown Hotel Sultanahmet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.