We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah to your Saves list
Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mesrutiyet Cad. Tepebasi, No:52 | Beyoglu, Istanbul 34430, Turkey   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3 nights, pay for 2
Ranked #84 of 945 Hotels in Istanbul
Panama City, Panama
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Exceptionally beautiful and full of history.
Walking distance to most places of interest including Taksim square.
Staff is extremely attentive, to a level rarely seen anywhere.
The rooms are impeccable. They still have beautiful old furniture but also have all the latest amenities, including electrically operated curtains.
Everything has been restored to perfect condition.
You can still ride in the original elevator in which Agatha Christie rode, the first electrical elevator in Turkey.

One can find lodging for a lot less, however the experience is worth it if you can fit it in your budget.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PinarKartalTimer, General Manager at Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Pera Palace Hotel Jumeirah, the pearl of Istanbul.
We very much appreciate your positive feedback regarding all our facilities and I would also like to thank you sincerely for your kind words regarding our colleagues.

We do hope that we can welcome you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Pınar Kartal Timer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    144
    39
    12
    10
See reviews for
87
264
30
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Stayed here accidentally. The standard rooms are very small and hardly deserve the price. All rooms have been renovated and the hotel has lost its flavor. The renovation has not done its past justice. True, before the renovation, it was only a nostalgia hotel, but now it is just like any luxury hotel. the location is fine, but due to the gentrification around the hotel area, the authentic and rustic environment is damaged more and more. The hotel is part of that process anyway. Not to be stayed on account of its history.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PinarKartalTimer, General Manager at Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay with us on Tripadvisor.
Your valuable feedback is important to ensure that we continually deliver the service Pera Palace Hotel Jumeirah is renowned for.
I am sad to hear that our restoration did not meet your expectation, although the regulations and directions of authorities are strictly followed.
Once again, thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

Sincerely

Pınar Kartal-Timer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland Heights, Ohio
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

What a delight! Staying at the Pera Palace is like stepping back in time not only in the historical details and decor of the hotel but due to a level of service rarely experienced in the modern world. 5+ stars! Luxury, sevice, history, friendliness in one location.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PinarKartalTimer, General Manager at Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Pera Palace Hotel Jumeirah, the pearl of Istanbul.
We very much appreciate your positive feedback regarding all our facilities and I would also like to thank you sincerely for your kind words regarding our colleagues.

We do hope that we can welcome you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Pınar Kartal Timer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
318 reviews 318 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

How could one pass this up. Back in the days when the Orient Express ended up in Istanbul, the hotel to go to was the Pera Palace. Agatha Christie was here, and it was where she opened up "Murder on the Orient Express." Her room is still preserved. Jumeirah Hotels have taken over and refurbished the old place, and it gives a wonderful feeling of a bygone era with modern amenities. The staff is outstanding, never without a smile, and always anxious to help. The concierge service is superb. If one feels at a loss in a huge city like Istanbul, the Concierge desk will always help you out. The rooms are great, and you feel like you want to jump into your white linen suit, grab your walking stick and go for a stroll. The hotel is close to plenty of places to eat, and good shopping. We were even welcomed back for a few hours when we returned to Istanbul and had some time to kill before our flight.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PinarKartalTimer, General Manager at Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on TripAdvisor.
I was delighted to read that you found the hotel beautiful and full of history, which we are realy proud of.
Furthermore, I was very pleased to hear your kind comments about the our concierge team, which I have shared with each and every one of them.
Thank you for recommending Pera Palace Hotel Jumeirah - we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on another occasion.

Kind regards

Pınar Kartal Timer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

An amazing hotel with the best service I have ever encountered while travelling. Have the afternoon or morning tea and let the staff choose your teas. You will not be disappointed. The decoration of the rooms is outstanding.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PinarKartalTimer, General Manager at Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Guest ,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor with regards to your recent stay at Pera Palace Hotel Jumeirah.

I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and acknowledge our new tea selection that we've just introduced to our valued guests.

Thank you once again, for your comments and for your support, and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Jumeirah in the near future.

Sincerely,

Pınra Kartal Timer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed the Pera Palace recently on the tail end of our honeymoon. We spent very little time at the hotel, as we were out visiting sites or having dinner almost all of the time. That said, we enjoyed the hotel very much.

The location is very good. It is a short taxi ride to the old city (10-15 minutes). We actually made the walk one day--about 35 minutes. Free tip--the taxis in Istanbul are very inexpensive. The hotel is also very close to a number of outstanding restaurants. We ate at a handful of restaurants within a 10 minute walk, and I'm sure there are hundreds more very close by. The hotel itself is very charming. The public areas exude an old-world charm that you just don't see in more recently built hotels. The room itself was small but more than sufficient. It was clean, and the bed was comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful on the few occasions we called on them.

In particular, we were able to arrange a full-day guide service the night before. Our guide, Uklu Smisek with Travellium, was remarkable. We enjoyed spending the day with her and learning about the sites. It was like seeing everything with a long-time friend who happened to know about the history behind everything we were seeing. So if you want to use a guide service (which I recommend highly), Pera Palace's arrangements will more than do the job. (And I would highly recommend Uklu in particular.)

To sum it up, Pera Palace is a charming hotel in a good location that provides good value.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PinarKartalTimer, General Manager at Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting such a positive review on TripAdvisor, following your recent stay at Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah.

I was very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is good to know that the rooms and their facilities and our location provided such added value for you.

I have shared your kind feedback with the rest of the team especially your guide Ülkü, they were equally delighted to know that their efforts are highly appreciated by our guests.

Once again, thank you very much for your kind words. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back at Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah, hopefully in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Pınar Kartal Timer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

The hotel is historic and beautiful but service is not 5 or even 4 star. Our Ernest Hemingway room was sold as water view but instead we got a view of the noisy construction next door. The TV in the living room had regular problems and we had to call the maintenance 3 times to fix the TV.


The housekeeping missed cleaning certain areas of our room and we had to call to get them to come back and do a thorough cleaning. On our day of arrival we had breakfast on the terrace and the waitress did not speak English?! We had to write down what we wanted. We asked for eggs and toast and we got omelet and a cheese sandwich and the bill was for $65 USD which is outrageous for just eggs and toast.

I left my Mac Book Air Charger in the room and after contacting them, they said it was in security but due to Eid, they had to wait several days to ship it to US. I gave them our Fedex number to ship and it has been 3 weeks and have not received the charger yet.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PinarKartalTimer, General Manager at Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Guest ;

We are sorry for the series of inconveniences that you had experienced during your stay with us.
We have taken your respective and detailed comments into very serious consideration and further actions are already in place.
We are looking forward to host you again both in our hotel and restaurants & bars to experience the improvements.


Best Regards

Pınar Kartal Timer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah

Address: Mesrutiyet Cad. Tepebasi, No:52 | Beyoglu, Istanbul 34430, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#47 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#48 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#50 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#64 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah 5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gazing over the golden years of history, Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah overlooks the magnificent view of the Golden Horn and is located in Tepebaşı district of Pera once known as the “Little Europe”. With its 115 rooms, including 16 suites, retaining the characteristics of the 19th century elegance through historical furniture, the hotel combines refined elegance with state-of the-art technology to fulfill the needs of 21st century travellers. Enjoy a range of revitalized restaurant and bar choices, including the Agatha Restaurant, The Kubbeli Saloon, the French style Patisserie de Pera and the legendary Orient Bar & Terrace and rejuvenate yourself in the soothing atmosphere of Pera Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Jumeirah International, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pera Palas Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.