We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful historical Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah

Save Saved
You added Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mesrutiyet Cad. Tepebasi, No:52 | Beyoglu, Istanbul 34430, Turkey   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 901 hotels in Istanbul
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful historical Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Stayed 3 nights at this hotel purely for the fact that it was going to have character and we were not disappointed.
Things we particularly liked:
Room size - stayed
in a studio which was double the same of standard room apparently
Agatha bar - beautiful velvet seats in a tastefully-lit bar
Breakfast was extensive - with additional choice of freshly made eggs and omelettes as well as waffles/pancakes if desired.
Afternoon tea - unlimited canapes and sandwiches and again extensive choice of tea
Spa/Hamman - convenient and again free of charge as hotel guests

Few things to 'beware of' though:
The rooms have wooden floors hence if you are on one of the lower floors you can hear people walking above quite easily
The hotel is situated in the nightclub area so again if you are facing the street you will hear the noise particularly if you are on one of the lower floors.

I believe the rooms get smaller as you are higher up so you have to think of either noise reduction or size of room which of those is your priority.

We would definitely stay again at this hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter but not as big. Go for the rooms away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    308
    120
    30
    11
    8
See reviews for
62
209
27
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
291 helpful votes 291 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Stayed at this hotel as the base for our 3 day shopping and sight trip of Istanbul. Its an easy taxi access to the main sights in the old area and a great base for evening entertainment. The staff in the hotel are all very friendly and helpful and quite rightly very proud of their wonderful hotel. We were impressed with how good the service was and the attention to detail. We spent one evening in the hotel, eating in a light meal in the hotel bar whilst listening to live jazz - a very pleasant evening. The other evenings there were a large number of excellent restaurants and bars all within close walking distance.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

If you are used to the Jumeirah quality and service then you won't be disappointed to stay at this property. Unfortunately I only stayed there for one night but I have stayed at other Jumeirah properties. These folks know how to do things the right way. Some rooms might be small but they are very comfortable. Location is excellent.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

This is one experience that lives up to the hype. This hotel is how travel should be. From the moment you arrive and they bring you tea and a hot cloth to leaving for the airport at 3:30 am and having someone at your door to haul your bags, this hotel is perfection. Not cheap, but worth every penny. The spa/hammam was very relaxing after having two more traditional hamam experiences. (The pool area is small and the hot tub is not hot). Agatha, the restaurant, had immaculate service and a lovely wine list. The legendary Orient bar was divine. If you can afford it, and even if you can't, you should stay here a least once in your life.

Room Tip: didn't opt for a view of the Golden Horn but might the next time
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed at Pera Palace for three nights in early September and stayed in a deluxe golden horn view room. I believe our room number was 604, six being the top floor of the hotel. In the end, we decided Beyoğlu was preferable to Sultanahmet because of its more lively atmosphere and abundance of excellent nightlife. However, you do sacrifice proximity to most tourist sites. It's a short cab ride to the old city, but access to public transportation from Pera Palace is a bit of a walk. We probably would have banged out a few more tourist locations had we stayed in Sultanahmet, but I believe Beyoğlu offers a more authentic experience of the living city. If I had it to do over, I'd choose Pera Palace. The Marmara Pera hotel is right across the street. By comparison it looks like a soviet era barrack.

Positives
-The hotel radiates a palpable sense of history. On arrival you are escorted to your hotel via the hotel's original elevator, which was the first elevator in Turkey. History echoes throughout.
-Rooms are a generously sized and furnished to a high standard. I found the bed to be very comfortable. Our room had a small balcony, but with enough room for a small table and two chairs. The balcony, overlooking the golden horn was an excellent alternative to rooftop hotel bars for sunset cocktails.
-The location is excellent. There are many fine restaurants within walking distance. Also, you will not suffer for lack of drinking establishments. People from all over the city come to Beyoğlu to party.
-The breakfast was very good. Options include both Turkish and Western food. The pastries and fresh fruit are excellent.
-You don't often say it for a hotel in this category, but Pera Palace offers excellent value for money.

Negatives
-Noise from nearby nightclubs, especially on weekend nights, can be distracting.
-The swimming pool area was underwhelming. The pool is in the basement and tiny. The water temperature in the hot tub was lukewarm.
-The bathroom was a slight disappointment. You have to step into a slightly elevated tub to shower. I can imagine this being difficult to negotiate for older travelers. Also, their was a stinky smell that emanated for the drain beneath the tub.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise and better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in May 2012 just weeks after the management had been taken over by Jumeirah. I had a history with this property because I had seen it prior to the renovations back in 1998. The transformation and restoration is incredible and the property remains a delicious nugget of Istanbul's past.

Our room and bathroom were really compact but lovely. It's a property with character that was built in the late 1890's so don't expect spacious Marriott style rooms and you'll be fine.

The breakfast was first class. The staff at the hotel were super friendly. My favourite feature of the property is their al fresco bar on a terrace overlooking the Golden Horn. It is a perfect spot to watch the sun set over the fascinating city of Istanbul over a delicious Kir Royale.

The hotel is located in an resurgent part of the city and with the aide of a little restaurant guide that a friend lent us we found some brilliant little restaurants within the local neighbourhood. It was really nice to be away from the melee of restaurants elsewhere in the city with "tourist menus".

Highly recommend the hotel if you are looking for a really high standard property with real character.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Friendly staff, good
Location to walk around. The only sadness is no outside swimming pool.

Great breakfast each day and you must visit room 101! President Arafat . They have a very nice outside bar. We stayed in the Ernest Hermingway suite which was charming.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah

Address: Mesrutiyet Cad. Tepebasi, No:52 | Beyoglu, Istanbul 34430, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#42 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#48 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#51 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#66 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gazing over the golden years of history, Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah overlooks the magnificent view of the Golden Horn and is located in Tepebaşı district of Pera once known as the “Little Europe”. With its 115 rooms, including 16 suites, retaining the characteristics of the 19th century elegance through historical furniture, the hotel combines refined elegance with state-of the-art technology to fulfill the needs of 21st century travellers. Enjoy a range of revitalized restaurant and bar choices, including the Agatha Restaurant, The Kubbeli Saloon, the French style Patisserie de Pera and the legendary Orient Bar & Terrace and rejuvenate yourself in the soothing atmosphere of Pera Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Splendia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pera Palas Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.