We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far away from 5 Star Level” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah to your Saves list
Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mesrutiyet Cad. Tepebasi, No:52 | Beyoglu, Istanbul 34430, Turkey   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #87 of 979 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Berlin, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Far away from 5 Star Level”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

I was there for a 5 days and I never wanna go back to it again.

facte in a nutshell

unfriendly. noisy. no electrity for one whole evening and night. one day fot the whole morning cold water in the bathroom, no professional staff, only one lift.. for more than 100 rooms. cause the antic lift you cannot use alone and the second one is only for brining you to public areas not to the rooms.

It started with a very unfriedly guest realtionship manager, obviously she doesn't know what such a job needs for qualifications. Very unhelpful, undfriendly and stuck up she showed me my room and was no big help in case to question about landmarks and restaurant suggestion.

Second night i just was taking a shower all of the sudden, there was no electrity after one our of waiting in the dark, an a lot of fake explanations trhough the managment team i dressed up for dinner in the dark. 3 Hours later I came back to the hotel, there was still no electrity. Finally after long discussions, i was allowed to change to a room on a lower level which hat electrity but was even more noisy because it was located straight to one mainstreet.

The last day, i wanted to take a shower in the morning, but there was no warm water in the whole hotel...

this all sucks. it sucks even morge the the everage rate i pad was round about 300€ a night.
pera palace never again for me!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    163
    41
    12
    11
See reviews for
94
299
33
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
delhi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

My husband and I spent a week at Pera Palace, staying in the Pierre Lotti suite. Overall, the suite itself is beautiful, and extremely comfortable with all modern amenities. i would stay here again in a flash. Downsides: tiny bathtub, shower cubicle not properly sealed so water got all over the place. TV in the bedroom placed in a way that a DVD player couldn't be attached - wouldn't normally have been a problem, but I was 7 months pregnant at the time and needed to rest quite a bit and could have used the entertainment!

The combination lock on my suitcase refused to open, a problem which was speedily sorted out by housekeeping (broke the lock) .

Breakfast at Agatha was yummy and staff very friendly. Had a meal there once as well, was outstanding . Try the gaufrette !

The pool and spa area is poor- people kept coming and talking to the masseuse while my husband was having a massage.

Overall, we had a fab time- would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

Having stayed at the Pera Palas Hotel both before and after its 2010 renovation, my opinion is that while the quality of the lodging aspect of the product has been brought to a rather high modern standard, much of the old establishment’s nostalgic charm has been corralled into a few display cases containing historic documents of indifferent interest. Thankfully, the original elevator has been preserved, as has the décor of the Kubbeli Saloon, and the Ataturk museum room (open to the public by appointment) remains as it was during our original visit years ago. The renovation of the Orient Bar had not yet been completed during our late July, 2011 visit. The rooms and suites have been fully modernized and are spacious and well furnished, though without much ambience that would invoke the hotel’s Ottoman history. My overall rating for this property would be above average if this were the only factor considered.

The hotel’s implementation of a modern, customer-oriented service component has been less successful than the physical renovation. Individual staff members were, with a few exceptions, extremely pleasant and eager to oblige, when able to do so. For example, the concierge desk, having recommended a restaurant a few blocks away, sent along one of the young bellmen to walk with us through the area’s confusing maze of streets. That was nicely done. On the other hand, the concierge desk, when asked for restaurant recommendations, pushed several that have been identified in other reviews as “concierge favorites” at several of the big hotels, and which offered indifferent food at exorbitant prices. Yet they did not mention a very fine restaurant just ten steps away. (We found it ourselves on Tripadvisor!).

Unfortunately, the front desk did not measure up to what should be expected in a first-class establishment. Interactions ranged from cold to hostile. Our rooms weren’t ready at checkin and we were upsold to what they called suites, though one of the two rooms certainly was not a suite. We were cheerily informed by one staff member that our room rate included breakfast, but after being presented with a bill at breakfast the next day we inquired at the front desk and were told no, the room did not include breakfast. When I said that we had been told it did by the staff member (who was then standing right next to the receptionist) the reply was “she made a mistake.” The breakfast charge was there at checkout, itself a very confused process entailing three separate credit card charges. Overall, the front desk operation was not customer-friendly, and was a weak point.

I can’t recommend this hotel for a tourist visitor. The areas worth seeing are open to the public, and in summer a walk through the lobby and Kubbeli Saloon, followed by a cool drink on the outdoor terrace, might be worthwhile. A visit to Ataturk's room offers a rare chance to glimpse the private life of one of the 20th Century's greatest political figures. For a business visit on an expense account, it would be a good choice if the business to be done is in the vicinity. Otherwise, this marvelous city offers many more attractive alternatives for tourist lodging.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

I expected a lot from the Pera Palace and was not disappointed. The hotel is like a living museum, full of beautiful furniture, antiques and pictures and yet the quality of service and hospitality is absolutely superb. All the staff during our short stay were charming and helpful and our room was elegant and tasteful as well as quiet and comfortable with the best bed I have ever slept in. In addition the spa is excellent and the quality of the buffet breakfast just amazing - first class hot selection as well as 12 different types of cheese and 7 different olive oils. I was here 20 years ago and in my opinion the refurb is a big success. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

The prestigious Pera Palac is thenplace where upper class travellers on the Orient Express called home while in Istanbul. I feel I was luvkey to have stayed here. Although my room did not have an excellent view, it over looked a street connecting the hotel location to the famouse Istiklal St. The bed was extra comfy. The pillow cases and the bath robe I had to buy :o)

the breakfast foresd and what's cooked to order is as great as kings would love to have.

The staff here mostlly speaks great English. It feels that the staff to guests ratio is excellent. You can get help and be served whereever you looked. The staff members at the door will remember you from the first time you walked in by name, which is a wonderful touch that shows how much they care about your comfort. The spa and Turkish bath area is very exquisite, not to mention the bath and massages, which are givin by well trained caring staff members.

I have to say that although the hotel was originally established in 1892, it was reopenned in 2010. So it was furnished with the latest in technology and comfort. The curtins and blackout are electriclly closed, free wifi, payperbiew flat screen tv, excellent bath room, elevators…

will definitlly visit again. Maybe honeymoon there :o)

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pordenone, Italy
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

We were a bit uncertain before confirming our booking at Pera Palace, as we knew it had gone through a long refurbishment and we were worried it had happened something like at The Savoy in London. Instead everything was perfect! From the check in, when they make you use the oldest lift in Europe, all wooden made, to the very simple but perfect service you get through your stay. The service and the staff are not pretentious. You don't need to show off. You just deserve the best, and Pera Palce is the best in Istanbul! Concierge is very helpful and professional in assisting you with restaurants, and Hamans. Use the swimming pool and turkish bath in the basement. People sometimes are scared about the costs involved, but it's free! Wi-Fi is free as well!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

I tend to write very critical reviews, so this is my first ever raving review on trip advisor. In fact, i came to Istanbul from New York, where I spent a week at the great Trump Soho Hotel, and the Pera Palace almost put it to shame.

We reserved a long romantic weekend directly from the hotel, by phone, and thus recieved the weekend rate, plus free breakfast. They were even willing to offer the price for the 4th night, that wasn't a weekend. Check one.

As we arrived to the beautiful building, we were offered to upgrade for 40 euro/night. Since we were't sure they showed us both. We grabbed the 6th floor upgtrade with a balcony and view without hesitation. Check two.

You never know what you get for an included breakfast deal. Some paces it's meager. At the Pera Palace it was worthy of kings. A first rate spread buffett, plus Eggs of choice. They were happy to prepare for us round after round of Turkish coffee. Check three.

Sadly we didn't try the spa until our third day. Or was that bad? We might never have gone out to see the city;) The basic use of the first rate small pool, gym, and three glorious steam rooms--with robes etc.--is free. Check four.

Above all there was the impecable service, from doormen to the cleaning staff. When we had an electricity problem is was fixed in 5 minutes. Thogether with the great location, minibar, bed, and ancient old world charm, well it's check check check to a full 10.


Thank you for a memorable vacation!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah

Address: Mesrutiyet Cad. Tepebasi, No:52 | Beyoglu, Istanbul 34430, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#52 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#55 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#58 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#64 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah 5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gazing over the golden years of history, Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah overlooks the magnificent view of the Golden Horn and is located in Tepebaşı district of Pera once known as the “Little Europe”. With its 115 rooms, including 16 suites, retaining the characteristics of the 19th century elegance through historical furniture, the hotel combines refined elegance with state-of the-art technology to fulfill the needs of 21st century travellers. Enjoy a range of revitalized restaurant and bar choices, including the Agatha Restaurant, The Kubbeli Saloon, the French style Patisserie de Pera and the legendary Orient Bar & Terrace and rejuvenate yourself in the soothing atmosphere of Pera Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, Splendia, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pera Palas Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.