We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel in the Heart of Old Istanbul” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel to your Saves list
Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ahirkapi Sok. No 24 | Cankurtaran, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save TL15 on select meals
Ranked #108 of 945 Hotels in Istanbul
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Hotel in the Heart of Old Istanbul”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed at the Armada hotel in July 2013. Family of 4 with young children 6 yrs and 8 yrs old. The Hotel is a very modern and offers free wifi. It close to the Blue mosque and the Haiga Sophia, and Topkapi Place, about a 6 min walk up the hill. The hotel is very clean, and the breakfast is amazing. The views from the rooftop are breathtaking! You can see the Blue Mosque and the Hagia Sophia, and the Bosphorous! The staff went out of their way to make us feel comfortable. The front desk and the concierge were very helpful. The Owner Kasim Zoto is very friendly and helpful. As a family we travel a lot around the Europe/Asia and I am very particular about the cleanliness of the hotels esp since I have younger children. I would highly recommend this hotel. This is great hotel if you want to visit the sites. Unfortunately, they do no have any activities for children, no fitness facility, no pool. However all the beautiful sites in Istanbul will keep you busy!

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and they will add an extra pull out bed for the kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

974 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    549
    350
    58
    14
    3
See reviews for
147
403
50
108
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Agree with the majority of reviews. Clean, quiet,comfiest bed, nice buffet breakfast,terrific roof top terrace for breakfast and dinner. Authentic, yet updated. No regrets. No pool, no fitness center unless you include the 8-10 minutes walk up to the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I spent significant time researching hotels for my first visit to Istanbul. This hotel was listed as 4 or 5 star hotel by many TripAdvisor reviewers. Really??? I've stayed in 5 star hotels (Plaza Athene in NYC, where Princess Diana liked to stay; the Connaught Hotel in London; the Rotana Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi) so I know 5 star hotels. The Armada Old City hotel is at best a 2 star hotel but I will give it a 3 star rating because of its location. Here are some drawbacks: one electric outlet in the room; the rooms are tiny; the standard rooms have views of barbed wire fencing strung along someone's backyard, which is filled with laundry drying on lines; the TV set takes 5-7 minutes to turn on (requiring one to constantly hit the "power" button until the TV actually goes live); no shampoo or any products available for use (you can ask the front desk for them but that's not 5 star folks); soaps are available and they come unwrapped; complimentary coffee is simply two packages of instant Nestle coffee and two packages of Coffee Mate. Beds are comfy enough. Most nights are quiet but if there's a wedding, you'll be awake for most of it (and they had two weddings in the 7 nights I stayed). So I wouldn't stay here again but wasn't totally unhappy with the experience.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade to a Deluxe room if you don't want to look at barbed wire fencing and someone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armada1994, Manager at Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Although we appreciate the review of our guest, we would like to clarify some points. Armada Hotel has a 4-Stars official license approved by Turkish Ministry of Tourism. The 4 and 5 stars reviews (our score is 4.5 over 796 reviews) reflect the general impressions and evaluations of our guests who has been experienced our service and appreciated our location in the heart of the Old City just behind the city walls.

Regarding his complaints, we preferred to install a big seize shampoo and body lotion to the walls of our bathrooms along with Daphne soaps instead of bottled/wrapped products in order to protect the environment. The energy saver magnetic keys function in seconds not minutes. We are offering free tea and coffee packages and bottle of water like most of 5 stars hotel even our guest didn’t like its presentation. We have 3 room types as ; Standard, Superior and Deluxe Rooms. Most of Superior and Deluxe rooms have sea views and a few of them have Blue Mosque or Haghia Sophia views. We host wedding parties at week-ends during summer time but the music is stopped before 24:00 p.m.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We spent five nights in this quite nice hotel. It provides everything one would want in Istanbul: friendly and helpful staff, a great (free) breakfast, good location, amazing views. It's neither a large luxury hotel nor an intimate small boutique hotel. Rather, it's a place Turks come to celebrate a wedding :)

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aix-en-Provence
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is a gem. Full of character and nostalgic touches, this hotel stands out of the crowd. The rooms are tastefully decorated, impeccably clean with linens of the highest quality. The staff is courteous and attentive. Starting every day with breakfast (sumptuous buffet) with a view of the Marmara Sea and the Blue Mosk was a glorious feeling.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view on the water are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

All i wanted was to take back home the comfortable bed!!!! The hotel is comfortable and clean with all the amenties one would need, right down to the complimentary slippers. The buffet breakfast was great and so was the quality of food of the onsite restaurant, with plenty of other eating options very nearby.
All the major sites like the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia etc. are very close, within walking distance if you are upto it, just be aware that there are a few steep streets to walk up.
Plenty of restaurants to enjoy some great dinner meals and relax with a shisha (nagile, as it is referred to in Turkey).
Note: There is no swimming pool
Overall, would recommend this hotel for a family and would definitely stay here on my next visit.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a sea view. Brilliant waking up in the morning looking out at the ships goin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I booked the reservation on-line after reading reviews and making sure the hotel had all the amenities I was looking for ( location, a/c, non-smoking, Wi-Fi and breakfast included ). I then told all our friends traveling together on our Black Sea cruise. All 8 of us booked the hotel and added the airport transfer with our 4 night stay. An added incentive was the 4th night free with a 3 night stay.
Our group was met at the airport by the hotel driver and private van. He handled the luggage and drove professionally through the streets of Istanbul.
The rooms are nice and the bed is comfortable. The bathroom was upgraded but did not have a tub, shower only. I recommend getting a Superior Room which is on the second floor and gives great views of the Blue Mosque or the Bosporus over the city wall.
The breakfast offers a wide selection of hot and cold dishes and the great view of the sea from the Terrace restaurant. Even better is the dinner on the Terrace with night views of the Blue Mosque and the Bosporus. Our group enjoyed the Terrace Restaurant and our waiter Bulent Cin so much we ate there every night. It didn't make any sense to wander out at the end of the day when we had something so special in our own hotel.
The hotel location is fantastic. A short walk (uphill ) to the Hippodrome, the Blue Mosque, Haghia Sofia, the Grand Bazaar, Topkapi and the Spice Bazaar. The hotel is blocked from the street noise by the old city wall but easy access to the sea wall for an early morning run.
I highly recommend the Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms on the second floor ( Superior ) have a better view of the Bosporus since they are above...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel

Address: Ahirkapi Sok. No 24 | Cankurtaran, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 945 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For Anyone Seeking an Authentic Istanbul Lifestyle in Istanbul!With a spectacular view of the Hagia Sophia and the Blue Mosque, the two colossal monuments of Byzantine and Ottoman architecture in the heart of the historic peninsula, Armada delights anyone searching for true Istanbul culture by resurrecting the lifestyle that makes Istanbul the great city that it is and adapting it to our time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.