We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely helpful and friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel to your Saves list
Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ahirkapi Sok. No 24 | Cankurtaran, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save TL15 on select meals
Ranked #110 of 943 Hotels in Istanbul
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Extremely helpful and friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

To make a long story short, my mobile phone slipped out of my pocket while I was in a taxi. I considered it was lost forever, but the front desk clerk went out of his way to locate it, and he was successful.

The entire team was extremely friendly and helpful. Furthermore, the sheets and pillows mattresses are heavenly.

There is indeed a wedding season around ramadan, but this is not phenomenon unique to Armada Hotel. ALL HOTELS host wedding parties, so if this bothers you, you might want to check out when Ramadan is. Personally, it gave us a perception of what real Turkish people do. Very cultural.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    550
    352
    58
    14
    3
See reviews for
147
406
50
108
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, England
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

An amazing location, with astonishing views over the old town from the roof-top bar & restaurant.

Very convenient: about 5 minutes walk to Blue Mosque, Topkapi, Hagia Sophia.

Pleasant staff & very helpful.

We stayed in the "annex" - a cute 2 bedroom apartment a couple of minutes walk from the hotel itself, which was ideal with family.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This is a nice clean hotel with helpful, friendly front desk staff who speak English well. It is about half a block from the water which means a 10-15 minute steep uphill walk to the Blue Mosque and Aya Sofya area. The walk is enjoyable as it winds through narrow & twisting alleys giving you a glimpse of some of the local houses and shops. The real standout of the hotel is the variety of food offered in the buffet breakfast including freshly squeezed orange juice that you squeeze for yourself. Once you have your food, you pick one of the many tables on an amazing roof-top terrace with fantastic views of the sea on one side and the Blue Mosque/Aya Sofya on the other. There are a couple computers and a printer set up in the business center which was helpful for bookings and finding trip advisor recommended restaurants, etc.

Room Tip: Our room faced the street and sea and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We had a lovely stay at this hotel, it's close by foot to major tourist sights, albeit all up hill. The staff are very friendly and helpful, the rooms are a little small but very clean and cute in the old world style but the real treat of this hotel six the roof top restaurant... The views either side of the building are wonderful, either the Bosphorus or the blue mosque and the breakfast buffet is great, the dinner menu is beautiful.

Room Tip: It's instanbul so the views are of lanes... so unless you pay more font expect a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Armada Hotel in the old part of Istanbul this July while on tour with a Road Scholar program to the Black Sea. The hotel is small, lovely, well located. The lobby is welcoming, the terrace on the top level was awesome with views of the Hagia Sofia, the Blue Mosque, and the Sea of Marmara. The Terrace restaurant had an extravagant breakfast buffet every day with lots of fresh fruits, unusual spices to try, so much variety. Our last night dinner was delicious. We hope to stay there again.

Room Tip: There was no pool and we didn't need a fitness room, but I am unable to delete the rating dots...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otago Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I have been returning to this hotel over a period spanning 5 years or more for business and pleasure. Staff (reception and hotel) are always friendly and helpful. The rooms are very restful, great linen, and very clean. I like the fact to get to the touristy part of Sultanahmet you pass by everyday Turks passing their day - away from the hustle of the tourist area. One can leave bags here when travelling on, and be sure they are safely looked after. Views from the restaurant terrace at night and morning are priceless.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my sisters for three nights. The hotel is 8-10 min walk to the main tourist attractions (the hotel is all the way at the bottom so you'll be walking uphill to the attractions). The room was a bit small but very clean! The bathroom was very clean as well which is very important for us. The room was cleaned every room and a complimentary water bottle was given each day! Breakfast was buffet style and there were alot of options to choose from (we loved squeezing our own orange juice!!). There was an indoor terrace and and outdoor which were both very nice! We enjoyed our stay here!

BTW, make sure you buy converters and adapters before coming to Turkey. The hotel didn't have any extras so we had nothing to use for a whole day.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel

Address: Ahirkapi Sok. No 24 | Cankurtaran, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 943 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For Anyone Seeking an Authentic Istanbul Lifestyle in Istanbul!With a spectacular view of the Hagia Sophia and the Blue Mosque, the two colossal monuments of Byzantine and Ottoman architecture in the heart of the historic peninsula, Armada delights anyone searching for true Istanbul culture by resurrecting the lifestyle that makes Istanbul the great city that it is and adapting it to our time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, TravelClick, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.