We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel in the old city of Istanbul” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel

Save Saved
You added Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ahirkapi Sok. No 24 | Cankurtaran, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Save 15 TL on F
Ranked #100 of 885 hotels in Istanbul
Istanbul
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wonderful hotel in the old city of Istanbul”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Armada is a very nice hotel with excellent breakfast and all people there are very friendly. From the roof-top you have an amazing view over the blue mosc, hagia sofia and the bosphorus. The location is absolutely recommendable if you want to stay in the old city of Istanbul.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

893 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    505
    322
    50
    14
    2
See reviews for
125
335
44
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

It was our first time to Istanbul and we will come back because of the Hotel and the good staff.
Me and my wife stayed at the end of November and the room was really nice facing the sea .Very clean Hotel excellent breakfast at the roof garden ,with View of Bosporus and Blue Mosque.
Near to Tram station and old city by foot .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We recently organised a three day event at the Armada Hotel including most meals and were really impressed by the service. All of our guests enjoyed their stay and loved the stunning views from the roof top terrace of the Blue Mosque and Aya Sophia and the sea.

The staff are excellent, we worked with Irmak, Levent and Baris and all were very friendly and helpful as were all the restaurant and reception staff who went out of their way to help and welcome everyone. They helped us find a local restaurant for a meal out, offered options for outings, and were great at responding to all our various and sometimes awkward requests.

The hotel's location is very central and in a good part of town in walking distance to the main sites, the seafront, and local shops and restaurants. The photos online don't quite do justice to the venue and the decor which seem in keeping with Ottoman style and the old part of town and make for a relaxing stay.

The rooms are lovely and comfortable (although more toiletries and more light in the rooms would only add to them).

The meeting facilities are really good with good food menus, teas and coffees and the technical support needed for a range of meetings. The meeting rooms all seem a good size and provide a conducive enviornment for discussions.

It is a slight shame that there is no fitness facility or pool but there is so much to do locally and so much to see it won't really be missed.

Well worth a look for business or pleasure, a stunning and welcoming venue from which to discover Istanbul.

Room Tip: There are two options for great rooms, the first is rooms at the back overlooking the Blue Mosque an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Hotel Armada doesn't look anything special from the outside and I certainly had some doubts when the taxi turned the corner and I saw the logo of the hotel. Wasn't absolutely sure that would I like it. However the hotel surprised me completely.
The hotel is located just around the corner from Hagia Sofia and Sultan Ahmed. It's a 5 minute walk; OK, it's up hill from the hotel but still it isn't bad and the small streets are kinda nice and it's all downhill when you return. The closest tram stop is also near Sultan Ahmed, thought there is a train station just 200 m away.
The hotel is only three stories high and is within the old city wall so you might not see the sea from the room windows. But on the terrace and the restaurant located on the top floor proudly show case the Sultan Ahmed and also the Sea of Marmara. Absolutely beautiful, and having breakfast up there is the best thing ever.
The rooms are best described as feminine. The over all colour scheme is greenish. The rooms are not sleek and new, but has this old feeling with personality and beautiful little details. This doesn't mean that the room lacks the modern needs of a traveller. You have everything there what you would expect from a normal 4 star hotel. An added bonus is that the hotel wifi is free and can be accessed anywhere from the hotel.
The hotel food is great! Delicious Turkish breakfast with western dishes as well. I personally loved the Turkish omelette and the sweet Lokum.
The staff was very helpful and friendly. The only negative aspect was one of the Guest Service Mangers who quite persistently wanted to book a reservation to a Fish Restaurant near by. A good idea, but tone it down a bit. When working for a hotel you work for the guest not for the restaurant.
Over all I'm extremely happy with the hotel. Good location and great service. Don't know what was the cost but still. I would go there again. Somehow very fitting to the city that has so much history, culture and everything else to offer as well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers, Indiana
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

One of the few times when a hotel's self promotion undersells itself. This hotel is ideally situated in Sultanahmet, south of the major hubbub, one street from the water -- select a "sea view" as we did to watch wondeerful sunrises, and huge tankers slowly make their way up and down the Bosphorus. The lobby is delightful, with a family of turtles living in a fountain, every member of the front desk staff (I met more than 5 over three days) was wonderfully helpful, courteous and infectiously happy. The superior room was very good, though more outlets (we only had 2 in room 219) would have helped. Free wireless was a joy. Perhaps the highlight of highlights was the Terrace Restaurant, where we enjoyed the BEST BREAKFASTS we have ever had in a hotel....ever. The diversity of the table of food from which to chose included so many possibilities that you could stay for a month and never have the same thing twice -- especially fresh yogurts. cheeses, olives, real honeycomb chunks, and various dried fruits, nuts, vegetables, as well as tasty omlettes and other goodies ---- all which overlooking the sea on one side and stellar views of Blue Mosque on the other. The same can be said for the dinner menu which probably deserves its own TripAdvisor 5 star review.

Room Tip: If you want a sea view (you really should), be sure to ask. This was the first hotel where I loved...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Okay, so the biggest reason why you should stay here other than the cleanliness, extremely comfortable beds, very close proximity to all of the sights and extremely hospitable staff is.....THE BREAKFAST. Seriously the best breakfast I have ever had. If you like dried fruit, fresh vegetables, nuts, dates, fresh yogurt, honey (and yes they have the entire honey combs), cheese, boreg, eggs, etc (and the etc is there because I could seriously go on and on), this is the place for you (and yes, I am a fresh food snob). I would literally go to sleep dreaming about what I would get the next morning (okay, maybe a bit TMI). On top of all the delicious choices for breakfast, you have a view of the water and the blue mosque. Picturesque. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Nice rooms and very clean bathroom. Good View and nice food. Totally worth staying in this hotel. Get rooms on the second floor.It is quite centrally located, no as good as L1 hotel in Istanbul but no complaints. there is a nice fish restaurent like 2 minutes walk from the hotel. awesome stay i would say :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel

Address: Ahirkapi Sok. No 24 | Cankurtaran, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 885 hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic atmosphere, modern comfort and Turkish hospitality:The Armada Hotel - Istanbul, Turkeylocated in the historic peninsula of Istanbul with views of two of the great masterpieces of world architecture; the Hagia Sophia and the Blue Mosque, the Armada Hotel offers a unique experience to its guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.